JA Football should learn from Track but sadly can't mimic it

• JA Football should learn from Track but sadly can't mimic it

So we've seen lots of idle chatter from unthinking ites re how football coaches, players etc should take charge of their own development... presumably since the JFF cannot or will not perform that role.

These unthinking ites usually refer to the brilliant example of our track coaches & athletes who have recently collaborated to produce the World's greatest Sprint Factory. This was built on an already great legacy of performance since the 1940s

So yes...Football can learn from track. Local development of football can produce world class talent....and it's not especially difficult. Why?
    It's long established that pound for pound..... we have some significant natural & environmental advantages over Europeans and their American cousins. What those advantages are... is a subject for a different conversation. (Easy X Man..nuh worry yuhself)
    But suffice it to say...our success in track demonstrates this obvious fact of advantage.

Where the track development lessons are inapplicable for football lies in the differing governing structures.

In track the JAAA is relatively toothless . Their remit from the IAAF is not forceful by tradition, IAAF rules and lack of official funding. The JAAA has very little responsibility for development... that role is traditionally performed by ISSA, schools and latterly by professional clubs.
    The JAAA has very little ability or inclination to meddle in this effective development system... and the results are brilliantly World Class

In football the picture is 100% different. FIFA is a dictatorial fiefdom.... and affiliates like the JFF are charged with dictatorial powers over football in their jurisdiction. Anyone who challenges this order is subject to severe sanction. This can mean anything from local restrictions on players, coaches, admins etc...to a total worldwide ban which can kill careers.
    (Think USA dictating to the world re who deserves money, trade or bombing on any given day )
    For fear of sanction by a certain Forum Dictator I won't mention a prominent independent thinker recently subject to JFF action

All who operate in football know that the guillotine is ready & waiting should they be disobedient. Nothing is allowed to upset "The JFF Football Order"

So the idea of coaches etc organizing like some union and driving their own development and the development of players is not just amusing...it's absolutely ludicrous & boneheaded. Any observer of football who advocates this for the Jamaican Football Plantation is... ignorant of reality, incapable of logical thought...or both. The less said of that nonsense the better

What football needs first is an informed public which prioritizes local development and the creation of a local FOOTBALL INDUSTRY over EVERYTHING...including WCQ. Only then can the JFF Dictatorship be held accountable for what is required.

At the moment WCQ is a DISTRACTION. Jamaica DOESN'T DESERVE to qualify for ANY World Cup... since we refuse to do the fundamentals.

The essential elements of a structured, long term youth development plan appropriate for Jamaica's unique circumstances:

A Building capacity for expert training of the trainers

B Establishing an academy appropriate to JA circumstances

C Improving the efficiency of the local youth competition

As to academy financing outside the above barter arrangement... I've proposed that a portion of any fees from players developed by the national academy who're subsequently transferred abroad (even if they've left and joined a local club) ... must be retained by the academy for its upkeep. (Sekkle yuhself Tilla ) This of course is an incentive to produce ongoing excellence.

So fortunately a discerning RBZ advocate has laid out ALL the important scenarios to affordably drive local development. Just a little vision and ingenuity is required to execute.

But alas... John Public & the JFF Dictatorship are both backward thinking & myopic entities.
    Last edited by Don1; January 21, 2015, 05:08 PM.

Franno would say it different about JAAA.

People who think and want to make a difference think different. They don't let dictators stop them. They die with the cause or change it. It takes a movement and ground swell.

Franno would say it different about JAAA.

People who think and want to make a difference think different. They don't let dictators stop them. They die with the cause or change it. It takes a movement and ground swell.
      LOL!!!

Coaches of Jamaica Unite!!!! Let's organize!!!! Let's start a Union!!!! Let's circumvent the backward, corrupt JFF!!! Let's start our own coaching school!!! Bring in our own experts!!!! Fcuk the JFF!!! Dem cyaan duh wi nutten!!! Nuff coaching job deh bout!!!

Tappa...yuh waan tun Union President???

Mi Belly!!!!!

you might be surprise what they can achieve if they work as a unit. That is all they have to do. The rest is your imagination. Develop a coaching
        curriculum and methods of coaching and coaching organization. That would force the JFF to listen to them.
        Last edited by Assasin; January 21, 2015, 04:55 PM.

Sass juss ease off wid yuh nonsense... pretty please. Yuh nuh ave werk fi duh?

Simple
            http://www.nscaa.com/about

Talk to the coaches who goes to the annual conferences. You don't have to talk to me.
            Last edited by Assasin; January 21, 2015, 05:23 PM.

