Who are the youth that Bora is bringing for 2010?

• Who are the youth that Bora is bringing for 2010?

No I am not on an "I told you so" mission just yet but mi did know - him nuh deal wid youth him deal wid his results. At least you saw a couple of worthy teenagers getting early exposure when Jamaican and Brazilian coaches were at the helm... Bora seems to be foregoing 'youth' & digging up one bag a "young man" weh buss dem twenties already for his youth policy - odd approach for a man with the luxury of time on his hands.

This man is a solid coach who will do the business that he is paid to do but we all should know by now he is yet to leave a country better off than he found it - there aint no youth policy in Bora's world... No Skill Coles, No Walter Boyds, no Bibis, no Andys...
    Last edited by Siya; June 1, 2007, 09:48 PM. Reason: typo
    SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

Originally posted by Siya View Post
    No I am not on an "I told you so" mission just yet but mi did know - him nuh deal wid youth him deal wid his results. At least you saw a couple of worthy teenagers getting early exposure when Jamaicans and Brazilians coaches were at the helm... Bora seems to be foregoing 'youth' & digging up one bag a "young man" weh buss dem twenties already for his youth policy - odd approach for a man with the luxury of time on his hands.

This man is a solid coach who will do the business that he is paid to do but we all should know by now he is yet to leave a country better off than he found it - there aint no youth policy in Bora's world... No Skill Coles, No Walter Boyds, no Bibis, no Andys...
    Take it easy. Bora signed a 4 year contract to coach the senior mens team, which means his mandate is to qualify for Africa 2010. We have roughly ONE year to go before WCQs start!

What Jamaica need is a youth technical director to oversee the overall development of youth football...the days of us having one man coaching under12s, under-15s, women, under-23 and senior team are gone.
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Not talking about youth teams

I am still talking about the senior squad and bringing in Genuine youth players (U20) to learn from a reputed master.
      In the short space(s) of time Laza/roni/rus was in Jamaica mi see him give 16 year old Boukie and other teenagers like Jermaine Taylor Rudolph Austin Akeem Priestley etc, significant playing time with the senior team without hesitation - and he came with qualifiers right around the corner first time and in the middle of qualifiers the second coming.

Now, what of Bora who has inherited the least amount of pressure since Simoes came in '94? More than enough time to give our future a taste of the real deal so we wont be starting out anew after he leaves but no... his youth finds so far have been "young gents" not youth.

I like his approach so far he is finding out for himself and making his own decisions BUT whether we qualify for 2010 or not He has to make more time for the players who will be in their early to mid twenties by the time 2014 qualifiers start.
      Last edited by Siya; June 1, 2007, 10:12 PM.

Originally posted by Siya View Post
        No I am not on an "I told you so" mission just yet but mi did know - him nuh deal wid youth him deal wid his results. At least you saw a couple of worthy teenagers getting early exposure when Jamaican and Brazilian coaches were at the helm... Bora seems to be foregoing 'youth' & digging up one bag a "young man" weh buss dem twenties already for his youth policy - odd approach for a man with the luxury of time on his hands.

What is Bora job ?

Why are we guessing and spelling ? Him have a contract ? I presume it has performance clauses or some job description.. do we need Access to Information act passed on this ?

Siya I am hearing from a good source something different. I heard he is scouring the lower league (non Npl players ) for talent...

Nice approach, very refreshing - Jamaican coaches are from the ranks of Jamaican fans afterall and the players we like from beyond the sidelines tend to be the players chosen on our teams and promoted as genuine talent. What we like as fans and what we have been choosing as coaches hasn't been working it's not a bad thing to look at the rest of the best to find the smarter player who will not constantly get outsmarted on the field by his USA counterparts for eg.

BUT NOW, lets face it, when pressure rises - Claude will play, Bibi will play, Fuller will play Khari will play you can name the usual suspects some of us love to hate... they will play... so why spend all your time on 20 something year olds who wont make the team when qualifiers come around while the new Fullers and Claudes are there at the age ripe for instruction. Bring more of the genuine youth talent into the senior squad - they wont play either but when 2012 rolls around and they are ready to take over they will have been taught by Bora and we wont have to cuss them like we cuss Claude and Fuller of present.

Bora is causing me concern because I think he may be chasing players who in reality, wont make the team now - wont make the team after he leaves.
            Last edited by Siya; June 1, 2007, 11:09 PM.

