Talk English.

What the hell are you saying ?
    Assasin said, or someone above said, Bora was playing 2 matches (or thereabout) every 2 - 6 months. You followed up by saying he is moving slowly.

Well we are a few months away from qualifiers...and, if we compare this approach to preparations of the past...all that bore a resemblance to this approach ended in failures.

Burrell/Simoes' attempts had intensive match preparations - i) CB said - see RBSC interview with CB on-site - Simoes had 52 matches per year; ii) Bora said - see article RBSC on-site and editorial RBSC on-site - with all the teams he took to the World Cup he played numerous matches; iii) all the TOP OF THE WORLD teams move at warp speed in continuous preparations...and, I say they have been doing/started the process from 1966 onwards...

iv) Consider also that the Burrell/Simoes approach had us qualifying in our last match...by a whisker! ...sure it is possible to train 8 times with best group of players and to qualify, but I think that is highly improbable!
    So going slow seems to me to be getting ready for 2014 and beyond!

I hope this 'elongated way' of explaining the thought gets through?
    Last edited by Karl; June 6, 2007, 01:56 PM.

The Big guns lost 2-1 to st vincent in the 'copa caribe'.
      Get your facts right. The team listed in that game can hardly be considered our big guns. That is where the mistake was made. We chose to not play our best in a competition which mattered. That is why I keep saying friendlies are for experimenting and the results, win, draw or lose hardly have any meaning.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/matchsta...=149&year=2006

The only thing I see right now is that Bora and the team need more games on a more frequent basis.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Assasin said, or someone above said, Bora was playing 2 matches (or thereabout) every 2 - 6 months. You followed up by saying he is moving slowly.

Well we are a few months away from qualifiers...and, if we compare this approach to preparations of the past...all that bore a resemblance to this approach ended in failures.

Burrell/Simoes' attempts had intensive match preparations - i) CB said - see RBSC interview with CB on-site - Bora had 52 matches per year; ii) Bora said - see article RBSC on-site and editorial RBSC on-site - with all the teams he took to the World Cup he played numerous matches; iii) all the TOP OF THE WORLD teams move at warp speed in continuous preparations...and, I say they have been doing/started the process from 1966 onwards...

iv) Consider also that the Burrell/Simoes approach had us qualifying in our last match...by a whisker! ...sure it is possible to train 8 times with best group of players and to qualify, but I think that is highly improbable!
        So going slow seems to me to be getting ready for 2014 and beyond!

I hope this 'elongated way' of explaining the thought gets through?
        I did not say Bora was going slowly by preference !!

We failed to qualify for the Gold Cup.. do you know how many Internationals that would have given us ?

Bora has less games to work with.. suh it guh.. he HAS to go through the process and it will be under less than ideal situations as it pertains to Internationals and call ups and how many quality games he has to TEST the local players.. you cannot test local players for the rigours of the qualifying campaign playing St. Vincent....

It would be great if he had Gold Cup games for example to warrant more international call-ups.. but he does not.

That is the reality.

I did not say Bora was going slowly by preference !!
          You are squirming! I did not say it was a preference. Cho man, whether preference or by the design of others...or fate, the result is the same = slow pace of building TEAM.

We failed to qualify for the Gold Cup.. do you know how many Internationals that would have given us ?
          In the larger scheme that denied us competitive matches. Our leaders, knowing what they know, must fill the breach by arranging more friendly matches...and or other well-organised supplementary preparations.

Bora has less games to work with.. suh it guh.. he HAS to go through the process and it will be under less than ideal situations as it pertains to Internationals and call ups and how many quality games he has to TEST the local players.. you cannot test local players for the rigours of the qualifying campaign playing St. Vincent....
          Will not accept no "suh it huh"! The leaders must make it be no "suh it guh"...that is why they were elected.

It would be great if he had Gold Cup games for example to warrant more international call-ups.. but he does not.
          Yes, having the Gold Cup games would be great - May I also remind you that our JFF leaders planned the failure of the REGGAE BOYZ making the Gold Cup final rounds. Yes, it was planned failure. - but, not having the Gold Cup games demanded alternative games (opponents be found).

I dont think winning is important now and I dont expect this group to win against quality opposition. I think in time we will win. The last thing we need is a quick fix. My only think is the Fabain Davis and older guys in the team should not be there as I rather loose with younsters and not guys who wont be in the team

Playing these minnoes will hardly achieve anything except a cheap win. If we play teams which are ranked higher than us, it gives us a chance to improve our rankings with FIFA. Losing or drawing with a St Kitts, will only send us further down the tube.
              Tilla the mistake that you and many of us is making, is assuming that our local players are that much better than our Caribbean neighbours. Playing our neighbours should not be looked upon as trying to gain points to move up the FIFA ranking. It is a means to an end. It gives them and the coach a chance to implement what is taught during training. It gives the coach a chance to really examine his players under less stress while at the same time exposing our players to international conditions (which is more that playing a match on the day). It also gives the coach a chance to decide on his core local players. I will say it again, Bora needs to use the summer (more realistically June) to call a camp to see our overseas players. Right now we have many, but not all will fit into his system. Maybe it makes more sense for him to go to England. Will these players be considered now: Deon Burton, Lisbie, Euell, Tyrone Marshall, Andy Williams (when he recovers), and any other foreign-born Jamaicans?
              Last edited by Jangle; June 6, 2007, 03:39 PM.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Anyway Jangle, there is a reason why Bora can command the salaries he does for coaching teams. Obviously, he has a reason for doing what he is doing. I say we leave him alone and watch the ride. . .
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Anyway Jangle, there is a reason why Bora can command the salaries he does for coaching teams. Obviously, he has a reason for doing what he is doing. I say we leave him alone and watch the ride. . .
                  C'mon do better than that. Do you agree or disagree with my points?
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You are squirming! I did not say it was a preference. Cho man, whether preference or by the design of others...or fate, the result is the same = slow pace of building TEAM.

In the larger scheme that denied us competitive matches. Our leaders, knowing what they know, must fill the breach by arranging more friendly matches...and or other well-organised supplementary preparations.

Will not accept no "suh it huh"! The leaders must make it be no "suh it guh"...that is why they were elected.

Yes, having the Gold Cup games would be great - May I also remind you that our JFF leaders planned the failure of the REGGAE BOYZ making the Gold Cup final rounds. Yes, it was planned failure. - but, not having the Gold Cup games demanded alternative games (opponents be found).
                    FACT they games HAVE NOT BEEN ARRANGED.

Do you believe the JFF had a backup plan in case they did not make the Gold Cup ?

Get yourself grounded in reality.

The failure to qualify for the Gold Cup has affected the pace Bora can work at... PERIOD, FULL-STOP.

You can live in reality or continue in dream land about woulda, coulda and shoulda.. that does not explain the current pace that Bora is working at or the number of international call ups.

Only an idiot tries to explain the phenomenon with woulda, coulda and shoulda on the part of others.

It is important the MIND-SET of Bora.. that is what is being questioned.. it can only be done in the proper context and with the proper persepective.

OK sar, I will admit, you hav made some valid points. I still think however that Bora is weighing the situaation and working with what he is given in the best way he can.

Local boyz doing pretty well. I was impressed with the First Half play, organized.. some good build ups... as changes were made especially in the second half, the cohesion broke down somewhat in midfield... transition between defense and midfield started to get patchy and haphazard.

#12.. Phillips I think, look like him about to eat a man food on di left side... some pin-point crosses with pace and good on the ball skills. Very impressed with this yute.

Defense held up fairly well.. I think Chile had 2 attempts on goal first half.. one on a broken play by Fuller in our 3rd.

I think Bora can find 8 quality local players from this squad.
                        Nyam a man food pon di left like Pac-Man.. suh mi seeit..suh mi geeit..

"JAMAICA'S TECHNICAL director, Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic, lauded winger Demar Phillips for his outstanding performance against South American side Chile at the National Stadium on Tuesday night.

"He played a very good game," said Milutinovic, who took over the reins as technical director from Wendell Downswell last November. "I am very happy to have somebody like him in the team because he is a good player so that's the reason why he is with us."

Milutinovic was speaking at the post-game press conference after his side lost a keenly fought encounter 1-0.

Phillips said after the game that he was delighted with his performance and hoped to maintain his place in the side for next year's World Cup qualifiers.

Dazzling skills

"I have to continue to train hard and go out there to do my best for my country whenever I get the chance to play because I know I am going to be successful," said Phillips, who represents Waterhouse in the National Premier League.

Phillips, who has played in Jamaica's last four practice matches, delighted the home crowd with his dazzling dribbling skills down the left flank and his off-the-ball movement which created a number of openings for the Reggae Boyz after they went behind early in the first half.

He also delivered a number of accurate crosses which the strikers failed to capitalise on"

Benjamin I'll give you your props. You called it correctly...... this time. It's time for you to give up the ghost of Tappa though.

heh! heh!

Hey Jangle even if Bora had not said anything...even if Bora had said, he played like crap...Maudib, I find, knows a thing or two about this game so his word would still carry weight with me.

Another good man to 'listen to'...I am being careful on saying on/about the game of football... - is Mosiah.

Nyam a man food pon di left like Pac-Man.. suh mi seeit..suh mi geeit..

"JAMAICA'S TECHNICAL director, Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic, lauded winger Demar Phillips for his outstanding performance against South American side Chile at the National Stadium on Tuesday night.

"He played a very good game," said Milutinovic, who took over the reins as technical director from Wendell Downswell last November. "I am very happy to have somebody like him in the team because he is a good player so that's the reason why he is with us."

Milutinovic was speaking at the post-game press conference after his side lost a keenly fought encounter 1-0.

Phillips said after the game that he was delighted with his performance and hoped to maintain his place in the side for next year's World Cup qualifiers.

Dazzling skills

"I have to continue to train hard and go out there to do my best for my country whenever I get the chance to play because I know I am going to be successful," said Phillips, who represents Waterhouse in the National Premier League.

Phillips, who has played in Jamaica's last four practice matches, delighted the home crowd with his dazzling dribbling skills down the left flank and his off-the-ball movement which created a number of openings for the Reggae Boyz after they went behind early in the first half.

He also delivered a number of accurate crosses which the strikers failed to capitalise on"
                              So whofa food im tek Ben J? Yuh mean Hue?

There were some people lined up behind Gardner.. mi feel seh dem juss dead..