Benbow & the Philadelphia Union Academy

The point of clamoring for an academy ignores the need for top quality teachers and that TALENT ABOUNDS!

This si how mi know that your completely misguided. it cannot and should not be same part-time teachers who would be coaching the kids.

An academy calls for SPECIALIST football coaches. Not geography teachers who teach and have to coach because football is after all an EXTRACURRICULAR activity for the school and there are budgetary constraints where staff is concerned.

get ALL the best and put them in one place to develope their football skills. that is what the academy is about.
    You sir, I am convinced is mad!

Questions: At your school did your Geography Teacher only teach geography??

If any of the subject teachers taught more than one subject is there expectation of less than excellent teaching in each area? ...but to dig a little deeper; Can a teacher hold fullest competence in more than one subject area/discipline?

Specific to our teaching and development of our young: Do you realize that there is correlation on development of the young between expert teaching at the earliest of ages and later achievement/maturity?

You need the expects at each stage of development = best teachers for each age!

It should be easy to see and accept that talent is found right across the island and and thus identifying the best of the best demand expert teachers in all parts of the island.

Secondly, the thought that the football teachers would (as we go forward) remain ignorant to the game save in an academy does not make sense. In all areas /disciplines the aim must be put expert teachers in 'the classroom'.

btw - Some persons think (this a repeat of point already made on this site) that only in academic subjects should expert teachers be employed. That is clearly nonsense as it is incumbent on administrations to provide best possible education. Sports teach and reinforce vital life skills and adds another avenue to social advancement.

NB: It would be interesting to look at the stats on areas/disciplines where every effort is made to provide expert teachers what the results are on total output and specific to each of various vocations and professions.

We already intuitively know what the results are in areas where less than adequate effort is made to install expert teachers. - Bottom barrel results on track, cricket, netball and football...etc.

mmmm?...academics - some academic results are - mmmmm? ...just above bottom of barrel on math, science and the languages areas where many suggest that is what schools are there to produce and only area where the expert teachers should be...

Boss, expert teachers - teachers appropriate for age - must be put in place for each and every discipline! By any measure...inclusive of value of transfer of taught and development of 'logical thinking' and social skills - social skills form the backbone of personal and professional success. Social skills help us navigate such everyday interactions as a) exchanging greetings and holding conversations, b) starting friendships and maintaining them, and c) asking for help and instructing others.

Underdevelopment of social skills pose challenges both inside and outside the classroom. There is a correlation between success in the class/academics and outside with development of social skills.

Aside: How do we measure the impact the underdevelopment of talent in sports has contributed to underachievement in academics? e.g. What effect - on conscious thought or below the level of consciousness does subliminal messages on that less than professional effort on the teaching of sports?

Fact: All the kids know - as Gamma's position underlines, it has become embedded reflex subconscious acceptance - that the administration and the teachers 'joke out'/provide lousy instructions and teaching during PE or other sports classes....less than fullest of efforts as teachers and both consciously and in subtle manner let the kids know that in Jamaica parlance, "wi nah try". The teachers do not hide it. They 'hit the kids over the head'/an in your face teaching that less than the best is acceptable...etc., etc.

geezas...

unreal, eh?

is a specialist likely to be BETTER in his area of expertise than a GP? would you go to your GP to perform complex orthapaedic surgery? does this mean the GP is a bad doctor? nope! but he has his limitations.

so let us see if you can answer a simple question and so i repeat ....is a specialist likely to be BETTER in his area of expertise than a GP?

Can it be done by having a system to do such as Stoni suggested, where our Sports institutions, GC foster, Mico etc teach those skills.

We didnt have an academy when Rene had the youths qualifying for FIFA tournaments.Rene had a system.

I am not convinced an academy will ever get off the ground , I am a 100 % sure a system can be implemented within the institutions we have to impart that football intelligence at a fraction of the cost to build an academy.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

how are GC Foster et al doing in teaching those skills presently? dem cyaan teach what dem don't know

yes it can .... but not consistently as we have seen.

But Sirs If GC fosters cant do it consistently or at all, then how do we expect an academy to get off the ground which would cost astronomically more?

I would rather start with the inconsistency, develop a program like Stoni suggested across the Island.

The JFF can get so much moving by having that diaspora conference i keep calling for ,and charting a commsense way forward.

The way how I see it , such a program would have to be holistic where coaching, players, clubs and administrators all come together.

I believe we would get more out of our football , than this pipe dream academy, which would be run by an egotistical JFF, ultimately it would fail (the academy ting).

The way forward has been presented on the site by Stoni, granted it might need tweaking, but its more plausabile than this crackead academy bagga talking ting.

The inconsistency would become consistent overtime , like our champs ting, some parts of it might fail, but over the long term will be an engine like champs.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

PRIVATE FUNDING .. .we have been down here before and how did you come to the conclusion that it would be run by the JFF?!! that would be a recipe for failure for sure!!

it is a big ask but one which is very workable given the talent that is around.

crackhead idea, i can live with you calling it that.

As usual we play fiddle while Rome burns. Money is not our greatest problem.

We can develop a program without building and the added cost. Use some of the best coach already in the system, you may have to pay them a little more or work with government and others. Any example is it can be extra incentives for regular soccer coaches who is already in the system.

....is a specialist likely to be BETTER in his area of expertise than a GP?
                        As it relates to our football you present a false choice!
                        Clever...but not honest! ...so I shall answer your question with two others:
                        1. Is it sensible to introduce our kids to football or any discipline by teaching 'nonsense'=imparting incorrect facts or faulty instructions?

2. Is it acceptable to deprive our talented of means to develop to fullest potential?
                        Last edited by Karl; September 22, 2014, 02:33 PM.

another non-answer ......

Guess the attorney would like his "Have you stopped beating your wife?" type question answered with his preferred "Yes" or "No"

Nuh suh mi roll!

god forbid the day you were introduced to that kind of question.....with understanding its nuances.

asking the question presupposed that the person beats their wife.

in this case i am asking you whether you think a specialist is better than a GP in his specialised field. the answer is PURELY what you think. i did not ask you WHY is a specialist better, i am asking you whether YOU think they are better. i would hope that you can see the difference but if you don't then i would understand.

geezas...
                                snicker