Karl!!! Here's info on the U.S. academy

• Karl!!! Here's info on the U.S. academy

system & other developments aimed at developing top class soccer players.

After evaluating the U.S. youth development program the U.S. Soccer Federation formed the U.S. Soccer Development Academy in 2007, which is the top tier youth soccer league for youth academies/youth clubs from different organizations, including MLS, USL and NASL. Some teams have professional affiliation with European clubs like Manchester United, PSG, Chelsea, Arsenal & Internazionale. The Academy has 3 age divisions – U13/U14, U15/U16 & U17/U18. The goal is to have the top youth talent coached & challenged in a professionally managed system where they can play with & compete against the best identified youth players. In 2012 the Academy switched to a 10 month schedule and prohibited their players from participating in high school competitions as well as games & competitions outside the Academy. The Academy also connects National Team coaches directly with the Academy clubs to develop and identify players and coaches for future Youth National Teams. Each Academy team is evaluated by a member of the Men’s Scouting Network at least 10 times each year and each Academy club receives two formal evaluations in over 100 categories each year from U.S. Soccer Technical Staff.

Another very big problem they were faced with was that there was no real & effective transition from U18 to a MLS first team. Talent was slipping through the cracks. The academy system was producing players with professional prospects but the club’s developmental ladder was missing a crucial rung just as those players were poised to realize their potential. What they realized was that the next immediate leap in player development & growth needed to come from the lower divisions, and it would require a partnership with USL Pro. This partnership with USL Pro would form a developmental ladder from U12 to a MLS first team.

In 2013 MLS & USL Pro reached an agreement to integrate USL Pro league competition with the MLS Reserve League, primarily to improve player development in North America, strengthen league competition and build ties between divisions in the American soccer pyramid. This multi-year deal encourages MLS and USL Pro team affiliations and player loans, and it will lead to more games for teams and developing players. In 2014 LA Galaxy formed their own USL Pro team (LA Galaxy II), forgoing an affiliation with an existing USL Pro team, and in 2015 Montreal Impact & Real Salt Lake will join them.
    Last edited by USAF; October 11, 2014, 05:24 PM.

Thanks, USAF! Here is a lead in to the questions I seek to

...provide answers for a Jamaica reality:

The context is demands of "World Market Place" as it relates to quality players and teams:
    - The size of our talent pool!
    Aside: USA's coverage in terms of numbers of academies, clubs and total numbers of kids? Jamaica's?

If the aim is a maximization on quality output would size of talent pool impact results? If so, would Jamaica needs to maximize on coverage to all-island to be reasonably able to compete with nations with entrench history of football and also greater talent pool size/population size?

My assumption is we need 'all our talented' included in our coverage of taught using 'best practice'.

Second: On needs of our economy for hard currency the demand for maximum export of players is a sensible goal.

- Where is/are our source of funds to establish stand-alone First World Academies?
    Not yet identified!

After evaluating the U.S. youth development program the U.S. Soccer Federation formed the U.S. Soccer Development Academy in 2007, which is the top tier youth soccer league for youth academies/youth clubs from different organizations, including MLS, USL and NASL. Some teams have professional affiliation with European clubs like Manchester United, PSG, Chelsea, Arsenal & Internazionale. The Academy has 3 age divisions – U13/U14, U15/U16 & U17/U18. The goal is to have the top youth talent coached & challenged in a professionally managed system where they can play with & compete against the best identified youth players. In 2012 the Academy switched to a 10 month schedule and prohibited their players from participating in high school competitions as well as games & competitions outside the Academy. The Academy also connects National Team coaches directly with the Academy clubs to develop and identify players and coaches for future Youth National Teams. Each Academy team is evaluated by a member of the Men’s Scouting Network at least 10 times each year and each Academy club receives two formal evaluations in over 100 categories each year from U.S. Soccer Technical Staff.

Another very big problem they were faced with was that there was no real & effective transition from U18 to a MLS first team. Talent was slipping through the cracks. The academy system was producing players with professional prospects but the club’s developmental ladder was missing a crucial rung just as those players were poised to realize their potential. What they realized was that the next immediate leap in player development & growth needed to come from the lower divisions, and it would require a partnership with USL Pro. This partnership with USL Pro would form a developmental ladder from U12 to a MLS first team.
    Source: http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...757#post496757
    The missing earlier years plus upwards to U-18 covered via our school system on upgrade of teachers of football. Even so there is no ruling out of stand alone academies. The fact is our stand alone academies do not exist. And as far as I know, baring the often talked about JFF Academy which is at this stage a non-starter (so-suh talk) no set of individuals or entity has come forward with even a proposal to erect/create same.

If we institute the appropriate Jamaica institution in the quote above posted earlier by USAF then, twinning with top professional clubs, transfer of knowledge from outside of the island inwards via top world institutions and professions has been addressed in what I proposed....inclusive of players at the U-20 age-group touring and playing against top comparable national age-group teams (e.g. Europe's U-21s).

