An Academy? - Bricktop this is for you...

• An Academy? - Bricktop this is for you...

...and others who are like minded:

My point on the education institutions being where most of our academies - not the stand alone=football specific edifices - should be created and therefore sited is in contrast to merely building physical structures i.e. fields with buildings with the cold empty inputs without highly qualified administrators and teachers of football. That building of an edifice without quality teacher-coaches=professional instructors, is a waste.

The JFF's academy is one such waste.

It is simple the JFF has no professional administrators or highly qualified teachers of football. The JFF bosses are once again illustrating their ignorance. They, by action, have shown that they are convinced that a building with state of the art necessary equipment and field an academy makes. Perfect example of ignoramuses minding the store!

We need the teachers=coaches to mold footballers!!! PERIOD!!!

The matter of physical structures suggests to me that it would be cost effective to use structures already standing=in existence.

We need top quality teachers! Train and educate same is top priority.
    The efforts the JFF are currently making at doing same is inefficient and is turning out many persons lacking in/without knowledge of the game. The results of the work of these graduates show FAILURE to impart needed knowledge. It would not be a stretch to say the results point to imparting of faulty concepts and wrong precepts to their students. A case of "the blind, leading the blind"...save the JFF is 'manufacturing a host/an army of "the blind".
    Last edited by Karl; October 20, 2014, 08:57 AM.

when i refer to an academy system i am not referring to infrastructure...we have construction companies that can build building...i am referring to implementation of a set of methods, procedures and routines to solve our football problem...a purposeful structure with interrelated and interdependent elements...keep yapping on about school buildings and football fields though

Karl.. there is a famous quote about forests and trees...

You exemplify it...

when i refer to an academy system i am not referring to infrastructure...we have construction companies that can build building...i am referring to implementation of a set of methods, procedures and routines to solve our football problem...a purposeful structure with interrelated and interdependent elements...keep yapping on about school buildings and football fields though
        Am I yapping on about school buildings and football fields save in the context of available infrastructure?

No! ...a mighty NO!
        I am on about - current lack of teaching=coaching and need to improve same while making that improved teaching available and accessible to our most talented of youngsters!!!

You can continue with the 'drawing of red herrings' aimed at confusing our gullible!!!

Karl mek sense ....Clarify dis Brick ...(when i refer to an academy system i am not referring to infrastructure)

How can you have a system and no infrastructure be it efficent or delapidated ?

I cant see how building a physical structure and putting a sign on it (ACADEMY) makes it one ?

It must have competent administrators,teachers etc to make it work ? Wouldnt it be cost effective to develop teachers and use the infrastructures we already have or develop one ?

Thats why the JFF will never build an academy , its a pipe dream that corporate and government will shy away from, its a trojan horse of failure.It cannot be economically sustained by the JFF.

Developing a system of teachers using what is in place would sell off in Jamaica or gain alot of support.When is the JFF going to have a conference with the football diaspora.I heard an idiot on the radio, voicing about how we must build a Barca/USA type academy in Jamaica??????....Is like crack free down deh!

Yapping ?...deal with Karl points!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Excellent points sah. It is not about brick and mortar it is about knowledge, communication of knowledge and engagement of knowledge. We already have Nuff brick and mortar all over the place, we need a couple 3/4 Frannos and Mills or at least six of them with good assistants, committed to the ball, committed to creating superior ballers in every position, money needed but not as much as many seem to think as a matter of fact money can't create nothing, in our case too much money would just make a bad situation worse, can you imagine money being splashed all over on brick and mortar and fancy equipment and football fields only to see vines and moss growing over them in ten to fifteen years, rusted out old equipment etc.

Where is the one key jff guy dedicated to development of the youth program, where is the 5-10-15 year plan and where do we stand currently on this plan. Jamaican football starting to come in just like politics just a waste of time and energy!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              Excellent points sah. It is not about brick and mortar it is about knowledge, communication of knowledge and engagement of knowledge. We already have Nuff brick and mortar all over the place, we need a couple 3/4 Frannos and Mills or at least six of them with good assistants, committed to the ball, committed to creating superior ballers in every position, money needed but not as much as many seem to think as a matter of fact money can't create nothing, in our case too much money would just make a bad situation worse, can you imagine money being splashed all over on brick and mortar and fancy equipment and football fields only to see vines and moss growing over them in ten to fifteen years, rusted out old equipment etc.

Where is the one key jff guy dedicated to development of the youth program, where is the 5-10-15 year plan and where do we stand currently on this plan. Jamaican football starting to come in just like politics just a waste of time and energy!
              Indeed Stoni.... Football development is 100X more about APPLIED KNOWLEDGE than fancy infrastructure. The people who ah bawl fi pretty "academy" & "academy leagues" ongly know how to ape unaffordable & impractical foreign models whe dem read bout inna book ar watch pon TV.
              Mi all si man ah seh wi muss ave 14 "academies" That might be possible by 2054 tho... so maybe those folks are forward thinking

Since JA has a humongous football KNOWLEDGE DEFICIT... that's Job #1 to fix.
              Don1 dun show unnu how an appropriate "virtual academy" can be created using inputs we already have on the ground.. along with expert foreign KNOWLEDGE acquired (affordably) by leveraging strengths Jamaica has to offer e.g. to Brazilians in exchange for their football expertise
              Last edited by Don1; October 20, 2014, 09:44 AM.

Pon pint, Stoni!
                How the JFF, Bricktops and Maudibs cannot get it is a mystery.

What size talent pool should the Academy system be working with in the first 5 years of operation ?

yuh have sense ?.. point out where there is disagreement on this BASIC concept ?

Top ten percent would be great of all age group squads but I could definitely see a lot of remnants from the 90percent falling out of the game and we don't want that, we need to keep most in the game through high school. Top ten percent would be top two off each squad which is kinda narrow, but would be a great starting point.

I would imagine if you could get to really see top thirty percent or top six players of each squad from 8-18 that would be really touching a lot of the talent and not leaving too much on the table.

I think back to my first year at Calabar with thirty plus boys in my form I can still easily pick out the best player who ended up being the best player out of that class eventually, but there were at least six others really pretty skilled players at the ten to twelve age group range two of which went on to win gold at champs even though one did it while competing for Cornwall and even went to both winter and summer Olympics.

Top thirty percent would provably look like three hundred per age year so across ten years that is three thousand, too much to start with but maybe you start at 10 percent with 1000 and ramp to three thousand in five years.

Right you are sir Don. Job number 1 get the party started build the thing from the root up anything else draw blood. By 2022 there should be no need for any Ub40's or any other ub whatever. Of course we probably won't see any homegrown program till we get a man on Mars in 2038.

Unfortunate but... absolutely correct

Still object to that 'auto-elimination' of 'UB40s'. It suggests that if there is a Jamaican in Timbuktu that is the absolute best in the world and best for TEAM Reggae Boyz based only on 'a type of insularity' you would...Jamaica should ignore him. ...to that I am vehemently opposed.

Where do you see "auto elimination"???

Still object to that 'auto-elimination' of 'UB40s'. It suggests that if there is a Jamaican in Timbuktu that is the absolute best in the world and best for TEAM Reggae Boyz based only on 'a type of insularity' you would...Jamaica should ignore him. ...to that I am vehemently opposed.

By 2022 there should be no need for any Ub40's or any other ub whatever