The ref take Daylight Saving Time

As to it being a yellow?
    One setback to blinkers,it allows you to see other blinkers.

According to the FIFA Rules of The Game, the referee can card a player for what he consider's "unsporting behavior". Smalling did attempt to block the ball as Hart attempted to get it back into play. Although if memory serves me right, I recall Eto'o scoring a goal for Chelsea last season from a similar situationin which the referee allowed the goal and did not penalize Eto'o. You win some and you lose some Rockman. City should have had at least one penalty awarded to them which was not.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Karl,me see a retreating Noseworthy (yards away)turned around and in unimaginable spped reached a ball the keeper had placed for goal kick,he scored and it was given.Play was determined to have resumed there,in this case play never stopped.Yellow card though?

Video please? Let's compare incidents.

Feel free to find the supporting evidence Mo. I do not have the time...
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

If I remember correctly, the goalie was bouncing the ball when Eto'o stole the ball on the half volley. That is not quite the same thing as what happened today.

But, like I said, whenever the infraction resembles what happened with Smalling today, invariably the player gets a yellow.

Feel free to find the supporting evidence Mo. I do not have the time...
                My pleasure:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXfnJmjpveM

Personally, I don't believe a foul took place on this occasion. Goalies must always look around them before they go bouncing balls around. However, when you are trying to kick the ball and a player follows you around to prevent you from doing so...YELLOW!

Hold dat!

Was the ball released into play? Or was the ball released from the goalie's hand as he attempted to punt?
                    As per the thread -
                    Not sure what you are getting at:
                    i) Taken as said in context of impeding or effecting an obstruction:
                    It is the act of impeding/obstructing that is penalized...so the ref does not have to await the release of the ball rather he must make his decision based on his observation of an obstruction.

ii) Taken as a request to recall whether or not the goalkeeper actually had released the ball at any time as the incident was called:
                    Cannot remember. If I am to make a guess, I would say that he did not.

iii) Taken in the context of whether or not a ball is in play when released:
                    When the ball is released it is in play!

Aside: When the goalkeeper has the ball as per Joe Hart - The ball is in play.
                    ...but again, as per thread...the discussion was specific to the act of Joe Hart trying to release the ball=get rid of the ball without hindrance of an opponent. That is his right!

If not being hindered he then releases the ball in a manner that makes it playable by an opponent then the opponent has every right to play it. Matters not how he foolishly releases - Low throw in the air...or high throw in the air...puts it on the ground at his feet...or whatever. Getting clear of an opponent who is standing in front of the goalkeeper is an easy matter... Get physically clear and sensibly release the ball!

Referees are not on the field to prevent silly plays. They are there to manage fairness of play. That is commonly referred to as "Managing the Game".

Addition fact:
                    An attacker merely be standing in front of or in close proximity to the opposing goalkeeper is not obstructing. The player has a right to stand on any spot on the field. It is the goalkeeper's job to move clear and sensibly play the ball. The goalkeeper is allowed a finite time to keep the ball in his grasp. Making no attempt to conform to that time limit is an offense punishable by the award of an Indirect Free Kick to the opposing team.

As practical matter, goalkeepers should make an attempt to sensibly get rid of the ball.
                    Last edited by Karl; November 2, 2014, 12:27 PM.

Ok, suh now yuh confusing the issue.

I agreed with your first post on the matter tho!

No foul there, goalie got careless!

The second yellow was deserved but the red isn't. Giving Smalling his first yellow for impeding or obstructing is heavy handed,really did not see anything wrong...
                          We ended up losing Januzaj who was a handful for City flank players,in fact the ref should have issued a yellow...
                          Water under the bridge,Carrick is being used as a defensive mid,I expect role reversal between Fellaini and Carrick,that would push Rooney further upfield,with a darting Di Maria.We can still pull it off.
                          You clearly don't understand the laws...see below:

"If a player intentionally stretches his arms to obstruct an opponent and steps from one side to the other, moving his arms up and down to delay his opponent, forcing him to change course, but does not make "bodily contact" the referee shall caution the player for ungentlemanly conduct and award an indirect free kick."

totally diffeent situation...Joe Hart did not bounce the ball...he was attempting to release the ball downfield quickly to catch Boy U on a quick counter...Smalling impeded an was given a yellow which is given 100% of the time in the same situation...Crazie & Rockhead just a look excuse

Maybe if my moniker was Top Brick you would have reversed....
                              Just find it rather childish....
                              The distance between the wall and a spot kick is measured,does FIFA provide any specifics as to how far a defender should be from a keeper?Why is it perfectly legitimate for an opponent to stand in front of the keeper in corner kicks?Are there off limits grounds..?
                              Exactly what was impeded, is it the kicking of the ball or safe flight of the ball?The latter is what Smalling impeded,again it was not a deadball situation,play never stopped.

That means nothing regarding what happened today,the conjunction "and" is binding as opposed to the word "or",is Smalling guilty of both...?