From the senior coach

• From the senior coach

The high school football season does not, he argued, adequately ready players for international competition. However, Schäfer believes the situation can improve with an overhaul of the way the youth teams are viewed by football administrators, including allowing more time for training. That's not an option, he explained, since the senior team depends on the development of young talent for continuity.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports1.html

I hope the good Cap'n Burrell is in Englan' searching out genealogical lines to shore up the senior squad.

The high school football season does not, he argued, adequately ready players for international competition. However, Schäfer believes the situation can improve with an overhaul of the way the youth teams are viewed by football administrators, including allowing more time for training. That's not an option, he explained, since the senior team depends on the development of young talent for continuity.

"The high school football season does not, he argued, adequately ready players for international competition"

....I wonder what's for dinner .....

funnie...

Instead of running to england you wouldnt advocate for the capn to develop a program ?....juss asking.Do you think thats above his mental capacity ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Diffa-rent topik dat X

What ?....you run to england because you have no system in place to develop talent , or you go to england because you have no plan/interest to develop talent.

...Yuh know what figet I asked.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Dunny, over here ....

What ?....you run to england because you have no system in place to develop talent , or you go to england because you have no plan/interest to develop talent.

...Yuh know what figet I asked.
                  There's some mental limitation that prevents him from seeing the connection between turning to kick n run English journeymen... and ignoring local development. Probably can't help it tho... must be something congenital

Wow,players just woke up and found themselves in the U20 team,what about the role the JFF played in their development at U17?

So it is the mental capacity...hmmmm to the top .

Coach drunk? None of the young Reggae Boyz on show at the CONCACAF Championship is ready to step up....
                        Not even 'Mr Academy raised' Micheal Seaton can make the senior team or did the coach forget that he is on the team?
                        What about Benbow, no more call ups?
                        How about giving Flemming a chance to train with the senior squad?
                        Coach, ISSA football season is for schoolboy recreational sport, you and the JFF better figure out how you are going to develop professional teenage ballers outside of ISSA season.

"The high school football season does not, he argued, adequately ready players for international competition"

....I wonder what's for dinner .....
                          That last statement is on the money for two reasons - a) We all know what the coach said is true! We have know that for many years as our results told us so.

...and...

b) What is for dinner? = What is the fix?
                          Sure that fix has many separate pieces... ...what are they?

talented players in the schools

Schäfer, who had been off the island until days ago, but managed to review the Boyz' January 9 game against Trinidad and Tobago on video, said Jamaica has "very talented players in the schools", but the young Boyz needed to be more efficiently equipped before they're drafted into the national programme. The training at the schools, in particular, he said, was "not good enough".

"We need preparation," Schäfer explained. "In the schools and (club) leagues it must be better."

"We have to change many things with the youth," he added. "Fitness and tactics."

"At this level (U-20s) nobody can play better (than the seniors)," said Schäfer. "But they can if the players work more - tactically and physically. These players need our help."

Specific to the teaching in the schools: Schäfer underscored the teaching must improve!
                          ...allowing more time for training... "In the schools...it must be better
                          Last edited by Karl; January 16, 2015, 10:50 PM.

Sass?

Is it amazing to you that Schäfer said that the talent is in the schools but the quality isn't...right?

The question I would expect you to ask: Why then is that talent not maturing into quality that would land the players in the Senior TEAM?

...then a re-read of the report on what Schäfer said would provide the answers - a) Poor quality teaching; b) Inadequate scheduling for training!!!

Guess what?
                            You pointed out how that could be overcome in a previous quote where you referenced preparation in England!!!

In JA increasing training will further ruin the talented youngsters if the teaching is the same crap=led by ignorant teachers!!! The twin problems of lack of top quality administrators & teachers and inadequate scheduled training/teaching!!! must be (as the man said) tackled!!!

...by all means create good academies...but step up on quality education in the schools simultaneously.

Guess now Schäfer has underlined same Bricktop, Gamma and you shall come on board ~ sigh!

Karl I don't think you and your Opposition are that far apart. No one in their right mind would not support better football teaching for kids in school. Also you do support the concept of an academy like others do.

Where you may differ from Gamma etc is in emphasis or even mere semantics. They perhaps don't place the importance you do on schools and see progress only thru an academy.

I agree with you that school ball has a role to play in youth football development....just not the main role. Jamaica is too small & poor to ignore the infrastructure and resources in schools.

That main football development role should belong to an academy system...especially since our semi-pro clubs are on a permanent disabled list and are unable to add much value to ballas. That aint changing any time soon

The easiest way to immediately improve standards in school ball is for both Manning & DCup to be reformed into 2 tier divisional leagues with the strongest teams in one league and the weaker ones in a lower league. Then having a promotion/demotion system for perpetual renewal.

Fortunately someone has already shown the way to modernize the backward school league system ... the Lime Cup is a step forward but doesn't go far enuff.

This is the way... http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...referrerid=298

It's really not difficult
                              Last edited by Don1; January 17, 2015, 12:13 AM.