Why Liverpool Ne ver Winthe League

Tomkins article left out one key ingredient or maybe you conviently did, what about having an astutute coach.Tomkins did another article on how to get around that gridlock and its in bed with Rafa philosophy of building pool(unfinished business) a strong academy modeled off Barcelona.

Man U proved what happens with billions when you have a midtable coach, incidentally a coach you backed as needing time, then flipped as if you planted him there to destabalise the club in his last weeks.

Its no secret that Tomkins and Rafa have each other numbers, he has stated conversating with him isnt a problem.

The anamoly was Pool having half its squad injured during Rafa last campaign.The critics being you showed no mercy , after runners up in the prem the previous season, runners up before that in the C.L , everything he did was deadwood,from tactics to players bought, Skertel , Lucas etc .

I hope now you realise your error.Did you read the other article ? or do you wish to promote this to justify midtable.

Your reasoning is defeatist and weak , what is your motive without giving air to the other side/philosophy ?

Again you focus on city billions , didnt Rafa compete against Chelsea billions , and Fergie Machinery , Arsenals healthy multimillions.Spurs was a club in a healthier position than pool when Rafa got sacked, they could never crack the top 4 .Pool was a club that had to factor in paying the interest on its debt before it (sold) a player to buy one.

I find you very disingenious in your assesment of all things pool, thus I question your loyalty.....5th columnist suits you well,label me as you wish , your reasoning speaks for itself.
    Last edited by Sir X; December 31, 2014, 09:47 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Off topic - I hate this word!

conversating!

When I first heard it - somewhere around 1990 - 1991/2 - I could not believe my ears. It was used to me by my 4th son. ...but being aware that he was attending school in the US and I had been hearing strange to my ears, US words, I meekly asked:
      Are you sure there is such a word?
      He was adamant on there being such a word.

I have never forgotten that incident. In private I tried the word...but I hated it! I still do! I have never used it again before using it in this post. I hate that damn word!!!

Well conversations.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Well conversations.
          Nope!
          I am not saying you wrong. ...just that I hate it!
          Thanks for the change!

conversating!

When I first heard it - somewhere around 1990 - 1991/2 - I could not believe my ears. It was used to me by my 4th son. ...but being aware that he was attending school in the US and I had been hearing strange to my ears, US words, I meekly asked: He was adamant on there being such a word.

I have never forgotten that incident. In private I tried the word...but I hated it! I still do! I have never used it again before using it in this post. I hate that damn word!!!
            After reading all your son's errors in grammar, logic and common sense, that is the issue you focus on? Oh my lawd!

It is simply above your ability to understand. And like most people of limited capacity, you fear and distrust those of higher thinking. It might help you to understand that Rafa is not Liverpool's manager...get over it. He is gone. As for the rest of your illogical analysis, I will leave you to your own demons and not waste any more of my valuable time. You are not capable of understanding the facts presented before you...either due to mental deficiencies or emotional limitations that hinder your ability to think clearly. I am truly sorry.

"Conversate" is not a word. The correct word is "converse". When X typed in "conversating" he should have seen a red squiggly line underneath it...

Thanx yuh Sah.

For those of you who have been paying attention, I have said for years that football is now a money thing. City and Chelsea were nowhere before rich oil money came to their rescue; and I have also said that if LFC fans want to get vex about our fortunes, to blame Moores and Parry, who had the opportunity to sell the club to Dubai Investment Capital but balked when they heard that DIC had an "exit strategy"...so the eedyats sold to G&H

Anyway, you may also know that I keep telling City Fan#1 X that he should stop listening to eedyat LFC bloggers, but I read something sent to me by Blogger in Chief Paul Tomkins that underscores my belief as to why berating the manager is just plain stupidity. While I don't think much of Tomkins emotional opinions, he does a decent job with data. Here are some excerpts (not Xcerpts) from his article "Why Liverpool Never Win the League" and guess what heX, it's not because of the manager:

• ...over the past decade it has been clear to me that Liverpool won’t win the league with any manager...
                    • Until FFP really bites, and until Liverpool have a bigger stadium, then the money the club spends on transfers will never be enough...
                    • for the first eleven Premier League seasons the differences in squad and £XI (the £XI is the 38-game average cost of the starting line ups, after inflation is applied) costs were fairly minimal; it was an era when there was no clear financial heavyweight miles ahead of the rest...
                    • When Arsene Wenger won his first title in 1998, Arsenal also had the costliest £XI. But it was close. Back then, everything was close.
                    • If you do not have £XI in the Title Zone [a level of squad cost and utilization high enough to win the title], or a squad cost (again, after inflation is applied) in the Title Zone, you won’t win the title. That may sound simple, but that’s how it works. Or at least, how it’s worked for the past 10 seasons, and how it appears to be working again this season.
                    • No team with a £XI lower than £210m has won the Premier League in over a decade. Liverpool’s current £XI is £138.9m, over £70m short of the minimum. (And indeed, it was £95m short of City’s last season.)
                    • No team with a squad that cost less than £397m (after inflation) has won the title in over a decade. Liverpool’s current squad cost (Sq£) is £293m, over £100m short of that minimum. (And indeed, was a whopping £140m short of City’s last season.)
                    • The Premier League ‘rich three’ are so tightly grouped that the title will come from one of them; but it ultimately comes down to whose manager gets the most out of their talented collections, and who has to overcome less bad luck.

