Copa America 2015

• Copa America 2015

Jamaica won the Caribbean Cup over at best ordinary competition IMO.

Copa America will be several steps up in competition. All the South American (SA) teams will be assembled for Copa America. I think the weakest football countries in SA are Peru, Venezuela, Bolivia and maybe Paraguay.

There will be 4 Pots of 3 countries. The draw occurs Nov. 24th. It's likely that Brazil, Argentina and the Host with not be in the same group for the draw.

Hopefully, Jamaica will be drawn with one of the four 'weak' SA country. This would give them the opportunity to play more than 2 games. An excellent tune-up for the Gold Cup that takes place days after the end of Copa America.

Hopefully Jamaica will get some pre Copa America tune-up games against El Salvador, Guatemala and countries that plays SA style football.

Jamaica won the Caribbean Cup over at best ordinary competition IMO.

Copa America will be several steps up in competition. All the South American (SA) teams will be assembled for Copa America. I think the weakest football countries in SA are Peru, Venezuela, Bolivia and maybe Paraguay.

There will be 4 Pots of 3 countries. The draw occurs Nov. 24th. It's likely that Brazil, Argentina and the Host with not be in the same group for the draw.

Hopefully, Jamaica will be drawn with one of the four 'weak' SA country. This would give them the opportunity to play more than 2 games. An excellent tune-up for the Gold Cup that takes place days after the end of Copa America.

Hopefully Jamaica will get some pre Copa America tune-up games against El Salvador, Guatemala and countries that plays SA style football.
    Good that we qualified for this tournament.
    Great teaching lessons will be seen...endured?...during our matches as the SA teams shall put pass & move/move & pass right in our players faces such that only the blind cannot observe and frozen brains not understand the reasons/get the concepts behind that TEAM policy.

So...hopefully we build on our infrequent use of the 'pass and move game'. Turning that 'stop-start' attitude into continuous playing of 'pass and move/move and pass' for entire matches.

...& we do not have baggage carried such as Dane Richards who did not challenge for balls within easy reach...e.g. balls that were 6" above his head and under hit passes that he refused or does not understand that he must attack/running furiously towards to get to FIRST!...or stop breaking up our attacks by dwelling on the ball or consistently making award passes - (Thought Dane played most poorly of our players that performed in a less than professional manner.

Dane was also missing on defense!!!

Dane's game has taken a nose-dive since he left the Red Bulls.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

He is a good player. Someone said he is playing out of his natural position.

At MetroStars he was always making some good runs down the wing. I don't see that in his games for Jamaica.

Good that we qualified for this tournament.
          Great teaching lessons will be seen...endured?...during our matches as the SA teams shall put pass & move/move & pass right in our players faces such that only the blind cannot observe and frozen brains not understand the reasons/get the concepts behind that TEAM policy.

So...hopefully we build on our infrequent use of the 'pass and move game'. Turning that 'stop-start' attitude into continuous playing of 'pass and move/move and pass' for entire matches.

...& we do not have baggage carried such as Dane Richards who did not challenge for balls within easy reach...e.g. balls that were 6" above his head and under hit passes that he refused or does not understand that he must attack/running furiously towards to get to FIRST!...or stop breaking up our attacks by dwelling on the ball or consistently making award passes - (Thought Dane played most poorly of our players that performed in a less than professional manner.

Dane was also missing on defense!!!
          I thought Jamaica was listed as invited--alongside Mexico

Would that still stand if they did not win the tournament?

I thought Jamaica was listed as invited--alongside Mexico

Would that still stand if they did not win the tournament?
            No!
            My understanding is only the winner of the tournament got an invite. So it was open invite for the winnah!!! No lifting of trophy, no invite!

I can always depend on you or Mosiah for vital information.

Thanks .

No!
                My understanding is only the winner of the tournament got an invite. So it was open invite for the winnah!!! No lifting of trophy, no invite!
                Misinformation by Karl HL! There are 10 South American nations in the copetition, plus invitees Mexico and Jamaica to make it a 12 team tournament. Jamaica's inclusion was not contingent on winning the Caribbean Cup.

12 teams, eight cities, one trophy

Note that this Copa site posted this information on November 11th, a full week before the Caribbean Cup finals.

Another article from Goal.com

Copa America
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

they have been invited to the 2015 Copa America...they qualified for the special Centennial 2016 Copa America by winning the Caribbean Cup

Thank you TopMan, thank you Tilla.

That's was my understanding of Jamaicas' participation in Copa America 2015.

King Karl, please not the facts.

TIA.

That is what I thought! ...note "my understanding".
                      I yield to your info, Tilla.
                      Thank you for straightening me out!

Sorry, HL.
                      I wondered on "my understanding" and checked how that was possible.
                      I now have seen that it is "Copa America Cenetenario" that being invited depended on winning the CFU's Caribbean Cup.

Important to note that the tournament is slated for 2016 and thus comes after good practice sessions in the Gold Cup.

At the official announcement of the tournament, CONMEBOL and CONCACAF confirmed that all ten CONMEBOL members will be joined by six CONCACAF teams in the tournament. United States and Mexico will automatically qualify. The other four spots will be given to Costa Rica, the champions of the Central American Football Union by virtue of winning the 2014 Copa Centroamericana, the champions of the Caribbean Football Union, which will qualify through the 2014 Caribbean Cup, and the two play-off winners among the four highest finishers in the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup not already qualified.

In the case where the champion of the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup is not one of the already qualified teams, they will qualify directly to the 2016 Copa América Centenario.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Copa_Am...ica_Centenario
                      This shall be r!@#$$$ tournament. Hopefully we shall be at the best we have ever been. It can be done!

I see a leaving out of many of our current players (4 or 5). Will Jaheel Hyde then be 100 times improved, a well paid professional and in the squad?

Aside: 'Loads of time' for preparation to attend some of the matches.
                      Last edited by Karl; November 20, 2014, 10:33 AM.

Karl, I saw that HL setup from a mile out. You fell for it hook, line and sinker.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

your "understanding" is being called into question?!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jhA5sykz9c0

The subject line clearly defined the competition as Copa 2015.
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

As usual, you got your wires crossed Karl.