All when you a talk positive thing bout them you a diss them inna the same sentence.
That is the great Don1. LOL!!!
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
The most significant difference between track and field and football lies in the issue of the measurement of individual performance. The very nature of track and field is we can actually measure every single effort and stack it against prior efforts and benchmarks. Football is much more of a political game at every level from fans to players to management and where there is no emphasis on tracking of performance or selection based on potential capability then all kinds of foolishness cone into okay in the selection process and it goes downhill from there.
Performance in the past is indicative of performance in the future unless there is a fundamental change in application and process thus a five goal scorer in Rspl will never be a twenty goal scorer in Mls.
Welbeck a historical ten goal max scorer in his career will never be a Thierry Henry or a 3/4 Henry. I said at the start of the season that Welbeck would struggle to get more than twelve goal producing events between goals and assists, we are now close to 2/3"s of the season and he is on six between goals and assists on 46 shots, some here thought he would be the next Henry but if you look at Henry"s stats it will show in his first full season he scored twenty four goals, the only thing they have in common is that they are strikers, played for a Arsenal and have common west african ancestry, Welbeck is nowhere in the class at any point in his career of Henry, that is very straightforward and clear.
Selection must be based on hard data not wishful thinking, the information is right there, we do not collect it and we certainly don't analyze it, then how do we expect to go anywhere in this world where big data and analytics rule. We are all truly dreaming, the latest debacle at the u20 on our home turf is a prime example of wishful thinking, poor selection and lack of preparation. Don1 I am almost done, I am very close, can't take any more of this repeated failure!!!!
That leadership was crucial. Some others may have later come along with similar mindset. ...but that JAAA initiative cannot be discounted. That same mindset that led and is still leading on recognising shortfalls, bringing in needed support pieces and improving delivery of services in every nook and cranny is missing at the JFF leadership level.
It is the mindset that drives progress. The entity and leadership that revolutionized methods that drive advances cannot be overlooked. To knowningly attempt to do so is not worthy.
I know there are some who have recently benefited from efforts of the JAAA who stoop to attack
that body and attempt writing from our history the part it played and continues to play. Such efforts have become fashionable in some quarters, however, facts are stubborn. Just as the contributions of DJ, Herb Mac and others are indelible so are those of the JAAA.
Welbeck will be no TH14. ...but the verdict is still open on his top production rate.
btw - A more in depth look at TH14 1st season v Welbeck's 1st may present hidden facts. ...number of matches played? ...minutes per goal? etc.? ...continuous starts?
There is, for example, great difference in being injured and returning for 20 matches thereby having time to get up to speed and start 2 matches, break for a month then playing 2 then break for a month then playing 6...etc...
One player would have had an extended run and ample time to show true worth, the other 'not so much'.
Having said that let me repeat that I do not see Welbeck as being in TH14 class...or anywhere near TH14's best for that matter. As TH14 was at Red v NY Bulls, the comparison would be closer as we look at an aging player in a third tier league...below League 1 in England...and Welbeck at his best in the EPL.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Fact: DJ's best athlete was Anthony Davis a 10.6 100M man.
Messam produced DQ a 10.2 schoolboy! ...and Glen Mills had his groundings under Messam's tutelage. - http://www.camperdownfl.org/news.html
The coach at Tivoli (forgot his name) at the same time as DQ produced Errol Stewart a 10.2 man.
NB: Quarry and Stewart were members of our Olympic team - 4x1 - while schoolboys.
Quarry suffered an injury...and Stewart stepped in and was used as our starter.
Errol Stewart
Michael Fray
Clifton Forbes
Lennox "Billy" Miller ...time 38.4 for 4th in the finals.
I think we ran an Olympic record in the heats. (?)
...and previous to DJ's period at CAST..the UWI produced 2 athletes running 10.6 for the 100M (...one was my brother Delroy!).
--- As I said - It does nothing for us to re-write our history.
--- ...but back to topic: The JFF should take a long hard look at the JAAA...how it took what was already there - The work being done by the schools, inclusive of managing of ISSA Champs...and where appropriate ape that model on Youth Development!!!
Note the JAAA's academy - The High Performance Center - is used to facilitate development.
In TH14's last 2 seasons at my GUNNERS his level of TEAM-play was below that shown at my GUNNERS.
That has nothing to do with individual skills and tactical maturity. TH14's in those years were still faaaaaaaar superior to Welbeck's.
If Welbeck had TH14's skills and tactical maturity while still playing TEAM as he now does...what a player he would be!!!! Possibly the very best in the world!!!?????
So team is not everything? With or without the those two years he is one of the best of our generation. Could it be he was taking a step back as players oftenly do??? It is hard to remain on top of the world for VERY long.
...wat kine a mix-up, mix-up dat yuh pose?
Look? ---
Could it be he was taking a step back as players oftenly do???
Players?
Wish we did not take a step backwards...if you only knew what I wish I could do that 20 years past was buttah
It is hard to remain on top for VERY long.
You can say that again!
Yuh tink yuh kno but yuh wi soon fine hout!
Don1 I am almost done, I am very close, can't take any more of this repeated failure!!!!
LOL. I reached that point some time ago with WI cricket which I used to follow avidly. Now I don't even know most of the players
The strategic problem goes beyond tracking performance stats...although that is a problem
The problem is the short term focus of John Public and the JFF. People are NOT concerned with development...until they see poor teams representing us. They're mostly concerned about qualifying for the "next world cup". They're like the politicians who focus on "winning the next election" ... while the country burns. It's the same syndrome
Short term focus usually = Long term failure. So said, so done