Greatest contradiction in yard ball!

Listen nothing stand still too long unuh mi bredrin, we try the short cut method and it reap a little bit, but it is now clear that the real harvest have to come from within, so we need to start building it now and I am not talking no money thing, just plain get better at every thing we are doing now, where we stand now, set some goal and try beat the goal and rinse and repeat. A lot of low hanging fruit all over.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
      Listen nothing stand still too long unuh mi bredrin, we try the short cut method and it reap a little bit, but it is now clear that the real harvest have to come from within, so we need to start building it now and I am not talking no money thing, just plain get better at every thing we are doing now, where we stand now, set some goal and try beat the goal and rinse and repeat. A lot of low hanging fruit all over.
      From Genesis to Revelation

yes they do! dont take my word for it though.

ALL of france's former colonies have easier access to france than any jamaican has to england, much less fi get a work permit fi play ball.

sterling and aarons are examples of what CAN happen.

i do agree with your point about talent development but that again is SIGNIFICANTLY hampered by playing surfaces at our high school and premier league level. at that level all the countries you mentioned have better facilities than we do ... again...check it out.

you dont build a house from the top down .... maybe that can work with football but i doubt it very much. to develope your craft you need the tools, infrastructure is one of those tools.

Yuh seit! TEAM!

One has to be selfish as in allowing oneself to enjoy TEAM achievements!

How the hell can you reap/earn selfish rewards in a TEAM game if the TEAM is not consistently doing well...consistently winning and advancing in tournaments? What reward can you earn...selfishly earn...if your TEAM is always out of the limelight?

If the TEAM is not in the limelight...how can you be there?

we can develop 8-12 year olds on netball courts...what we need is competent teachers...

even a netball court is better than some of the tracts of land masquerading as a football feiled with tufts at crab grass at irregular intervals and dirt and pebbles all around with the odd shard of glass...not to mention the undulating landscape

It can be done but Stoni, as the game gets faster on the poor surfaces, players cannot keep their head up before the ball arrives or even with the ball because if they take their eyes off the ball anything can happen.
                You are joking...right?

On point, Stoni!
                  It is after all is said, A TEAM GAME!!!

"finding"? yuh tink is suh dis ting go...you have to develop players...they aren't hiding somewhere...they are running up and down wasting their time for Georges & Wolmers..waiting on somebody to develop them properly
                    If as you say, the talent is there: What is the difference teaching the concept behind *the 2x table at a StGC or Wolmers and at your "place of development"?

Is it that at StGC or Wolmers the kids brains are frozen and at your "place of development" suddenly the same kids brains become receptive to information?

*the 2x table is an analogy for "the football".

You keep perpetuating nonsense! I wonder what is your purpose?

It is absolutely simple our teachers of the game are ignorant of the subject!

Aside
                    Just look at the derision on the board when the matter of distance from 'keeper where best chance on scoring was being discussed (Ozil's goal --- that 5' - 6').

Not verbatim but... - Comments such as, If I never saw it (the game or the scoring of the goal - I would have believed the nonsense Karl spoke on distance of 'Ozil to 'keeper being 5' - 6' feet when he made that pass Whoooeeee!???? ...or what stupidiness dat man which 5' - 6' feet? Whooeeee!????

All of us here have had discussion on the game in many local (Jamaica local situations and elsewhere where football is the topic) and too many have never even been exposed to the matter of 'relationship - 'keeper to striker' - on pass on goal.

I am dead sure many have had conversations on why it is our national teams have a 'goal-scoring' problem. Could it be that the teachers/coaches have not a clue on concepts behind the scoring of goals?

Jus kick hit, man! Could that be the sum total of goal-scoring concept taught? ...but what of our coaches work at self-improvement? ...not many saw or discussed that matter of relative distance most often occurring between goal-scorer and 'keeper'...and passing on the knowledge to the students???? ...and members of the school - of this board - learning same through second-hand discussions=passed on by the students who took subject "football"?

It is fact that good fields builds confidence...but if the player can adjust in the 'twinkling of an eye' to balls with unpredictable bounce then the ball on great fields always presents predictable bounce it is, BUTTAH!

...as to not being able to 'look up'? Utter rubbish! "The looking up" must be done before the ball arrives...the eyes must be glued to the ball on the foot making contact. I do not care who or where contrary information was derived. It is utter rubbish not to know where your TEAM-mates and opposing players are before you receive the ball.

...and if the man on the ball is in a situation where there is "no pressure", the ball could be when allowed by him to bounce around like a ping-pong still would allow for time to "look first" and then return eyes to the ball for a pass!

If the playing surface was a great problem: Why then the many poor passes when the ball is not allowed to hit the ground before passed on? It is not bouncing around in the air...is it? Why poor head passes? Why poor volleys?

Where on viewing our TEAMs at play do we see:
                    - Sensible Approach Work as TEAM;

- Sensible Approach work as individual;

- Use of pace of ball to enhance passing on goal;

- Consistent unselfishness as TEAM goal is targeted or put another way individual selfishness channeled...ensuring TEAM wins/advances and thus getting for self more and greater exposure in the "football market place"?

- Consistent good movement and consistent good passing?

- The tactical nuance of SUDDEN in passing sequence and movement...and pass on goal?

Look it is nonsense to blame and make excuses for our poor teachers. There is the saying, a poor workman blames his tools. ...the fields are poor? Let us face the reality of having ignorant and thus lousy teachers and not withdraw into blaming their tools/proffering an excuse on their behalf.

---

I will never forget seeing on this board...in our early years...one of our 'well educated' footballers suggesting that merely walking on the field together meant there was a TEAM. We have come a far way, baby!!! ...but we still have far to go!!!

...sometimes we are misled by the rambles of the Cable/TV commentators and our local experts (local experts? iffen a laf a dead!).
                    Last edited by Karl; October 8, 2014, 01:34 PM.

is lie? yuh watch manning cup matches?

i have explained it to you a million times before...schoolboy football is for recreation...the best need to be isolated and play only against the best...you cannot achieve that in a schoolboy football system...

You know what, time to stop these ridiculous excuses and get a few stone rakes and start the process of pulling off every tiny stone off the field, three or four rakes over the field will be an excellent improvement.

Too much blouse and skirt excuses time to start bend down pick up take out a shovel and pick axe and start take out bump etc etc.

is lie? yuh watch manning cup matches?
                            The huge problem schoolboy and schoolgirl football has is, poor quality of teaching! What you see on the field is a result of the teaching!!! End of Story!!!

excuse or fact? either way yes...do what can be done to improve the fields for what that is worth..

poor teaching plays a part no doubt but it is compounded by **** poor infrastructure.