JA Football should learn from Track but sadly can't mimic it
A dat people nuh see. It is not that we are at the normal level. This team was in reverse and you and I say that from the first game.
Imagine that was playing at home.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Gamma View Postis not the failure per se .... is how spectacularly they failed
This failure could be ultimately a good thing though...but only if we learn the correct lessons and apply the fixes. The fix is to focus on a youth development system.
But that development road is too long & hard for hurry-come-ups. They prefer to blame bad coaching & bad players.... then move on to the next failure
Superficial & myopic thinking abounds!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
RE the role of the JAAA, I think you and Karl are talking about two seperate but related things. You are specifically talking about coaching, Karl is more talking about administration. Granted, many of the persons Karl has mentioned were both coaches and administrators as in those days you often had to do it all.
I think the JAAA played a role in developing T&F administration/management skills across the island, much moreso than coaching specifically.
I was fairly close to JAAA runnings when Teddy McCook was president and there was a clear emphasis on supporting and recognizing smaller T&F meets across the island. I believe this has brought about a permanent change in the local track and field calendar in terms of participation, the quality of meets from an organizational perspective, and developing a larger base of T&F administrators.
There was also a deliberate effort by the JAAA to have more coaches IAAF certified , but I do agree that GC Foster is what really made the big difference in Jamaica having an abundant supply of high quality coaches at the high school level.
DJ was no doubt the pioneer at the teritary level. From DJ we saw for the first time internationally competitive local college relay teams, which remarkably were comprised of sprinters who were not household names in high school.Last edited by Islandman; January 22, 2015, 04:09 PM."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostRE the role of the JAAA, I think you and Karl are talking about two seperate but related things. You are specifically talking about coaching, Karl is more talking about administration. Granted, many of the persons Karl has mentioned were both coaches and administrators as in those days you often had to do it all.
I think the JAAA played a role in developing T&F administration/management skills across the island, much moreso than coaching specifically.
I was fairly close to JAAA runnings when Teddy McCook was president and there was a clear emphasis on supporting and recognizing smaller T&F meets across the island. I believe this has brought about a permanent change in the local track and field calendar.
There was a deliberate effort by the JAAA to have more coaches IAAF certified , but I do agree that GC Foster is what really made the big difference in Jamaica having an abundant supply of high quality coaches at the high school level.
DJ was no doubt the pioneer at the teritary level. From DJ we saw for the first time internationally competitive local college relay teams, which remarkably were comprised of sprinters who were not household names in high school.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
There you go.
btw - Your Dad was an early coach of my brother and played a major part in Mannings 2 Girls Champs wins."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Yep, I have held on to some of his photos and newspaper clippings from those early Girls Champs victories in the 60s. I just got them scanned and digitized over the Xmas holidays in fact. They are part of the family archive"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Tracking performance is the base of all progress. You can't progress even with what may be the best program stolen from Bayern Munich wholesale, if there are no tools for tracking performance so yes these things are integral, there cannot be one without the other.
Performance tracking as in how fast are they and how long, high was that performance, chews up and spits out the worse performers immediately, leaving a pool of good performers that again is winnowed out by competition, time and emotional variation, leaving the toughest, strongest, hardest, best performer combinations. That is why our schoolboy athletic system is so good with champs as the cap and we have found out that it can be better with tertiary level track and then the clubs capping it and we have found that some marginal performers can be incredible late bloomers, but again we have the numbers to tell the story.
Football, especially jamaican football encourages the friend biz too much, it is much harder to spit out the middle level talent masquerading as top level talent as we set no performance standards.
We still have no idea who is the most effective passer in the local game, who is the best effective passer in the schoolboy game, why, we don't track the most effective passing stat, the goal producing assist. We have no idea who is our most effective forwards as we don't track shots taken versus shots on target, we just track goals. Which is great but there is so much more we can learn and can help identify super talent versus mediocre talent.
Hell I hear that Sterling was invited to try out for the Jamaican u17 team in the past, don't know if true and the story is we could not even recognize a superior talent wandering around in our midst. I bet we provably under current situation would say a 17 yo Messi was a rux, because we use feel and fren to evaluate talent.
Anyway again the call is to develop performance indicators at every level to identify the best talent, without it we are toiling in futility.
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostTracking performance is the base of all progress. You can't progress even with what may be the best program stolen from Bayern Munich wholesale, if there are no tools for tracking performance so yes these things are integral, there cannot be one without the other.
Performance tracking as in how fast are they and how long, high was that performance, chews up and spits out the worse performers immediately, leaving a pool of good performers that again is winnowed out by competition, time and emotional variation, leaving the toughest, strongest, hardest, best performer combinations. That is why our schoolboy athletic system is so good with champs as the cap and we have found out that it can be better with tertiary level track and then the clubs capping it and we have found that some marginal performers can be incredible late bloomers, but again we have the numbers to tell the story.
Football, especially jamaican football encourages the friend biz too much, it is much harder to spit out the middle level talent masquerading as top level talent as we set no performance standards.
We still have no idea who is the most effective passer in the local game, who is the best effective passer in the schoolboy game, why, we don't track the most effective passing stat, the goal producing assist. We have no idea who is our most effective forwards as we don't track shots taken versus shots on target, we just track goals. Which is great but there is so much more we can learn and can help identify super talent versus mediocre talent.
Hell I hear that Sterling was invited to try out for the Jamaican u17 team in the past, don't know if true and the story is we could not even recognize a superior talent wandering around in our midst. I bet we provably under current situation would say a 17 yo Messi was a rux, because we use feel and fren to evaluate talent.
Anyway again the call is to develop performance indicators at every level to identify the best talent, without it we are toiling in futility.
My point is performance cannot be tracked effectively without a comprehensive development system. Who will track & collect data? How will the trackers be tracked (i.e. managed)? How will the data be crunched?
Also if there is no structured system...to what use would this great data be put? What...find a few gems and put them in the shiithole we currently have???
All roads lead to a development system... FIRST. Fortunately I've outlined a workable & affordable systemLast edited by Don1; January 23, 2015, 11:16 AM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE