US Soccer comprehensive Development

• US Soccer comprehensive Development

This is the most comprehensive development program I have seen.

Since the dawn of Major League Soccer, college soccer has played a significant role in producing players for the professional and international level. U.S. Soccer is collaborating with the NCAA to make changes to the college soccer model that will benefit the health and wellness of the athletes by extending the season over a longer period of time. Off the field, former MLS executive Nelson Rodrìguez has taken on the role of Managing Director, National Team Advisory Services. This new department will provide guidance, counseling and education on a variety of career-related topics to members of the National Team player pool.

http://www.ussoccer.com/stories/2014...nitiatives-rel

USAF, I told you they had to find some middle ground with colleges. Too much money and resources are invested there to take them out of the picture. Also of note they are trying to provide more scholarship for Elite clubs so more players can take part.

Overall a good chat, let me see the implementation.

I know you'd try to use this to try & make your point for your beloved NCAA, but sorry, it won't work......What they didn't say in the article and not many people know is that the NCAA had to humble themselves & go to the USSF.

The USSF approached the NCAA about 2 years ago to make changes that would help to prepare the players for pro & international soccer, but "your boys" gave them the cold shoulder. In their ignorance they thought they were the only ticket to the pros, like with NFL & NBA, so USSF worked with MLS (starting last year) to develop a way to keep the cream of the crop in a pro system, even though some weren't ready for MLS, & that was the reason for stronger affiliations with existing USL Pro teams & some MLS teams forming their own USL Pro teams. The NCAA then realized that if they didn't change, they would loose out on a lot of the top players schools were targeting, so they went to the USSF to know what they needed to do.

It will be interesting to see how many of these top players will choose the MLS/USL Pro system & how many will choose college, because now a lot of these U.S. players are looking to leave college after 2 years.
      Last edited by USAF; December 10, 2014, 03:57 AM.

Politics at play. I knew the USSF would have to work with the NCAA. The fact is you can't ignore so much resources, power and money.The fact is the top few players may go pro but many will still go to college. Going to college for 2 years is good. If after a year or two they realize they have a pro career then go for it. The top players don't stay 4 years in college anyway, they get a Nike contract to finish up when they are done , like Mattocks and Blake.

The fact is, as I said before is "College will always be a part of the mix" whether you and others like it or not it will always be an opportunity to get some of our second tier players to the pro.

Overall the program sounds good on paper, hope it is implemented properly.
        Last edited by Assasin; December 10, 2014, 08:23 AM.

...and so shall the schools at lower levels!
          Fact: On resources the schools at lower levels combined budgets dwarfs those spent elsewhere. ...but if human capital can be translated in financial terms then it would be certain that value at those lower levels - in every nation - dwarfs that invested elsewhere.

Mek Bricktop and his fellow sheep gwaan talk bout school football is, unimportant!

Nope. AT the local level it is the Academies that USSF is working with. The clubs have much more resource and supplement the high schools. Also if you are playing Elite soccer and in some case Academy soccer you can't play high school ball. There is no where in these document that high schools are talked about with development.

Clubs have 1000s of players and 99% players who play for an high school. USSF federation like many of us thinks that early development is accelerate in clubs rather than high school. The problem is after high school there is still not enough outlet that provide a chance at education and pro so college is a bridge for some.

Nope. AT the local level it is the Academies that USSF is working with. The clubs have much more resource and supplement the high schools. Also if you are playing Elite soccer and in some case Academy soccer you can't play high school ball. There is no where in these document that high schools are talked about with development.

Clubs have 1000s of players and 99% players who play for an high school. USSF federation like many of us thinks that early development is accelerate in clubs rather than high school. The problem is after high school there is still not enough outlet that provide a chance at education and pro so college is a bridge for some.
              In the context of population size and the associated talent pool:
              - How many schools are there "playing soccer"?

- Number of kids?

- Number of kids available for even 'numbers of best of the best' talented?

- Do the academies recruit school-kids?

Look - yuh nuh jus barn (born) big! If Academies can be equated to 'community home schooling'...so are the schools and IT MAKES SENSE NOT TO IGNORE THEM! No other nation in the World does! Are you suggesting that Americans are the World's only sensible people...and as a result of that great superiority they ignore the schools as hunting ground for talent and thus disregard putting in place a system whereon that best talent is best nurtured until 'found' by specialized 'schools'? ...or... Are you suggesting that America is so overflowing with talent that missing one or two exceptionally talented is A-OK as policy?

Yuh dun kno either of the is....? Rite?

No Karl academies rarely recruit school kids, private schools may recruit academy kids. Kids starts with local clubs as young as 3 years old and very few elementary schools have a soccer team. These players usually play with a youth club long before they play school soccer. Club travel soccer team for U9 play over 50 games a year in my area and don't have a elementary school team.

Karl, Assasin is correct.
                  If a youth player wants to represent the U.S. they have to play in the academy system (where they select players from), which "forbids" players to play high school soccer & if these players are interested in getting a college scholarship their chances are FAR greater playing in the academy system which is where the TOP programs recruit from.....The academy system was a 7 month season, but was extended to a 10 month season this year, with a winter break when they play futsal.
                  That's the decision & system of the national federation, USSF, to streamline the system & have the best players competing against each other.

No Karl academies rarely recruit school kids, private schools may recruit academy kids. Kids starts with local clubs as young as 3 years old and very few elementary schools have a soccer team. These players usually play with a youth club long before they play school soccer. Club travel soccer team for U9 play over 50 games a year in my area and don't have a elementary school team.
                    Yuh figet or never knew that I am the brother of what I considered a highly successful youth coach who is based in South Florida.

Plus although not an expert on US Soccer development I have as football fanatic and scout have more than passing knowledge on the subject US Soccer Youth Development.

no, I haven't forgetten but you ask the questions right?

Tell you bredda him owe me a few shillings. Mi use to buy his horse and E Waugh's for my upset winners a betting shop. LOL!!!