USAF my answer.

By happenstance you mean .... What? This is where I often diverge with your ilk

History will show that it was NOT happenstance Simons engineered it but the momentum has since been lost and gone abegging. Multiple teams qualified durin that time and we once finished third in the good cup. Not sure if in this instance you are being intentionally badmind but it smells

Thank you! I posted below before I saw this...there is none so blind as he who refuses to see.

yes. Sometimes dream turn nightmare. That is why I say we need another coach with a plan and action. JFF is a dysfunctional organization, has always been.

Is unprecedented a better term?

I am going to be bold enough to state that the only person who have followed Jamaican football more that I have is Mosiah. Well, MAYBE you...and that's maybe.

History:

Long before WC '98 I recall attending most of Jamaicas' international games. In those early years, Jamaica lost games almost every country; to Cuba, Guadeloupe (sp?), T&T and others.

Fast forward to pre-'98. I continued to follow Jamaican football very closely. I recall traveling to Jamaica to see WC qualification games against Mexico, El Salvador and Costa Rica. In fact the first time I met Mosiah, I was in my RBSC yellow T-shirt to watch a game against the USA at the National stadium. I was at RFK awa The Orange Bowl stadium to see the game against Brazil (Gold Cup). I remembered when Jamaica came 3rd (4th maybe) in a Gold Cup competition. Jamaica played pretty good football then.

It went down hill afterwards.

I attended games Jamaica played in their last Gold Cup ; I saw games in their last WC qualification. (Met Tilla for the first time).

Is it that other countries like Costa Rica, Panama and Honduras began to play better? Or has Jamaica's standard of play has remained the same?

You know very well that Jamaicans LOVE 'entertainment' frilly style football. Todays game is different. It is more mechanical and precise. Jamaican players who have left to play with other teams have found this out. The snow ballers understand this too.

So when I used the term happenstance--it is not out of disrespect. It is because the standard of play on the local level has remained stagnant. Therefore the probability of WC qualification is almost zero.

"Den HL 'ow com wi win de Caribbean Cup"? Congratulations nice achievement. But sen come call me when Jamaica win the Gold Cup!

So it comes full circle. Whose fault?

The game has changed...and Jamaica did not get the memo.

Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama, USA , Mexico (even Haiti got the memo).

I apologize for the epistle
          Last edited by HL; January 22, 2015, 11:36 AM.

HL yuh nuh ave nuh sense

When they qualified for the '98 WC...that was just happenstance IMO. And it was the Good Cap'n Burrell (JFF) who was the architect of it all.
            Happenstance???? Yuh ave sense yute???? Team qualify fi World Cup by chance???? But ah wha dis Faada?????????

You are clearly a guy with no understanding of the game or what it takes to succeed. It is only people with that lack of a background who could produce such garbage.

The 1998 WCQ team went through 3 years of intensive, inspired coaching and about 100 internationals. It is that development process that enabled qualification...plus patching any holes with a few committed UB40s

This ignorant garbage that you posted above makes the rest of your thoughts quite worthless.
            Last edited by Don1; January 22, 2015, 02:18 PM.

Have you ever played the game ...or are you just an ignorant observer??

By happenstance you mean .... What? This is where I often diverge with your ilk

History will show that it was NOT happenstance Simons engineered it but the momentum has since been lost and gone abegging. Multiple teams qualified durin that time and we once finished third in the good cup. Not sure if in this instance you are being intentionally badmind but it smells
                The guy HL really stink fi choo... Mi affi get some Jeyes fi disinfect di Rum Bar
                Last edited by Don1; January 22, 2015, 02:11 PM.

............................................lawd, 'ere we go....~sigh~

danwan, please have the lions share on this topic. I am out.

Next topic!

Run gwaan yes. Yuh cyan run but yuh cyaan hide. Baygon wi seh fi cockroach

Now begone before yuh get more spray pon yuh likkle wing dem ...woooiiee
                    Last edited by Don1; January 22, 2015, 02:43 PM.