Mi nuh ave nuh intress inna dat irrelevant sitten yuteman

Yuh an yuh foreign mind nuh reddy fi dis yet

WOOOOOeeeeeee. That is all you have to say. Fact is you can learn even from people you claim have no sense and are foreign mind.

Moral of the story is there is your way, my way and the other man's way.

There is more than one way to skin a cat. In this particular case the JFF and coaches would have to come to terms with own limitations and bring in needed expertise from outside.

Many forget that the JAAA did just that starting during the W. F. "Freddie" Green regime. Hope my Shady Pines memory is not letting me down. ...in any case, I remember when foreign experts were regularly running seminars. I know as facts it was continued through to Howard Aris' regime. By the time Aris took over the JAAA many of the local coaches were going gang busters...as that JAAA initiative had started to pay dividents and was supplemented by the return of Herb Mac to C'bar & the JAAA officer ranks, DJ to CASTand others elsewhere...plus GC Foster College started to churn out good coaches.

So it would be a rewriting of history if the role of the JAAA as facilitor of transfer of knowledge from outside of the Island was not acknowledged.

As Don1 rightly claimed we have long tradition of producing quality track athletes and his pointing to part schools played is on the mark. ...but the JAAA leaders must be given full praise for recognising that which we have, putting egos aside and assisting on improvements with mininal or no meddling in the internal affairs of the schools, colleges or track clubs.

The JAAA worked and is still working with all of the parties.

NB. Freddie, himself, is a former Champs top sprinter, coach - track & *volleyball , Phy Ed lecturer - UK university trained, President JAAA & Volleyball. Freddie represened Jamaica at football & volleyball.

*Driving force behind the JAVA and the spread of the game in schools, colleges and clubs.

Suh wait...mi muss wade thru all kinda irrelevance inna some long website fi try si your point? Mi dun tell yuh seh your argument nuh mek nuh sense. Mi nuh need nuh more proof

Mi nuh seh di coach cyaan form association etc... dat positive fi reel. But mi ah tell yuh seh since JFF ah one dictatorship whe control football...all dat coach group bizniz naw cut nuh dash. If JFF seh jump di ongly question coach ave is "How high boss". Dats if dem waan JFF gi dem any job ar send dem pon course.. Oddawise is bayh Manning Cup an DCup fi dem... some likkle fryas team tuh

Yuh ave sense???? Yuh tink ah foreign dis whe evvy likkle ting ah lobbyist, big lawsuit an' rayray?

Dismissed
                    Last edited by Don1; January 21, 2015, 10:03 PM.

Karl;506282]There is more than one way to skin a cat. In this particular case the JFF and coaches would have to come to terms with own limitations and bring in needed expertise from outside.
                      Yes... foreign coaching experience is desperately needed. That's why I proposed the Grand Brazilian Bargain to acquire that talent affordably

Many forget that the JAAA did just that starting during the W. F. "Freddie" Green regime. Hope my Shady Pines memory is not letting me down. ...in any case, I remember when foreign experts were regularly running seminars. I know as facts it was continued through to Howard Aris' regime. By the time Aris took over the JAAA many of the local coaches were going gang busters...as that JAAA initiative had started to pay dividents and was supplemented by the return of Herb Mac to C'bar & the JAAA officer ranks, DJ to CASTand others elsewhere...plus GC Foster College started to churn out good coaches.
                      So it would be a rewriting of history if the role of the JAAA as facilitor of transfer of knowledge from outside of the Island was not acknowledged.
                      I'm not claiming that the JFF had no role in improving coaching. Yes they ran occasional seminars.
                      However it's very questionable whether the JAAA had a very instrumental role in coaching development.

From my research Jamaican sprint coaching was revolutionized primarily by:

1. GC Foster College graduates being spread thru the HS development system

2. Dennis Johnson who introduced & popularized the great Bud Winter's training system in JA thru Utech

3. MVP & Racers pro clubs.. i.e. Franno & Mills...who both learned from DJ

None of those elements have much to do with the JAAA

As Don1 rightly claimed we have long tradition of producing quality track athletes and his pointing to part schools played is on the mark. ...but the JAAA leaders must be given full praise for recognising that which we have, putting egos aside and assisting on improvements with mininal or no meddling in the internal affairs of the schools, colleges or track clubs.

The JAAA worked and is still working with all of the parties.
                      Ok noice.. we can give them credit for staying out of the way of progress

NB. Freddie, himself, is a former Champs top sprinter, coach - track & *volleyball , Phy Ed lecturer - UK university trained, President JAAA & Volleyball. Freddie represened Jamaica at football & volleyball.

*Driving force behind the JAVA and the spread of the game in schools, colleges and clubs.
                      Give tanks & praise fi Freddy..but JAVA nuh one music sitten?
                      Last edited by Don1; January 21, 2015, 10:01 PM.

I'm not claiming that the JFF had no role in improving coaching. Yes they ran occasional seminars.
                        However it's very questionable whether the JAAA had a very instrumental role in coaching development.

From my research Jamaican sprint coaching was revolutionized primarily by:

1. GC Foster College graduates being spread thru the HS development system

2. Dennis Johnson who introduced & popularized the great Bud Winter's training system in JA thru Utech

3. MVP & Racers pro clubs.. i.e. Franno & Mills...who both learned from DJ

None of those elements have much to do with the JAAA

Ok noice.. we can give them credit for staying out of the way of progress

I think you do a disservice to the JAAA. That there has been tremendous advances recently is fact, however that tremendous spurt in advances had and still has the signature of JAAA effort.

I happened to be involved in track from 1959 as schoolboy through to assistant starter while at Mico Teachers College, and later coach & lecturer at that same
                        same institution finally moving to fan only in the late 1970s. I had great learning experiences at "Freddie's feet" and at various education institutions and track meets in JA.

It was Freddie who got me involved in JAAA sanctioned and managed activities. Mico stood in for what GC FOSTER now gives us. It was Mico graduates who filled roles as earliest of coaches across the island. Freddie revolutionized the Physical Education Department at Mico and the subsequent organization and management of track meets and improvement in coaching prep, primary, the then Junior Secondary Schools, High Schools... There was much sharing of knowledge. It was then, and it still is now, that the numbers with cutting edge technical knowledge is small. Freddie encouraged sharing the knowledge. The current insularity was not there. It was tremendous sharing and trickling down of knowledge.

That led...that Freddie leadership has fleshed out wto the point where the teaching/coaching at every level is superior to what held during those 1960s. No Freddie did not do it all by himself. There where those who came before like Carl Marsh, Messam, John Searchwell, expatriate teachers... and there were compatriots like Joyce Taylor who did great work at Shortwood Teachers College...

...but that mindset on All-Island Youth Development...facilitation of Youth Development was key.

NB: A nod to Islandman's dad who did tremendous work at Mannings and later Morant Bay High School that jumpstarted careers of some of our national reps...some of whom carry on the work of advancing our track successes by giving back in various ways.

Lay the foundation and the rewards can be unending...infinite. It is a Freddie like mindset on leadership that our JFF needs.

How yuh just a call up Karl name suh?!!!

I think you do a disservice to the JAAA. That there has been tremendous advances recently is fact, however that tremendous spurt in advances had and still has the signature of JAAA effort.

I happened to be involved in track from 1959 as schoolboy through to assistant starter while at Mico Teachers College, and later coach & lecturer at that same
                            same institution finally moving to fan only in the late 1970s. I had great learning experiences at "Freddie's feet" and at various education institutions and track meets in JA.

It was Freddie who got me involved in JAAA sanctioned and managed activities. Mico stood in for what GC FOSTER now gives us. It was Mico graduates who filled roles as earliest of coaches across the island. Freddie revolutionized the Physical Education Department at Mico and the subsequent organization and management of track meets and improvement in coaching prep, primary, the then Junior Secondary Schools, High Schools... There was much sharing of knowledge. It was then, and it still is now, that the numbers with cutting edge technical knowledge is small. Freddie encouraged sharing the knowledge. The current insularity was not there. It was tremendous sharing and trickling down of knowledge.

That led...that Freddie leadership has fleshed out wto the point where the teaching/coaching at every level is superior to what held during those 1960s. No Freddie did not do it all by himself. There where those who came before like Carl Marsh, Messam, John Searchwell, expatriate teachers... and there were compatriots like Joyce Taylor who did great work at Shortwood Teachers College...

...but that mindset on All-Island Youth Development...facilitation of Youth Development was key.

NB: A nod to Islandman's dad who did tremendous work at Mannings and later Morant Bay High School that jumpstarted careers of some of our national reps...some of whom carry on the work of advancing our track successes by giving back in various ways.

Lay the foundation and the rewards can be unending...infinite. It is a Freddie like mindset on leadership that our JFF needs.
                            Karl I apprecilove these nice personal anecdotes. I also acknowledge that many individuals who may or may not have been involved in the JAAA have had positive impacts on aspects of track & field. I know a few of them myself.

For me in assessing track I take a systems approach. As far as the "system of coaching" is concerned I identified what I see as the 3 main drivers. I can not say that the JAAA as an organization is a main driver.

That doesn't mean any disrespect for the many other individuals who have also been involved in coaching and had a positive impact.
                            Last edited by Don1; January 22, 2015, 09:27 AM.