Who is the greatest footballer in YOUR lifetime?

well that is certainly not pele's fault! he dominated in a spectaclar way in his era.

of course, i did not see him at his best only clippings, which pretty much amounts to a highlight reel
    Didn't say it was. All I am saying is midfielders, defenders and keepers today is a different set compared to those Pele faced. Take the keepers for example. I recall when a team won a penalty it was a certain goal compared to today where it is no surprise if the keeper saves it. There was a call a few years ago to make the goals wider and higher.

A man working as a baker, farmer all day then turning up to concede 4 -5 goals to Pele ... certainly not his fault ... but could he score as much goals today? Doubt it.

Come on Karl ... the players back then is nothing like players in this era. Many players back then were part time footballers ... compared to today where football is an industry.
      "Come on, Karl" is inserted to suggest asking you to think on the question is 'out of place' = unfair?

The players back then?
      Which players? ...those playing at the highest levels in the professional leagues - club & International in which Pele performed? ...part timers?

I do not think so.
      ...not even when Pele was a 16 year old.

What were the conditions under which Pele displayed his considerable skills?
      Playing surfaces? ...type equipment - boots and balls? ...support training facilities - gyms, etc? ...quality of support professionals - medical doctors, dentists, nutritionists, etc?

I think you could and should consider the question.

...as corollary - Please take a look at and give your review of the 1970 World Cup final match? ...please do the same for the last World Cup final and compare as best you can? That should prove interesting...??? ...or just su-suh take looks and do your own private comparison. Might make you go, mmmmmmm?

why do you doubt it?

pele as he was then was good enough to stand out and i think if he was around today he would have the ability to be exceptional now too.

as a pundit he is waaaay off but...

Bet if Nandi or Fuller did that you could cuss them. I asked you if Kane played team.The fact is Kane had at least 2 other teammates he could have passed to.

if he did not score it would be anti team ....as long as he scores

Base on the highlights I have seen Pele can do everything Ronaldo, Ronaldhino and Messi can do and more so imagine if he had gotten the modern day training.

well that is certainly not pele's fault! he dominated in a spectaclar way in his era.

of course, i did not see him at his best only clippings, which pretty much amounts to a highlight reel
                What about the match in the National Stadium?
                Missed it?

Pele can do everything Ronaldo, Ronaldhino, and Messi can do. Imagine if he had gotten modern day fitness training. Somethings don't change, the instinct, the body moves and smarts.

Imagine inna Pele days man coulda kick you inna face, two foot tackle etc.

Diego Armando Maradona...argument done

.... until they start conducting drug tests?

Who would get the #10???

My Greatest

Manning Cup- Frank Bowen - Ardenne

RBYZ- Onandi Lowe

World Cup - Romario

EPL - John Barnes - Honorable mention Drogba

Presently playing- Messi.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Me ask a simple question I never asked for a potpourri of players.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Frank Bowen was a true general.
                              Household name in my neck of the woods,and believe me we had some of the best footballers ...
                              Well deserved!!!

The question is far more complex that you know boss.Are defenders and keepers footballers?
                                Zidane meant more to France and Real Madrid than Ronaldinho meant to Brazil and Barca.
                                CR achieved more goals playing wide than everyone but in honesty,for me,the number 10 Jersey comes pre-stamped with Ronaldinho name.