• Jamaica or Japan? Mushashi Suzuki must decide

Jamaica or Japan? Mushashi Suzuki must decide

Twenty-year-old striker Musashi Suzuki has a big decision to make in a couple of months from now as he turns 21 in February of 2015 will have to decide which country he will represent at the senior level.
    He must decide between Jamaica or Japan.
    Suzuki was born in Montego Bay, Jamaica in 1994 to a Jamaican father and a Japanese mother. When he was 10 years old, he left the island to live in Japan with his mother.
    Suzuki made his mark in the Japanese School Boys League and was selected to represent the Japan U-17 team at the U-17 World Cup in 2011 in Mexico where he played against Jamaica, earning a 1-0 win. The team eventually made it to the round of 16.
    Having only played at age-group level, Suzuki had a chance of representing his country of birth. According to FIFA regulations, he remains eligible to play for Jamaica until he earns a cap for the national senior team.

read more

You know getting across facts in the classroom is sometimes

extremely difficult.

...but a teacher keeps trying! - (refining the method). Here is once again a reference to 'importance 'school' can play in youth football development and development of talented footballers'. 'Oblique reference' or 'easily seen reference'? You decide? ---->---->
    Originally posted by Hortical View Post

Twenty-year-old striker Musashi Suzuki has a big decision to make in a couple of months from now as he turns 21 in February of 2015 will have to decide which country he will represent at the senior level.

Suzuki was born in Montego Bay, Jamaica in 1994 to a Jamaican father and a Japanese mother. When he was 10 years old, he left the island to live in Japan with his mother.

Suzuki made his mark in the Japanese School Boys League and was selected to represent the Japan U-17 team at the U-17 World Cup in 2011 in Mexico where he played against Jamaica, earning a 1-0 win. The team eventually made it to the round of 16.

Having only played at age-group level, Suzuki had a chance of representing his country of birth. According to FIFA regulations, he remains eligible to play for Jamaica until he earns a cap for the national senior team.

read more
    Bricktop are you there? ...and the many silent on the issue - Teacher has not a clue those students' understanding on the importance school has played in the past and is continuing to play...

- Is the silent many unsure, convinced by Bricktop that no top players or top football playing nation were or current do depend on 'schools' for important input on 'youth development'=development of talented footballers...or have the silent many accepted that 'schools' play an extremely important role?

Then there is:
    - The extremely important issue of OUR JAMAICA's use of or ignoring of 'our schools' as vast important asset in youth development=development of our young talented footballers?

What do the 'silent many' think? What side of the debate do they come down on?

If that Jamaican picks Jamaica then maybe when we play against national teams with the Sterlings,those players will feel they are on the wrong team.It can't change the situation but..

doesn't that happenswith us here too?

all of our u17 players pretty much are from the school system! where else are they going to come from at this time?!!

how many of the phoenix players are on the underage teams? is leon bailey on it? is it possible that he is one of if not THE best young playes IN jamaica? ()

make Karl gwaan talk foolishness

"So far this season for his club, Masashi has scored two goals, but has set his sights on more goals and also a possible move to Europe in the future."

The kid is with a good club, even if he does play schoolboy football.

This article is a poor representation, I think he pretty much said he will be choosing Japan.
          http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...-team_17732550

i thought that too, that is his intention was to rep japan.

doesn't that happens with us here too?

all of our u17 players pretty much are from the school system! where else are they going to come from at this time?!!

how many of the phoenix players are on the underage teams? is leon bailey on it? is it possible that he is one of if not THE best young playes IN jamaica? ()
              Are you saying now saying the schools are important to development of our youth players? If so, it would appear to me that you have changed your tune.

So Leon Bailey may be the best youngster in Jamaica so, in the context of my past input on youth development, what is the point?

Aside: Just a reminder that I have acknowledged that 'proper' academies will play an important role in the development of our young talented players. ...but the importance of the schools should not be overlooked in any of our development plans. As fact, we should maximize on what schools can offer to our youth development process.

Which school Leon Bailey guh?

If our underage teams are not chosen from the schools where else will they be chosen from?

If you consider your only choice to be your best choice then I suppose you are right and thus this explains out underwhelming success!

I think both Leon and Kyle are at JC now

did they play for JC?

cudden mek di team mi ear...some kuntry balla squeeze dem out

Originally posted by Hortical View Post

read more
                        Is which black Jamaican u know have a last name Suzuki? Him fada mussi did change him name? (probably from Honda ) Sorry, but we nah go get dis yout, too much big tings a gwaan in Japan...and at 6'1" him have a big advantage over there. Hope I am wrong still. :fingers_crossed:

Uncross it... Save it for something else

He probably has his mother's name... father dropped some sperm and then disappeared? Sorry to stereotype but that is a distinct possibility.

Uncross it... Save it for something else
                              Understood. But who? Sterling gone, Sturridge gone, Aarons?