Full Article: http://tomkinstimes.com/2014/11/why-...in-the-league/
                    Good read.
                    ...but as someone posted elsewhere, (not verbatim) there are outliers. Besides I think it logical to assume that as "talent abounds" and the football world has not yet scratched the surface of what is available on any given day/during any given era that as the method for search for best and best practices on development of players improve there shall be a leveling out.

That premise of "talent abounds" is behind my belief that Jamaica can walk with the "big boys". (btw - The frustrating 'thing' that causes pause on Jamaica's slow walk along the road towards TOP OF THE WORLD is having to accept that our poor education system 'graduates' poor JFF and other football leaders. It is just about impossible to dismiss the thought that our poor football industry/teams, etc. is directly related to our poor football leaders).

...but back to the topic:
                    There is nothing that suggests Arsenal and Liverpool should be in their current positions save the on field way the players approach TEAM. If that matter of TEAM-play is the alpha and omega of reasons why the TEAMs are where they are then 'cost of squad' is not 'it'.

I viewed the recent Chelsea v Spurs match and then there is the ManCity v Sunderland matches...hell? ...the Goliath v David matches in the last round; the light-weights/the Davids were standing toe-to-toe with the heavy-weights/the Goliaths. There were small margins that made the difference on outcomes. It would not be a stretch to think it is 'player playing philosophy' and not cost of players that "is the difference".

One match in particular had me salivating - Southampton v My GUNNERS. That Southampton set of players - granted My GUNNERS spurned scoring opportunities and our 'keeper mixed brilliance with idiotic acts - as individuals have the quality to win this season's league. It is TEAM-play where they fall short. ...and as Martinez said, 'small margins' on manner of play is the difference between winning and losing. It is those "small margins" that has caused this current Southampton TEAM to be not at the very top.

Aside: I laugh at myself when at the begin of the season and indeed some way in, when I dismissively thought of Southampton as equal in stature to Sam's West Ham i.e. not having the quality players to 'rumble with the big boys' for an extended run. Southampton and West Ham? Currently cheese to chalk! Sam is doing a tremendous job with West Ham...with a group of players lacking very best of technical quality.

Those stats tell a story...compelling story...but as is usual, stats never tell 'the whole story'.

PS: Paul please post the 'cost' of all the EPL teams?
                    Thanks!
                    Last edited by Karl; January 2, 2015, 09:14 AM.

"Conversate" is not a word. The correct word is "converse". When X typed in "conversating" he should have seen a red squiggly line underneath it...
                      Just the way my gut also goes

btw - http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/conversate

Aaaah bwoy!
                      Our fellow Americans...

Huge outliers, that article is the promotion of Tomkins Book.In the book he goes into Rafa plan to overcome these outliers and that is just a chapter of the book i.e astute managers with billions behind them and the non astute ones.

Read the book, and I can guarantee that you’ll find quite a few surprises – not just about Benítez, but about a whole host of managers.

“Pay As You Play: The True Price of Success in the Premier League Era” is released on November 9th.

Amongst other things, the book looks at the increasing correlation between transfer spending and success, with plenty of evidence presented to back this up. All 43 clubs to play in the top-flight between 1992 and 2010 have their own chapter, complete with views from an expert fan/journalist. To be 100% fair, managers are rated on how they performed purely in relation to their budget: looking at things like cost-per-point (in other words, how expensive their team was in relation to the league points garnered, and weighting this against the norm for such a level of achievement). And a lot, lot more.

http://tomkinstimes.com/2010/10/the-...%99s-spending/

The only way a club like pool can compete with these billions is based on Rafa formula of youth development from a strong academy, something FSG is into, so it baffles every one why Rafa was overlooked for this youth coach, who has never developed said set up i.e Barcelona model or worked his way through it.

Squawka Exclusive: Paul Tomkins Lets Loose On Liverpool, Hodgson & Moyes
                        Read more at http://www.squawka.com/news/squawka-...lg5Z3rMWoG8.99

http://www.amazon.com/Red-Revival-Be.../dp/0954958039

Paul hasnt a clue , he uses numbers to justify midtable, he has yet to tell me where an astute manager/credible fits into the numbers....lol....tell im buy the book.No one can deny the numbers in an ideal world ,or that others try to crack that ideal set up through mans machiavellian desire to upset the ideal.Tell Paul go seek Rafa.
                        Last edited by Sir X; January 2, 2015, 09:46 AM.

"non-standard"... i.e. made up through ignorance of the correct word "converse"... but I guess that's one way language evolves.

FFP is a moot point...City is now self sufficient...dem nuh need the oil money again...dem dun setup academy feeder clubs etc and all revenue is now generated by the club itself,,,instead of bitching and complaining you likkle sides should take a page out of our book and get more creative...City linked with a club on Portugal to feed south american players into the team while bypassing the work permit issue...step up your game

I don't think you can rule out the influence of an excellent coach (Guardiola?), or game-changing individual players (Suarez, Kane whom we saw in the match v. Chelsea)... but what happens to these individuals once they make a mark? The big money clubs swoop them up. That's been the pattern over the last decade or so. So yes, David can beat Goliath, once in a while. The overwhelming trend is in fact for the moneyed clubs to dominate.

Who is leading the EPL? La Liga? Bundesliga? et al...

So while you might find the diamond in the rough (coach or player), those really are the outliers in today's world. I doesn't mean you give up and stop trying but the evidence is there for all to see.

Cant argue against that , as one should not argue against Rafa/Tomkins theory to upset the cards.

Youth development/Academy...Sterling- Flanaghan..