• Article on Ivory Coast academy that produced Wilfried Bony

Wilfried Bony: Ivory Coast's history-making striker

Wilfried Bony has become one of the most expensive African players in history after moving to Manchester City from Swansea for an estimated £25m ($38m). The BBC's Tamasin Ford has been to his hometown of Bingerville in south-eastern Ivory Coast to find out more about the Premier League's latest rising star.

"He slept right here," says Carmel N'Guessan, pointing to a faded mattress at the bottom of a hard, wooden, three-storey bunk bed. "This was his place."

I take in the surroundings: A flurry of football kits and clothes are strewn across the room, one of five dorms at the Cyrille Domoraud football academy where Bony arrived at the age of 12.

(continue)

If the physical facilities is as described...(appears inferior to our boarding schools)...then it must be the teaching that makes the difference?

Here comes Gamma... ...and Bricktop?

At least it's an academy DEDICATED to football. How many do we have? Playing football 2 MAYBE 3 months a year in school will do less for you than having a school dedicated to football all year round!

Do we not have the JFF's Academy?

People hear the word "academy"... then instantly think it's unaffordable. They think of manicured fields, state of the art gyms & hotel style accommodation ... That's what they see on TV at the European or American places they worship.

Jamaica doesn't need and can't afford that foreign excess... but we can take this great example and do SOMETHING within our means

Fortunately I've already outlined how a very affordable academy can be established & operated.

It would be maybe just slightly above the infrastructure in this one...and a HUGE step forward in Jamaican football.
          Last edited by Don1; January 15, 2015, 08:58 PM.

That could be KC, CBAR or Ardenne field.....J.C & Georges are the best fields i have played on.

The JFF concept of academy ,will never work.There is nothing stopping us but ourselves.The infrastructure is there,we have educational schools,we have sports schools,we have dust bowls....ahh mean fields.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Let me state this lowd and clear, forget this academy chat that we keep bleating on about. The only difference between us Jamaicans and the Africans is hunger and the love for football. It has nothing to do with Academy, we have players just as talented if given the chance, however the football clubs in Jamaica do not have the players best interest at heart and only want to manipulate players. The clubs in Africa will gladly send their players to play in Europe on free loans. Did you all know that Bony's first foray in Europe was on a free loan to Sparta Prague? It is all about opportunities.

We do?!!! Where is it and how many players are enrolled?

I made that point years ago,Jamaica wants a ransom and a bounty for their players,Africa just want a chance.

Wi nuh ready fi disss.....the ghost of meeting of stakeholders,blowing in the wind.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I went to Ghana last year and it was an eye opener for me, these African youths have real passion for the game and would walk to Europe to get a chance. The field that some of them play on is just dust and gravel....

I'm now inclined to agree with you on this point Dunny.

Karl...what are the chances you will have 22 football prodigies enrolled at one school at the same time? yuh have sense?

oh really? so all those ivory coast players that came through their academies and turned into stars were anomalies? our players are just as talented as the africans and are ready to jump to european leagues without furhter preparation? is just hunger dem need? yuh been drinking?

A lot of you would be surprised at what thay call football Academies in Africa yet we have this obsession regarding academies. Kids need good coaches and the opportunity to participate whether it be at school or at academy. School boy football in Jamaica is definitely a good thing and has it's benefits, the major problem is after the players leave school...

no it doesn't...no nation producing top football talent uses that model...the ivory coast is just another in a long list