Young Boyz hunt Caribbean title today against hosts Haiti

• Young Boyz hunt Caribbean title today against hosts Haiti

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti -- Jamaica's resilience and character will be severely tested today when they tackle host Haiti in the final of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Under-17 Championship at 5:30 Jamaican time.

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Y...Haiti_17808274

The young Boyz went down 2-0 to the hosts. Two penalties.

Spoke to Colour, the coach, who said Haiti is currently the better team but feels Jamaica can surpass them.

Asked why Haiti was so good, he said - "they been together for two years compared to six months on and off, They have brought in a cadre of french coaches and investing in youth development, I was told a few of their U-17s are playing in France.

I asked him about the football infrastructure. He said Haiti had several astro turf fields and massive crowd support. He added they had a very good program where they prioritized. He also said that St. Lucia had a very good team along with Cuba. Both teams have qualified for the final qualifying round.

Colour actually said a bit more which cannot be repeated here. But generally he felt everybody around us was progressing while Jamaica was regressing.

Forumites may know that Haiti's club teams in regional tournaments usually feature foreign coaches and players. How does this broke @ss country do it?!?

mi tell unnu all the time a nuh so much the money or the field. First come proper organization, and I am not talking about Burrell and the JFF only.

I spoke to Colour a while back and he thought something similar to the US ODP program would get better result. He got no support on that at the time. Colour was in Germany and how much work was done with the team for the 6 months he was away?

Haiti has been playing quality passing game from wappy waus a bwoy! Like the Japanese if their players could just pass well on goal...to the TOP OF THE WORLD they would go.

Intelligent play with fast players and non-stop running has been their forte. I saw them play when the best player was Guy St. Vil (1960s/70s...I think?) ...dem man de haul-ways cudda play!!! Goalscoring has been the big bug bear.

The club football which I saw 'close-up' at the tail-end of their 1985 season was of high quality. Their TEAMs exhibited far better organisation and TEAM play than our National League teams have been at any time...but as it is now, so it was then - big problem at scoring!!!!

Haven't a clue how they have managed to always have this top quality club play i.e. passing and movement/movement and passing...but I would take a guess that if their youngsters grow up seeing that attention to fitness, use of quickness (thought=mind & feet), pace and movement then replicating that style may be on the cards...Right???
        Last edited by Karl; October 28, 2014, 04:01 PM.

Probably their 100+ year old High School football program...

Why are we regressing?