Republic of Ireland v USA

• Republic of Ireland v USA

Ireland better technically...and killing the USA on decision-making and pace!

A truly entertaining match. Ireland's third goal scored against the run of play. The scoreline is not a true reflection of the match. Shay Givens made some excellent saves to maintain Ireland's lead.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Ireland killing the USA on TEAM = better decisions therefore better ball handling and passes. Having said that the both 'keepers pulled off good save. more good saves by the Republic of Island 'keeper.

...but Republic of Ireland 3 - 1 USA!

Interesting that USA gets into great positions in final 3rd - On or about penalty-area and 'brains' shut down . What is it the say about difference in quality at top levels...the smarter player stands out. Republic of Ireland players smarter and faster.

USA being hammered!

Republic of Ireland 4 - 1 USA.

2nd half men (Republic of Ireland) v boys (USA). Klinsmann look said it all...a bemused look...which I interpreted as asking self - Where did I get these stooges?! USA players played pretty stupidly.

- Basic thinking?
          If an opponent is found to be just faster across ground why engage in repeated lost causes i.e. foot races?

- If you observe the opponent passing swiftly and you on possession is being shutdown swiftly...why not decrease time on the ball...release your passes faster?

- ...then there was the problem of Republic of Ireland with superior technical ability and tactical awareness.

brains shut down or dem not that creative to begin with? usa still relies on mistakes from the other side and other than maybe mexico ... they get plenty of that is this conference.

Well, USA has always been poor technically. That was a given for any match and so it was for this!

The USA is known for playing smart and giving FULL 100 effort for duration of matches to cover and compensate for the pronounced technical deficiency. In a nutshell the USA's hallmark it committed well organized TEAM play.

In this match it is no stretch to say, the USA players performed unlike previous TEAMs but as would a bunch of fools.

Let me repeat what I said earlier:
              2nd half men (Republic of Ireland) v boys (USA). Klinsmann look said it all...a bemused look...which I interpreted as asking self - Where did I get these stooges?! USA players played pretty stupidly.

- Basic thinking?
              If an opponent is found to be just faster across ground why engage in repeated lost causes i.e. foot races?

- If you observe the opponent passing swiftly and you on possession is being shutdown swiftly...why not decrease time on the ball...release your passes faster?

- ...then there was the problem of Republic of Ireland with superior technical ability and tactical awareness.
              Last edited by Karl; November 18, 2014, 06:19 PM.

Any other score would flatter the USA.
                The Republic of Ireland repeatedly cut through the USA's heart and final 3rd with regularity! ...and the USA aided by repeatedly coughing up the ball! ...and when deep in the Republic of Ireland's final 3rd doing absolutely nothing save giving back the ball except on 4 occasions! Once they scored, 2 excellent saves by Givans and Altidore's thunderous rattling of the bar.

...Contrast the Republic of Ireland hit di john 4 times...rattled the bar once (Shane Long) and desperate defending thwarting other efforts...but it the manner in which the USA often provided no resistance to the marauding Irishmen that brought disgust!