Quick comment on Waterhouse's last Concacaf game...

• Quick comment on Waterhouse's last Concacaf game...

Match v DC United.

Should have/could have won!
    Showed good potential - ...but also showed poor coaching in these areas - tactics and technical skill of kicking (good kicking technique/passing would have allowed 2, 3 or 4 more goals being scored).

Also physical fitness and movement and passing/passing and movement need upgrading/improved....but (even for my earlier comments and comments in this post) considering our quality of football in a general sense=island-wide, I was pleasantly surprised. Waterhouse's display showed a TEAM moving in the right direction. Clap the technical team...hope the experience drives all involved to improved performances.

Nice of you to revisit the game and realise, admit, that it wasn't nearly as bad as we'd like to believe. They strung numerous passes together in moving forward, building attack after attack. Never before have I seen such presence from a Jamaican club in international competition.

Maybe yuh can send Bricktop and HL a copy of the game? They need to watch it again.

I must lift my hat to you. You remind me of the Sheffield Wednesday fans who sang right through the 7-NIL beating administered by ManCity in the Capital One Cup.

You are a true supporter of Jamaican football. It's the kind of support MOST forumites cannot begin to understand.

As mentioned, I watched about 20 minutes of the second half of the Waterhouse game--and I could not stumuck their performance.

BTW: Did Water'ouse play the return leg against the team from Panama? What was that result?

Quote from the announcers during a sequence in front of the Waterhouse net:

"Waterhouse have eight men in their box, and nobody is man-marking a DC United player."

Bruce, is it possible to pick a quote that would make Waterhouse look good, very good?

i saw wave after wave of Waterhouse attack fizzle at the edge of the 18 yard box...then i saw one DC United player dismantle a (4) man Waterhouse defence all by his lonesome...not once but twice...if unnuh think Waterhouse coulda won that game or did anything noteworthy of praise den it is a very sad day for Jamaican football...you obviously have no standards

Mek up yuh mind, Bricky. First yuh say di man dribble past 4 defenders (lie), and then yuh say him run past 3 (more like it). Now him dismantle...what really happened?!

Maybe you need a copy of the game fi real.

he dribbled and then ran past more than (2) defenders...then deposited the ball in the back of the net...it reminded me of an episode of the three stooges...that same attacker shrugged off (8) men in the penalty area to guide a header into the back of the net...

Another version!

Mi belly!!!

Nice of you to revisit the game and realise, admit, that it wasn't nearly as bad as we'd like to believe. They strung numerous passes together in moving forward, building attack after attack. Never before have I seen such presence from a Jamaican club in international competition.

Maybe yuh can send Bricktop and HL a copy of the game? They need to watch it again.

*They were bad
                    ...but there were definitely areas where (as it relates to JA ball) progress has been made.

You have to take Bricktop's comments with a shrug. Having said that they did make passes that took them deep into the penalty-area. At times the 'shooter' was less than 12 yards out...i.e. below the penalty spot and if the 'keeper was off his line by 4 yards, less than 7 yards from the 'keeper.

A good kick - kick that made 'good' connection not 'carooming' off the side of the foot...really a miss-kick, except that appeared to be the way the kicker normally executes - and goal! Good kicks many goals.

*We must remember that that DC TEAM is also horrible!!! ...even so the ideas on the method of the Waterhouse players attempts at playing were 'right'. The lack of fitness, structure and basic stuff like attacking the ball on attack and defense, too often poor passing...etc. shows far way to go...but the attempts (have to say it again) were in the 'right' direction. Get these same players fit, teach them all how to kick=pass (the various techniques), drill them on attacking the ball, work on movement and just with that you have a completely better TEAM.
                    Last edited by Karl; September 26, 2014, 05:48 PM.

all with he same result...a win while embarrassing the opponent

shameless