Football Academy

Jamaica has not produced a single top class footballer...what more proof yuh want dan dat?
    That is absolutely false!
    I give you Lloyd Lindbergh "Lindy" Delapenha!
    http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ad.php?t=54427

...and no amount of contortions can deny that his early/youth development was at our Seconday Schools' two months per year teaching/coaching!!!!
    Last edited by Karl; January 26, 2015, 11:11 AM.

1) it has to move from the realm of extra curricular to mainstream; 2) if we even get the coaches in the schools they have them for 3 months (TOPS) and while that might improve some technical aspects in the short term, they would still be at a disadvantage to players who devote their time for 9-10 months per year almost EXCLUSIVELY on football development. 3) highschoolers would have to therefore be in a professional environment in conjunction with their school work.

if private clubs are to do all of that in the jamaican context...it aint gonna happen because they do not have those resources the schools even worse as football development is not their priority, because football is EXTRACURRICULAR and much more costly to implement and maintain than track and field. some schools don't even own their home field

you know what a question mark is?

good for him...he wasn't a top class footballer...try again...

geezas...

Well you must think I know if you include one(again) in your response.
              None has consistently started as the ones I mentioned.

Well again,is Sterling world class(I am not somehow crediting Jamaica ..)?

what does sterling have to do with anything? he has proven that he is world class...what is your point?

It it really much more costly than a serious track and field high school program though Gamma? What aspects would cost more?

It would be interesting to know what JC's or Georges football program budget is, compared to the JA$8 million C-Bar champs budget reported a few years ago. Granted that would obviously be at the high end but would give some indication.

1) it has to move from the realm of extra curricular to mainstream; 2) if we even get the coaches in the schools they have them for 3 months (TOPS)
                      Says you?
                      If the boy or girl wishes to concentrate on football, what is to prevent the school providing same for 'the entire year'?

Let me answer before some 'red-herring' is mentioned - Absolutely nothing!
                      Already on track and other subjects/areas there is 'year round' teaching/coaching!!!

and while that might improve some technical aspects in the short term, they would still be at a disadvantage to players who devote their time for 9-10 months per year almost EXCLUSIVELY on football development.
                      There is no academy or school that devotes years to any one subject/area to exclusion of all else. It is myths such as the above by Gamma when pronounced with great conviction that poorly leads/poorly teaches/misleads.

It is akin to most history teachers repeating to their charges that Jamaica gained its independence in 1944. That repetition will cause wide-spread belief in a falsehood!

3) highschoolers would have to therefore be in a professional environmentt in conjunction with their school work.
                      If you for one moment believe the aim is not to put pupils in professional learning environment you are mistaken. That too many of our teachers behave in an unprofessional manner in approach to their managing and delivery of education does not make it desirable or acceptable.

The school is supposed to be an area where, by example, pupils are taught to act in a professional manner on approach to structured learning. Of course the child must be catered to on age-appropriate instructions and requirements.

Christ? ...the pupils are being prepared for 'life'!

Yuh tek school fi joke place!

if private clubs are to do all of that in the jamaican context...it aint gonna happen because they do not have those resources the schools even worse as football development is not their priority, because football is EXTRACURRICULAR and much more costly to implement and maintain than track and field. some schools don't even own their home field
                      This is a joke!
                      This is the utterance of someone who does not have a clue on professional norms or even the specific of behavior/conduct.

Look...? ...one of the problems 'our football' faces is the uninformed...the ignorant...leading!!! ...teaching/coaching!!! We need to educate! Educate!! Educate!!! ...the leaders before there can be any expectation of wide-spread successes.
                      Last edited by Karl; January 26, 2015, 12:00 PM.

one of the problems 'our football' faces is the uninformed...ignorance leading!!!
                        this describes you to a T Karl

Well that is it,he is world class despite the limited accomplishment of his teams(Liverpool and England(think Bolton and Reggaeboyz),ergo his importance to those teams dertermined his worth.How important was Bibi to his teams,and wasn't Bolton a BPL team(just like Pool)when Bibi dustinguished himself there?

bibi gardener was not a top class player...go find somebody else time to waste

It it really much more costly than a serious track and field high school program though Gamma? What aspects would cost more?

It would be interesting to know what JC's or Georges football program budget is, compared to the JA$8 million C-Bar champs budget reported a few years ago. Granted that would obviously be at the high end but would give some indication.
                              ...and it would be important to know if what StGC or JC produces could be produced on a smaller budget?

...i.e. an in depth analysis on each 'program'?

Let us, for example,
                              - wonder on whether or not 'the program' is worth the paper - Is one even thought on or is it merely a hand me down from coach to succeeding coach with a little ad hoc tinkering here or there? - it is written on?

- Is there a program as per Mathematics? ...curriculum development totem pole/pyramid?

...and we know what the results on/for Maths are even with the 'weeding out of significant pupils hidden from the examinations and therefore hidden from the examiners'!!!

- Is there a teaching model being followed appropriate to 'class'/age-group to succeeding 'class'/age-group?

- etc., etc.?

I have said it over and over our school system stinks!!! ...why would anyone think it does not follow that 'subject' curriculum development does not stink?
                              Last edited by Karl; January 26, 2015, 12:15 PM.

you ever heard of michael bradley? where did he play?