Bring more of the genuine youth talent into the senior squad
              Siya, you know I was voicing som of the same concerns you are now voicing with respect to Bora. Many on here will not want to question the methods to this man's madness as he is supposed to have coached so many teams which made it to the World Cup.

I think it was Mosiah I was talking with about two weeks ago where I said i cannot understand the rational to Bora's selection process. You come in as a coach and find a team in place, you would think you would look at what you have then try to enhance the positions you think might be weak with younger and smarter players etc. The whole-scale tear down snd build from the bottom seems like the wrong approach to me. But then, who am I to blow against the wind. . .
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Do not think you are blowing against the wind.

The TOP OF THE WORLD coaches/teams use that method. They gradually change personel/players as time go on. It is all about trying damnedest to ensure team does not fall below current standard and moving old worn - Tilla would say, players have "passed useful self-life". - or broken parts and putting into those places 'new' improved - Must be improved...improvement on the old or broken down. They do not knowingly move old or broken parts and replace with less efficient parts EVER!

Simoes used what we had in place and added bits and pieces. I do think any of us here would question that we got improved team.

CB used the same policy. In my mind, he also got us excellent results.

Trinidad and Tobago used the same policy - using the best of what they already had and being in 'new improved parts' to make their team better.

Yes Iyah, our best team must be on the field at all time! Working always at improved performances as the stated aim of moving towards TOP OF THE WORLD is undertaken. There is no time to fool around with constant re-starts. That constant re-starting just increases the already wide gap we have to bridge between ourselves and the always active - USA & Mexico ...and the rest - teams at the TOP OF THE WORLD!
                Last edited by Karl; June 4, 2007, 01:05 PM.

I think its the right appoach and here is why. The team tha you inherited did not qualify for a single tournament. Gold Cup or World Cup. So one thing that you know as fact is the quality is not exclusively there. You may want to look outside first at your unknowns and then compare them against your establish. I think the method is good but the frequency bad. We need to play more games for this to work so we can improved the youngsters because I fear when the going gets tough we will revert to the knowns..

Well, looked at another way, if the personnel couldn't qualify you, then how bad can the others be?

Not going to panic just yet. Costa Rica beat Chile 2-0 so that should give us some sort of measuring stick.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                      I think its the right appoach and here is why. The team tha you inherited did not qualify for a single tournament. Gold Cup or World Cup. So one thing that you know as fact is the quality is not exclusively there. You may want to look outside first at your unknowns and then compare them against your establish. I think the method is good but the frequency bad. We need to play more games for this to work so we can improved the youngsters because I fear when the going gets tough we will revert to the knowns..
                      So you are suggesting that, i) You cannot look outside and retain the established core team? ii) You are suggesting that putting potential good talent with large pool with potential is better than giving the 'new' potential playing time with experienced pool?

The 'new' potential will have a fair opportunity to express that potential with a bunch of mistake prone, inexperienced group around him/her - (Know you are talking senior men...but, let's look at it as a policy!) - as opposed to expressing self with better players playing at a higher standard around him/her?

Well I am....have always been dead-set against i) the slow start to getting our troops up to standard. Hell from our TD Bora was appointed we were behind the 'eightth ball' as all 'serious' teams were already fully into preparation. The new dispensation - certainly from 1966 onwards - was the TOP OF THE WORLD teams never stopped preparation....and, ii) it makes no sense to me to not giving our players 'longest possible time' to gel - make TEAM and to continue improving/improvement of same!

KArl. what's with this / / / / all over the place? It makes your posts so difficult to read!

"...make TEAM and to continue improving/improvement of same!" - could you not have simply said "improvement"?

Dang! AAaAaaaargh!!!/!!!!!!

KArl. what's with this / / / / all over the place? It makes your posts so difficult to read!

"...make TEAM and to continue improving/improvement of same!" - could you not have simply said "improvement"?

Dang! AAaAaaaargh!!!/!!!!!!
                          Trying to transmit the thought of making improvement and continuously improving - similar but not quite the same thoughts...and, I needed to put both thoughts out there!

Sometimes I think you are writing just for yuhself and not for others to comprehend. Most times I just give up and say Karl is on a higher level of reasoning. Man, glad to know I am not the only one reading and cannot understand your posts.

Anyway, nuh watch nutten, just gwaan post them. Yuh nah write fi mi or Mo or whoever else have problems with it.
                            Last edited by Tilla; June 4, 2007, 11:45 PM.
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

if you had a good ID system and you are sure that no one was overlooked then you can make that assumption. You will agree that players were overlooked right?