Jamaica vs Guatemala

Thank you Tilla those 2 show what can happen when the TALENT is nurtured in the right environment. This underscores what I have been saying all along. Include Sterling and Aaron in that category. John Barnes too if you want to. Can you imagine if Walter Boyd and Onandi Lowe and even Tappa had the benefit of a proper environment to develope their football skills from an early age, say 14 or so? Ricardo Fuller, Jermaine Johnson and the list goes on. Talent abounds! unfortunately the means to develope said talent is woefully absent
    Missing the teaching!
    The facilities being less than top of the world is not it.

...look at some of the results from our classrooms in academic subjects?
    Our schools with excellent teachers produce! Perhaps it would have been better or more accurate to state the fortunate to have had excellent teaching produced excellent results. After all is said a school may have say, two excellent teachers of math and only some students would receive excellent teaching as the complement of math teachers may be five or six and only a small few would be 'luckly' enough to sit at the excellent teachers' 'feet' at crucial times in the development process...

...those with less than excellent teachers?
    Hell, those results are majority less than stellar results!

...the above speaks to our football development at the hands of our 'football teachers'. - (In parenthesis as 'all our football teachers' are **** poor!!!). ...and except for a few fortunate ones - e.g. John Barnes, Bibi, Young Sterling - who managed to slip the clutches of those football 'pretend teachers/coaches' and came under the influence of top quality teachers and blossomed, all others of our tremendous reservoir of talented youngsters 'withered and died'!

Let us think on an area where we have a history of churning out talent - sprinting! ...fast across ground talent! Yes, we unearth a few footballers with blazing world quality speed e.g. Luton Shelton. ...but can anyone give a reason why in this area of fast across ground talent our TEAMs have so many 'slow' to the lower quality 'snail slow players'? Hell...our fast sprinters when our football teachers are finished with them...when on the field of play...waltz around!!! Does it suggest they are being *'told' speed across is unimportant when playing football?

*Literally told... - or 'told' by what they observe... - or speed across ground used to get to the ball first or as early as possible to allow adequate time to have the ball 'walk and talk' was never ever mentioned in 'football class'?

Just asking! Just saying...! (scratch 'ead emoticon). ...and if that occurs what teaching of the game is done????

We know the concept of TEAM was never discussed or taught Hell, we have the examples here who went through primary, secondary and tertiary school who 'took' football who thought that merely running onto the field with a collection of players meant there was/they were a TEAM

How do we know that?
    It was said...emphatically! ...on this site!!!!
    Last edited by Karl; January 12, 2015, 06:28 PM.

You keep harping on superficial issues...that's your prerogative. Unfortunately that shallow approach by you and most other observers shelters the JFF's incompetence. That's a huge reason for the continuing fcukery

I prefer dealing with fundamental root causes.... not so much the effects. But that's just me
      Last edited by Don1; January 12, 2015, 07:17 PM.

Keep on yapping. It nuh matter how much money JFF have if we can't do the basics we end up same way. Football is about multiply moving parts working to get it done and said to say but good coaching is one. I don't think you understand that hence your "Winnie" comment about been savior.

Now you're being idiotic.

The #1 need of Jamaican football is a youth development system. The fact that this doesn't exist is whose fault?? Players???? Tappa??

Yuh ave sense yute? Yuh fi tap defen foolishness and learn fi put blame where it belongs. That's how the right people can be held accountable and how a positive change may occur
          Last edited by Don1; January 12, 2015, 07:44 PM.

Nobody is not saying we don't need better development. Even with more development you need better coaching and if you know anything about football and watch that games it was obvious that was lacking in these two games.

A good coach can make a big difference. Look at the US, they have a good development system and players in good teams but they have not won one game so far. A good development system gives you a better chance but you also need good coaches making the right decisions.

Nobody is not saying we don't need better development. Even with more development you need better coaching and if you know anything about football and watch that games it was obvious that was lacking in these two games.

A good coach can make a big difference. Look at the US, they have a good development system and players in good teams but they have not won one game so far. A good development system gives you a better chance but you also need good coaches making the right decisions.
              Sass: This sounds exactly like your TEAM analogy.
              If you have 11 players running out to 'play' you have a TEAM.
              Nutten nuh guh suh!

Now you are saying we need development and good coaches?
              Hear this -
              You cannot have development and no teachers...good teachers/coaches.
              It is the good quality teaching/ good coaching that allows for development of the players!!

The USA is irrelevant.

Job #1 is a development system for Jamaica....obviously including coaching.

After we have that system ... if we still mess up your complaints will have some meaning. Until then you're barking up the wrong tree by blaming players & coaching for poor performance

"The USA is irrelevant"

Explain how it is irrelevant.

