Why Liverpool Ne ver Winthe League

The American way!

I don't think you can rule out the influence of an excellent coach (Guardiola?), or game-changing individual players (Suarez, Kane whom we saw in the match v. Chelsea)... but what happens to these individuals once they make a mark? The big money clubs swoop them up. That's been the pattern over the last decade or so. So yes, David can beat Goliath, once in a while. The overwhelming trend is in fact for the moneyed clubs to dominate.

Who is leading the EPL? La Liga? Bundesliga? et al...

So while you might find the diamond in the rough (coach or player), those really are the outliers in today's world. I doesn't mean you give up and stop trying but the evidence is there for all to see.
      1. Not disputing the stats;

2. ...but looking at "talent abounds" and the future;
      Context: Limitations on clubs in any viable league v the 'just about' limitless numbers of top quality talent in each country. Each league has limit on numbers of players needed to produce top efficiency on the field. The necessary talent world-wide outstrips that need.

- Remember the utopia is each TEAM being the impossible 'best in the world'? 30 limit or whatever squad with each player being as fast as a bullet; tactical and technical skilled such that only God can better...then the game becomes the boring, 'side a' kicks off and after the 'top play'...'side b' kicks off as these TEAMs are 100% efficient.

...perhaps each team scoring in excess of 10 goals per game becomes the norm???

So if that type talent is, under the "talent abounds" mantra, always available...and the good coaches/teachers are all on par...then money plays less and less a role as the game develops as greater and greater efficiency in unearthing the necessary talent and developing same occurs...

Aside: Yup! ...all within the context of "talent abounds"=necessary talent being far in access of numbers needed to satisfy that most efficient of leagues (e.g. current EPL has 20 teams would need only 20 x 30, 35, 40 of these super talented players from the vast numbers available/'limitless numbers' available).

...it would be comparable to our JA NPL needing 12 x 30, 35, 40 super talented players. When attrition rates come into the mix...even using the low 5 years life playing at top life's performances...JA is drowning in TOP OF THE WORLD talent...but for good leaders/administrators/teachers to unearth and develop same.

There is - 1 Usian Bolt and 1 Lionel Messi!
      In terms of talent? ....says who? ...who thinks there are not thousands out there who have equal talent and given the chance would produce the same magnificent results?

With the population of the known talented youngsters? ...what figures would one hazard a guess the population of the '='unknown/not discovered=never 'discovered' or developed similar talent? Well...do we expect the World to stand still and there be not improved methods of unearthing and developing top talent?
      Last edited by Karl; January 3, 2015, 12:17 AM.

FFP is a moot point...City is now self sufficient...dem nuh need the oil money again...dem dun setup academy feeder clubs etc and all revenue is now generated by the club itself,,,instead of bitching and complaining you likkle sides should take a page out of our book and get more creative...City linked with a club on Portugal to feed south american players into the team while bypassing the work permit issue...step up your game
        You City folk are something else. LOL!!! Now dat the Sheik's trillions set unu up, unu get creative. heX has indeed found a home. LOL!!!

Cant argue against that , as one should not argue against Rafa/Tomkins theory to upset the cards.

Youth development/Academy...Sterling- Flanaghan..
          LOL!!!! Right - gwaan...build a titan of football in today's world with that strategy - worked great for Rafa at Inter and Napoli. SMH. Concrete on the brain is a hell of a ting!!!

Thanx again sah, as mi say dat is yuh issue, so you must be forthcoming and say it,it didnt work for Rafa , but you expect a novice BR to make it work ? where its basically the same philosophy or is it you want to justify midtable.

Thats where we seperate ,the interpretation on what to do with the numbers,you are not and were never into the Rafaloution ?...you are a defeatist,weakheart 5th columnist ,that believes we are lucky to have a coach like BR.

Better is out there and thank god ,fans like me demand better.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Thanx again sah, as mi say dat is yuh issue, so you must be forthcoming and say it,it didnt work for Rafa , but you expect a novice BR to make it work ? where its basically the same philosophy or is it you want to justify midtable.

Thats where we seperate ,the interpretation on what to do with the numbers,you are not and were never into the Rafaloution ?...you are a defeatist,weakheart 5th columnist ,that believes we are lucky to have a coach like BR.

Better is out there and thank god ,fans like me demand better.
              Is how much time me tel u seh wi jes don'have di money!! Lawd you head tuff!!!

We didnt have money when we won the C.L, won the FA cup ,runners up in the prem and FA cup, wi always bruk under Rafa,you cant say the same with BR,im ave more money and flexbility than Rafa.