The schools and colleges is not our alpha and omega it is being proposed as vital component...i.e. an area that should not and cannot b e overlooked. The development process must be an integrated and seamless one...as I said years past an all-island "cradle to 'the grave'" entity.

it nuh need a whole heep a money to start, it needs willing hands. The fact is we already have the parish and club structure in place. What we need are administrators, some sensible government inclusion and get the attention of a few real sponsors.

We could have 14 Academy that have the best players in each parish meet at least 8 times for the month and provide progress on players and track them by some of the coaches involved in JFF. SDC could provide part time budget or these coaches or the money we get from tax on gambling.

Like Chic v, it have to bite us in our ..... before we move. Too much talking now.

Eight times a month, think about the logistics of getting forty kids together across two hours of travel together eight times per month. Twice per month would be a tough challenge as it is. I am thinking two three day extended weekend sessions per month.

We must build a system that works consistently, we cannot overreach and fail in a few months. Seven weekend academies spread across the country, two in each county, maybe three in Surrey to account for corporate area population. One four to six week summer camp and a two week christmas camp.

That is a system that has reach, can be managed and has a low cost structure as the focus is on using existing facilities and infrastructure.

Travelling within most parishes are not hard and I doubt you would have to pay for most transportation to get to these sites. Like reaching Port Maria from anywhere in St.Mary or Port Antonio is not hard within parishes but if you have to go further then the cost get more. It is easier for people in Portland to travel to Port Antonio than people going rom parish to parishes.
          The most important thing is to run at least 8 sessions, You could complete 4 sessions in a weekend.
          It is easier to transport the "teachers".

Anyway even to start a few.

Sessions! Ok get you, yes eight sessions over two weekends definitely possible.
            You double cost and complexity by trying to run one academy per parish, best starting point is one per two parish, so annotto bay can cover st mary and Portland pretty well, everybody within 1.5 hours one way one weekend every month at least, got to spread the wealth around see as many mid level to top players as possible. Never know which dm level player going to blossom out into the real thing, got to keep as many balls in the air as possible, as long as possible.

We could have 14 Academy that have the best players in each parish meet at least 8 times for the month and provide progress on players and track them by some of the coaches involved in JFF..

Cho man, nuh tek wah Sass suh-jes literally! Di concept, papa! ...modify or even haul han pull hit but see where di thought process leads? Right?
              Last edited by Karl; October 13, 2014, 06:59 PM.

it nuh need a whole heep a money to start, it needs willing hands. The fact is we already have the parish and club structure in place. What we need are administrators, some sensible government inclusion and get the attention of a few real sponsors.

We could have 14 Academy that have the best players in each parish meet at least 8 times for the month and provide progress on players and track them by some of the coaches involved in JFF. SDC could provide part time budget or these coaches or the money we get from tax on gambling.

Like Chic v, it have to bite us in our ..... before we move. Too much talking now.
                Tuh di pint, boss!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                  Eight times a month, think about the logistics of getting forty kids together across two hours of travel together eight times per month. Twice per month would be a tough challenge as it is. I am thinking two three day extended weekend sessions per month.

We must build a system that works consistently, we cannot overreach and fail in a few months. Seven weekend academies spread across the country, two in each county, maybe three in Surrey to account for corporate area population. One four to six week summer camp and a two week christmas camp.

That is a system that has reach, can be managed and has a low cost structure as the focus is on using existing facilities and infrastructure.
                  Why couldn't the travel be less than an hour...round trip?
                  Could we be thinking of how to make it work rather than how to not do?

If the teaching is top quality for our already smart and athletic kids...then...?
                  Do not lose sight of our main deficiency - Lack of top professional quality teachers=coaches. Put the necessary quality teachers in the classroom and the students shall learn!

The maxim is 'dead right': If the child does not learn, the teacher has not taught!!!

Actual saying: If the Student Hasn't Learned, the Teacher Hasn't Taught!

Excerpt from bbc football site - 10 October 2014
                  Last updated at 19:09 GMT

Greg Dyke: FA chairman says grassroots football 'in crisis'

Football Association chairman Greg Dyke says English grassroots football is in "crisis" and wants £250m to dramatically improve coaching standards and facilities, as well as the fortunes of the national side.

Speaking to the BBC's sports editor Dan Roan after a year-long review into the failings of the England team, Dyke says the money - raised by the FA, government and Premier League - will help provide all-weather pitches and better quality coaching across 30 cities in the UK.

The head of English football also describes the make-up of managers in the professional game as "hideously white", in response to claims there are not enough bosses from black and other ethnic minority groups in the English game.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/29575890
                  Last edited by Karl; October 13, 2014, 06:55 PM.