The fact is anyone who ever coach or play football know the value of good coaching to the game so it make no sense to argue with you. Most of these teams we play against have no more time as a team or have more resources than us. When you watch the game you can talk. We are playing at home which is a another advantage and we can't compete with Trinidad and Guatamala?

"The USA is irrelevant"

Explain how it is irrelevant.

The fact is anyone who ever coach or play football know the value of good coaching to the game so it make no sense to argue with you. Most of these teams we play against have no more time as a team or have more resources than us. When you watch the game you can talk. We are playing at home which is a another advantage and we can't compete with Trinidad and Guatamala?
                    Explain the context of
                    Most of these teams we play against have no more time as a team or have more resources than us.
                    I have used similar words but the context is 'super important'.

Sass me can't back you on your argument here. I agree with Don1 100%. The blame must be placed squarely at the feet of the JFF. Everything that you are suggesting about the team playing a few NPL teams is correct and takes little financing. That is the job of the JFF and not the coach to co-ordinate. They knew of this tournament, how many times do we have to go down this path of lack of proper preparation? The Gold Cup is coming up this summer along with the other tournaments that we will be participating in. Let's see what the JFF has in store regarding our preparation.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The USA is irrelevant because I'm discussing Jamaica...not the USA.

Mi watch both JA games suh nuh come wid dat. As to football mi ah play dat since 19 Howlong... an mi born & grow inna football culture.... suh nuh bodda wid dat eida

Your focus is on superficial tactical issues...mi dun tell yuh seh dat ah nuh my concern rightya now. My ting is fi deal wid systemic failure.... not your personal opinions of a game
                        Last edited by Don1; January 12, 2015, 09:00 PM.

He was not on the field.

A very poor display of technical skills.

Talent abounds
                          HL, from all reports your only experience with football is through a TV screen.... is this correct?

This level is even more important than the seniors in my opinion.

3 weeks training and a few meetups before is absolutely pathetic for preparing a team for a World Cup qualification tournament.
                            Correct!

This group needed a MINIMUM of a year (better 2 yeas) of training, touring and playing quality opposition to gell into an actual team. Outside that what we have is a collection of players ...not a team
                            Correct!
                            The only thing I would say is preparation should be continuous and seamless one World tournament to the next! That 2 years makes me uncomfortable...save you are targeting this group of players. The truth is, as in academics, a solid foundation has to be laid from the earliest of formative years - see: Early Childhood development.

People gloss over this foolishness and blame a coach given a basket to carry water and players not given the preparation to perform. Unnu have sense????????????

Accountability is not directed at where the real breakdown lies and that enables the JFF to continue the fcukery

Unnu fi check unnuself an tap support foolishness by default. It's past time to hold the JFF responsible for their crimes against the youths of Jamaica
                            On point!
                            There is a saying: If you do the same thing over and over you should not expect a different outcome.

This method of approach by the JFF may get us the occasional visit at the World tournaments...but merely as fodder for others not as 'real' competitors. Said it before: Attending at a World Youth Tournament - Been there done that! We need to plan=prepare, execute, attend and create waves!!! We need to attend and rumble with the "big boys"!

--- http://reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=%&id=161 and "The game within the Game - http://reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?v...aration&id=227

- A review of results gain by inept preparation.
                            The year? - 2009! - http://reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?v...aration&id=233

PREPARATIONS! - http://reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?v...aration&id=227
                            Last edited by Karl; January 13, 2015, 10:07 AM.

That is not the JFF to coordinate. All the JFF does is approve it. It is for the coaching staff to put it together. The coaching staff make their demand and then it is up to the JFF.

Go and read what is Winnie plan. He said he wanted to have local players train 3 times a week and gave them what each individual player have to work on. That is not from the JFF, have we ever done that before?????

Money is tight everywhere. Tappa could make the call for the team to train over Christmas holidays but he had to wait on the JFF to come up with a program over 3 or six months???? First and foremost is to recruit the best players for suitable position. You can judge for yourself, I will.

Most of these players are local based and I don't think there is any excuse for them to be so badly prepared especially defensively. The senior team is much more expensive to prepare. The U20 team had no sense of structure.

If local coaches can't step up their games and put programs in place and demand more then trust me it nuh matter how much money in the program, we are going nowhere fast. The thing is plan, plan, plan and work.

Look at how Paul Campbell started the goalie revolution in Jamaica all by himself, all these current goalies are product of Paul, as he identify them and worked with them. So far this U20 display at home is worst than any other in recent memory so far. Not using the width of the field is directly related to coaching, many of glaring defensive errors are there to be seen.
                              Last edited by Assasin; January 13, 2015, 10:30 AM.

When you wanted to make your development point months earlier you used the USA as example though. How convienent