Caribbean Cup reports

i concur!

the truth is ... if it was on tv i and i could watch it during the week, i would conisder driving to mobay for the weekend to take it een, as it is...i am ticked off and will save my money to upgrade some christmas presents!

might guh cricket instead ... after all we jamaicans prefer....

We tried fielding a local squad in regional competitions and failed,more importantly that strategy was abondoned forever.Well we have failed too fielding these much more acclaimed players,why have we not reacted accordingly?
      You're not framing the issue correctly here.

The issue is NOT merely "fielding a local team"... it is proper LONG TERM PREPARATION of local players so an effective & cohesive team can be fielded utilizing mostly local talent. Time & availability of local players are advantages... what we lack is vision & confidence in the POTENTIAL of local players

That vision & confidence has been lacking since 1997-98 and foreign shortcuts have been prioritized.

That is the core problem holding back Jamaican ball

Thanks!

Thanks!
          Cool..

We can't leave easy openings for the usual dolts to trot in claiming "see we tried a local team and it doesn't work cause dem nuh good"

Cleaning it up now just might save me a lot of work later in bringing those misguided puppies to heel

A stitch in time... yuhzimi

....brilliant.............................

You're not framing the issue correctly here.

The issue is NOT merely "fielding a local team"... it is proper LONG TERM PREPARATION of local players so an effective & cohesive team can be fielded utilizing mostly local talent. Time & availability of local players are advantages... what we lack is vision & confidence in the POTENTIAL of local players

That vision & confidence has been lacking since 1997-98 and foreign shortcuts have been prioritized.

That is the core problem holding back Jamaican ball
              Bang on!
              ...but why 1997-98 and not since 1962 (Affiliated with FIFA)? ...or 1910 (Founded as JFA)?

Just asking?

Jamaica whip Antigua - match report
                http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...-in-contention

Bang on!
                  ...but why 1997-98 and not since 1962 (Affiliated with FIFA)? ...or 1910 (Founded as JFA)?

Just asking?
                  Becuz 1994-98 was a watershed period marking when JA got somewhat serious about developing senior players, the senior team and an effective playing style

We have regressed since then by largely ignoring those hard fought lessons of player development.

It's oh so much much simpler to import en masse an ersatz team of itinerant, mediocre players
                  Last edited by Don1; November 15, 2014, 09:52 AM.

So most of the players now are not Jamaican developed???

Where was Walter Boyd, Nandi Lowe, Andy Williams, Paul Young, Barker etc. were plying there game during that period???

Most of the current team that is playing in the Caribbean cup has represented Jamaican club in their careers.

I understand we need better development but to act like the team is currently been invaded is wrong.

Good effort at TEAM at times. Isn't it amazing what 'thinking' and thus combining with TEAMmates can do? .....so this performance was not of the best but it shows the physical and technical talent is there and that potential for 'good play' is in abundance.

...but as it has often been said, "potential only stands for naught"!

Hopefully the 'thinking' shown in the next match is even more pronounced and thus our REGGAEBOYZ put on display far superior play than shown in this match. Hey...the aim is to take on in the coming Gold Cup the World Cup participants USA, Mexico and Costa Rica not just as worthy opponents but to whip them. Our ReggaeBoyz have the talent to do same. The potential is there. Will 'playing ball with the head' occur and excellent TEAM playing potential be put on show?=Will our ReggaeBoyz play excellent TEAM...do the sensible things in matches...use head over and over, consistently over and over during games?

Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease ReggaeBoyz use 'head' and lift play multiple levels towards top world quality. TEAM! Glorious TEAM! You can do it!!!
                      Last edited by Karl; November 15, 2014, 10:11 AM.

Obviously the side needed more than the two weeks in training camp,a game that showed steady progression in our play .....
                        Well the next game should pick up where we left off,we have to impose our will a lot sooner.

As the assistant coach said on radio, the players simple made some bad decisions in the first game. They didn't gel and some times when they should pass, they went alone and when they should have gone alone they passed. Our striking boot is still not on. Deshorn have to get his head together.

Obviously the side needed more than the two weeks in training camp,a game that showed steady progression in our play .....
                            Well the next game should pick up where we left off,we have to impose our will a lot sooner.
                            Good 'on the money' point!
                            ...hope homework is given to the players to perform when this tournament is over....such that when they return there is even better unit from the get go such that during the next assignment - match or tournament - progression is seen and is ongoing!

As the assistant coach said on radio, the players simple made some bad decisions in the first game. They didn't gel and some times when they should pass, they went alone and when they should have gone alone they passed.
                              Very nice way of saying, "our players were stupid"/"performed in a silly manner". The understated, "not enough TEAM"!

I think Whitmore scored more goals along tge way than trigger man Deon Burton.