Who is the greatest footballer in YOUR lifetime?

you are arguing with yourself. I asked a simple question.

"...for you I imagine there is only the tackle whereon a 'brutal assault' takes place...and YES the 1970 Pele put in those too! ...but he was smart enough, strong enough, fast enough and technically so equipped that he put in tons more of the other types winning of the ball than the 'brutal physical' confrontation. "

So at least 2 of your top "TEAM" baller don't really confront others with the ball. Pele and Pirlo. What a contrast? Tell me about Pirlo defensive work now.

Would you put Pele or Pirlo up against a good player in the box on a defensive corner?
    Throw in Mesul Ozil too!
    ...they all put in those physical confrontations you like but not as often as you wish.

In Ozil's case - I cannot dispute that he puts in weak defensive work much too often. ...but he is the only one such in my squad of 'type' players. All the others are uncompromising more often than not when necessary (We all know that every player can at times be faulted for an instant of lack of defensive effort).

Would you put Pele or Pirlo up against a good player in the box on a defensive corner?
    You know that is a joke question? ...not a serious question?
    The context Sass, "is world's best"=TOP OF THE WORLD. There are 3 club TEAMs = Bayern, Barcelona and Chelsea (that it could be argued are...) at the very top. Each of these TEAMs could be said to have World TOP Class player in every area of the field. ...now if Pirlo or Pele or Ozil was on the opposing TEAM defending in the box there would not be a less than
    a good player in the box on a defensive corner?
    ...it follows that, YES!...it must be...no alternative...nowhere to hide...yup!...it must be
    up against a good player in the box on a defensive corner!
    ...just no out! Have to be done! ...now which player you as coach would designate that the match up be made on, is a different matter?
    Last edited by Karl; January 7, 2015, 12:33 PM.

So why you don't understand when other people have them in their squad?

It beats logics. Players have strength and weaknesses. They way how you talk, I expected to see 10 Yaya Toure in your squad and a wha you call the goalie again? LOL!!!

mi rate ronaldinho but zizou by a bald head ...

So why you don't understand when other people have them in their squad?

It beats logics. Players have strength and weaknesses. They way how you talk, I expected to see 10 Yaya Toure in your squad and a wha you call the goalie again? LOL!!!
          10 Yaya Toure - Yes, if they were all as fast as Walcott or The Ox or better yet Bolt!

To be serious on your expectations 'on the way you talk' - The aim is perfect players...but as there is no such thing, my wish list is for as near perfect as possible. Hey!...each human is unique!

what about YOUR own quest for perfection. how close are you?

As far as it is to a location an infinite distance!
              How about YOU?

i accept my foibles and try to work with it as best i can. that prevents me from expecting jesus like perfection from others.

This has Pele in some tackles -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfjsjCOehYQ

i accept my foibles and try to work with it as best i can. that prevents me from expecting jesus like perfection from others.
                    Look - If I expect Theo Walcott to provide defensive help more than the 5% of the time that is not Jesus like perfection.

If I expect my GUNNERS to perform better defensively and offensively that is not Jesus like perfection.

If I expect the JFF to seek out our best talents from every nook and cranny of the island by working with all parties - that includes the schools - that is not expecting Jesus like perfection...

If I expect Dane Richards to challenge for high balls as opposed to doing fake tippy-toes that is not expecting perfection...

If I expect our players to think that is not expecting perfection...

What are you talking about?
                    Jeeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzzzzzzz?

Time we get serious. ?His record is there, but who was he playing against then?
                      Wonder if in 20 years you will be asking same - about the player you now consider today's best?

so you had a "road to damascus" experience recently?!!!

Explain to me again how Harry Kane individual Brilliant goal is team again.

Thanks in advance.

Explain to me again how Harry Kane individual Brilliant goal is team again.

Thanks in advance.
                            Questions: Where did he get the ball? ...from whom? ...and who did that person receive it from? ...and did any TEAM-mates assist on movement to open up the lanes he ran through?

Great individual effort? Yes! ...does that mean he had no help from his TEAM? No!

The term great individual goal explains and relates to the individual who scores. Good teaching tool to explain importance of technical competence. For the public and fans such individual effort excites...but for the 'true fan' there must be, even as he/she enjoys the 'rush' that individual effort brings, ...must be a look at all that went into the act of making and scoring the goal. ...and so it should for any serious teacher of the game.

Non-threatening enough? ...not to bring, for example, statements that im seh hit waus nat a great individual goal?
                            Last edited by Karl; January 7, 2015, 05:28 PM.

Wonder if in 20 years you will be asking same - about the player you now consider today's best?
                              Come on Karl ... the players back then is nothing like players in this era. Many players back then were part time footballers ... compared to today where football is an industry.

well that is certainly not pele's fault! he dominated in a spectaclar way in his era.

of course, i did not see him at his best only clippings, which pretty much amounts to a highlight reel