Paul, Peter R and friends for ur reading pleasure
As I said, then and say now, I have no proof he is a racist. Tell me about misunderstand but to call Evra a lyad etc....- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostAs I said, then and say now, I have no proof he is a racist. Tell me about misunderstand but to call Evra a lyad etc...."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
I don't assume people are racist, just because they may use a "racist" word or slang, it goes much deeper for me. The most important thing however is to get those words and behavior out of the game. It is not for the FA to decide who is racist or not if they have been deemed to commit the act, the FA has to try and find out if they did it or not, and punish them.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
"I’m not trying to pretend it was meant in a friendly way to Evra because clearly we were arguing. But nor was it ever meant as a racist slur."
hmmmm is he guilty of of using racist language?
Originally posted by Assasin View PostI don't assume people are racist, just because they may use a "racist" word or slang, it goes much deeper for me. The most important thing however is to get those words and behavior out of the game. It is not for the FA to decide who is racist or not if they have been deemed to commit the act, the FA has to try and find out if they did it or not, and punish them."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
no matter how you put it, even Negro as Suarez use it have a negativity related to it and it was directed at Evra.
Totally different argument.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postno matter how you put it, even Negro as Suarez use it have a negativity related to it and it was directed at Evra.
Totally different argument.Peter R
not true peter r .... context is also important in south america ..... negro is also used disparagingly in fact among some persons they prefer to use moreno ... rather than negro to make that distinction.
i had a girlfriend whose mother used to call her "mi cucumbre negrita" in the contect it was a term of endearment ...
"why, black man" was not a used in an endearing way given the context and he admits as much (he had to really). why did he have to say "negro"? who else was in the conversation why he had to make a distinction?
"Why, dawg" may be the context... once you translate the word "negro" to "black man", the meaning will never be properly understood.
The fact he never said "moreno" says something ( I am accepting your statement re colour) doesn't it?
Anyway, I think we should agree to disagree on this Suarez incident... these days my energy level for debating isn't where it should be. I will leave you to have the last word.Peter R
how else can we translate it, when he was relating to a very dark fellow??? You think he would say the same thing to someone who is white??- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.