Has Rafa ever had a 1oo million plus budget in a transfer season.Brethren,tell the site how Rafa had to maneuver to compete with Fergie and Mourinho at their heights.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

For those of you who have been paying attention, I have said for years that football is now a money thing. City and Chelsea were nowhere before rich oil money came to their rescue; and I have also said that if LFC fans want to get vex about our fortunes, to blame Moores and Parry, who had the opportunity to sell the club to Dubai Investment Capital but balked when they heard that DIC had an "exit strategy"...so the eedyats sold to G&H

Anyway, you may also know that I keep telling City Fan#1 X that he should stop listening to eedyat LFC bloggers, but I read something sent to me by Blogger in Chief Paul Tomkins that underscores my belief as to why berating the manager is just plain stupidity. While I don't think much of Tomkins emotional opinions, he does a decent job with data. Here are some excerpts (not Xcerpts) from his article "Why Liverpool Never Win the League" and guess what heX, it's not because of the manager:

• ...over the past decade it has been clear to me that Liverpool won’t win the league with any manager...
                  • Until FFP really bites, and until Liverpool have a bigger stadium, then the money the club spends on transfers will never be enough...
                  • for the first eleven Premier League seasons the differences in squad and £XI (the £XI is the 38-game average cost of the starting line ups, after inflation is applied) costs were fairly minimal; it was an era when there was no clear financial heavyweight miles ahead of the rest...
                  • When Arsene Wenger won his first title in 1998, Arsenal also had the costliest £XI. But it was close. Back then, everything was close.
                  • If you do not have £XI in the Title Zone [a level of squad cost and utilization high enough to win the title], or a squad cost (again, after inflation is applied) in the Title Zone, you won’t win the title. That may sound simple, but that’s how it works. Or at least, how it’s worked for the past 10 seasons, and how it appears to be working again this season.
                  • No team with a £XI lower than £210m has won the Premier League in over a decade. Liverpool’s current £XI is £138.9m, over £70m short of the minimum. (And indeed, it was £95m short of City’s last season.)
                  • No team with a squad that cost less than £397m (after inflation) has won the title in over a decade. Liverpool’s current squad cost (Sq£) is £293m, over £100m short of that minimum. (And indeed, was a whopping £140m short of City’s last season.)
                  • The Premier League ‘rich three’ are so tightly grouped that the title will come from one of them; but it ultimately comes down to whose manager gets the most out of their talented collections, and who has to overcome less bad luck.

Full Article: http://tomkinstimes.com/2014/11/why-...in-the-league/
                  Come on ... Liverpool failed to win the league last season due to Gerrard's slip. Still put a smile on my face just thinking about it.

We didnt have money when we won the C.L, won the FA cup ,runners up in the prem and FA cup, wi always bruk under Rafa,you cant say the same with BR,im ave more money and flexbility than Rafa.

Has Rafa ever had a 1oo million plus budget in a transfer season.Brethren,tell the site how Rafa had to maneuver to compete with Fergie and Mourinho at their heights.
                    And who is talking about cups? The LEAGUE LEAGUE LEAGUE is the focus - it is even in the title!! Are you so dense? Jesus. Stay with it!!! AND WHEN WE DID LAST WIN THE LEAGUE - WE WERE ENGLAND'S RICHEST CLUB.

And lastly, Rodgers did better last year finishing 2 points off top than Rafa did with a smaller squad and far less than £100m in spending.

Come on ... Liverpool failed to win the league last season due to Gerrard's slip. Still put a smile on my face just thinking about it.
                      The reason was not the slip, it was because he didn't control the pass, then him slip trying to recover. Anyway, you are an evil little man...but hey...that's what all you mancs are - evil, wikid, likkle!! bad min'!!! Are you sure X isn't one of you? Sure as sh!t him ain't no LFC man.

Also you had the biter in your team suspended for a few games well. had he been humble then.....

The reason was not the slip, it was because he didn't control the pass, then him slip trying to recover. Anyway, you are an evil little man...but hey...that's what all you mancs are - evil, wikid, likkle!! bad min'!!! Are you sure X isn't one of you? Sure as sh!t him ain't no LFC man.
                            The title went on that 3 - 3 game. ...and another they should have won in which the players waltzed to a draw. Those occurred when 'pool was 'inches' from the finish line.

The ultimate was that 3-3 game, but when we were up 3-0, they were pushing to run up the score to close the GD gap on City. And unfortunately, it back fired. We let the title slip for sure at Anfield...but ultimately, all hope was lost at Palace.

Well...it made for an exciting season. 2nd is nothing to be ashamed off. 'pool played some of the most exhilarating of matches I have ever seen.

The dismantling of my GUNNERS was...explosive stuff!