Is football about passing and moving/moving and passing?

• Is football about passing and moving/moving and passing?

I see Liverpool doing that all day but they only produce goals when Coutinho, Lallana or Sterling create something from their skill and trickery.

Where would Chelsea be without Hazard or Fabregas? Where would City be without Aguero and Nasri? Makes you wonder how much TEAM we need in football as well!

Pass and move without skill is useless! But it makes a good memory gem!

Football is about commitment, passion and desire first and foremost without it you cannot win. Don't let no body fool you bout passing and tricky stuff, did you see the stat sheet on Newcastle versus Mancity, thirty percent versus seventy percent possession and Newcastle win by two.

C'MON MAAAN!!!
      Why are you doing this Mosiah??? .....You know Karl's going write a confusing dissertation about TEAM.

Is football about passing and moving/moving and passing?
        They are vital to putting on the field a good TEAM....but football is much more than merely being expert at passing and moving/moving and passing!

The over-riding part of putting together TEAM is level of intelligence of the players! Many are the players with top of the world skills...but what separates those in that group as run of the mill from the very top is, the superior level of intelligence of the top players.

Those at the very top could be deemed as best "'football-chess' players".
        They have enhanced powers:
        - of observation,
        - to process that observed,
        - that allow fastest of arrival at solutions and implementation of the solutions.
        Last edited by Karl; October 31, 2014, 01:32 AM.

Yuh nuh?!!! 😳😳😳😳😳😳

Nice and concise Karl .... Readable too 😃

So, I read Karl's response and I don't know what happened next. All I know is, I found myself lying prostrate on my bed, a waft of smelling salts lingered in the air.

What did Herr Schafer say, "hard work beats talent, if talent is complacent"

baby steps .... first it was nice and concise...next we will work on content.

Football is not necessarily a passing game, if it was Blackpool and Wigan would still be in the English top flight. In any good team you have to have a few well thinking players who can do the exceptional and one or two really confident players who believe they can make a difference(if that make it selfish then so be it) Every great team has one or two.

We may not like it but when Stoke City hit the all over the top and Crouch make a Volley, it count just the same as if you make Barca like passes.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                      Football is about commitment, passion and desire first and foremost without it you cannot win. Don't let no body fool you bout passing and tricky stuff, did you see the stat sheet on Newcastle versus Mancity, thirty percent versus seventy percent possession and Newcastle win by two.
                      Stoni, Stoni why oh why? If Newcastle plays Man City 10 times that result may happen once. It's the exception that proves the rule.

Please wake me up when England's famous 'commitment' results in a World cup victory or at least making the World cup finals. Geez.

all the passing and moving must have an outcome, i.e. goals otherwise....

and that is where you require the selfishness of a forward who would say "enough of this passing, mi a guh tek a shot" as audacious or unlikely as it may seem. many of us see this goals among the compilations of "best goals ever" from maradona's solo run to james rodiriguez' wonder strike ...

when a passing goal scores as in wilshere's last season it looks great ... but .... we still need the alexis sanchez' and luis suarez' of the world to make that creative difference.

Yep!!! Exactly. It is also important to have that player who can keep two defender busy, so you make space for someone else.

I can't believe Stoni just said that. Between him and Karl in dis thread, I gwine to get a cardiac event!

Hey, just do as I do...mi just nuh read dem!

But look, Karl surprised us all with his response. To be honest, I did not read that one either, still marvelling at its brevity! Every 20 minutes or so I open the post, look at the number of words and look at the author at the top, and I get weezy, like I am on crystal meth or something! I mean, Karl could have used less than 150 words in his post!!!!

Excuse me, I need to go sit on my chaise for a.....few minu.........
                              Last edited by Mosiah; October 31, 2014, 10:11 PM.