Cordel Benbow -

• Cordel Benbow -

Those I thought were outstanding talents. ...with potential to become top world professional -
    Zhelano Barnes

Cardel (Cordel?) Benbow

Nico Campbell

Omar Holness

Oshane Jenkins

Romario Jones

Andre Lewis

Alvas Powell

Patrick Palmer

http://www.worldfootball.net/teams/j...u17-h-team/10/

Great talents! Ignorant to the game! It was as if they never had teachers!
    ...so the TEAM game eluded each of these (once?) bright sparks. Where are they now?

What I said in 2011 - Hapless!

Those I thought were outstanding talents. ...with potential to become top world professional -
    Zhelano Barnes

Cardel (Cordel?) Benbow

Nico Campbell

Omar Holness

Oshane Jenkins

Romario Jones

Andre Lewis

Alvas Powell

Patrick Palmer

http://www.worldfootball.net/teams/j...u17-h-team/10/

Great talents! Ignorant to the game! It was as if they never had teachers!
    ...so the TEAM game eluded each of these (once?) bright sparks. Where are they now?
    We are currently a hapless Jamaica side.

This is our context - we have been to these finals before it makes no sense planning to once again be that hapless Jamaica side.

The madness of having a collection of talented athletes running around like mindless individuals must stop.

All our training exercises...ALL...must be on TEAMplay!

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...mar#post290033

-----------

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/interact...sp?page=forum2 - It is true there was great talent with tremendous potential but --->

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...mar#post298505

...so needed teachers to assist in development of the talent(s)!!!

4+ years later Mankine's lament - Who fail the yute?
    The answer must be: Jamaica's football leaders and teachers/coaches!!!!

A child cannot be expected to pass CSEC mathematics paper if he had never been exposed to Mathematics at any level above 2nd form!!!! ...so it is that our footballers cannot be expected to 'pass' at international ball if they have never been exposed to any level above 2nd form!!!

TALENT ABOUNDS! ...but that talent must be developed to world accepted standards!!! If no, that ABUNDANCE (of the talented) goes to waste!!! Hey...our football test results underlines that waste!!!

sound like we need some kind of academy system

like seh high school naw cut it....

sound like we need some kind of academy system
          System with real teachers!!!!

like seh high school naw cut it....
            ...if you mean the quality of teachers then you are bang on. Any other thing is a waste!!!

Hey...the talent is there!
            Only thing missing, good quality teachers!

and how long has this been the case?

We are speaking of our school system here - In all areas (academic, sports and others) taken as a whole it has been so from the inception of an 'Education System" in Jamaica.

Here are some of the facts:
                a) Inadequate school places = vast numbers of the talented not accommodated.

b) "a" improved over time and now there has been high %age numbers accommodated at the prep and primary school levels;

c) ...but following on "a" the quality of teaching at those levels - downright awful save in extremely few cases = most of the talented under-developed and thus excluded from advancing to the high schools...plus...

d) (i.e. following on from "c" where in the vast majority of the talented have been 'thrown on the scrapheap"...there is 'the second wammy' of the high schools also not being able to accommodate all who qualify to enter...plus...

e) at all levels of the system the teaching taken as a whole is, **** poor!
                That ensures that the vast majority of those leaving the high schools have not had their potential as per their ages when compared with 'first rate education institutions' fulfilled.

So all this talk about the schools (prep, primary and high schools) are there for delivery of top quality education is 'bang on'...but the ignoring of other areas and reference to academic education only is a red herring. It has been engaged in/sold to 'the people' by firstly 'the colonial masters' and lapped up by 'unthinking puppets'. The colonial masters wished to 'keep us in our places' - provide value to them only with nary a thought on value to ourselves and our offsprings - and they were concerned that an improved understanding of all avenues open to independent upward social mobility by us/'the masses' would be to them (at) an economic cost.

Currently - We still cannot see that the education system-our education system must provide the widest of knowledge and opportunities for all our people = each (one) of our people to have multiple avenues for upward mobility.

This is funny: The local underbelly of our society has a phrase that explains why there must be widest of opportunities to social mobility but although it is in our faces - (tells us its truth in a 'beating us over the head with the fact way') - we do not see it: The saying - Nuh eberywan can be doctor, lawyer, teacher or nurse...yuh mus ave tief tuh!

It says, we need all members of the society making meaningful contributions...supplying all the 'goods and services' the society demands - the professionals, those in various vocations...yes, entertainers - inclusive of the sportsman and sportswoman and our education system must be geared to supply same.

Of course the "yuh mus ave tief" should nto be taken literally but understood within the context of an explanation on needs...diverse needs of a society.

Aside: An example - Most of us are blinded by the success of say, a Usian Bolt and as a result do not see that every year dozens of talented track athletes as a result of "a" through "e" are 'wasted'!!! Hey...closing eyes prevents some from going MAD!!!

Added later: Yuh dun kno hit cudda seh dat perpetuating the myth of our school being only there for academic work and the reality of inadequate space and poor delivery of education=poor teaching dat di ting set fi di 'new tappa-nar-ris' dem!!!!

Just imagine the minuscule numbers of our talented at football that would gain entry to Bricktop's academy? What then of the rest of the superbly talented?

...or even what would become of that minuscule numbers of the talented at football that Bricktop's academy offered entry to...access to the clutches of his academy's woefully poor teachers? ...perhaps a 'Bibi'-like prodigy escapes from the woeful teaching every (You do the math - Football was introduced in JA the 1800s and only Lindy and Bibi escaped since).

Added even later - Thanks, HL! - http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...221#post495221
                Last edited by Karl; September 19, 2014, 05:30 PM.

how long Karl ... "how long has this been going on" that's the simple question i asked. once again you write a diatribe that does not answer the direct question asked. dang!!!

possible answeres: " i dont know"; "long time"; "x years"

............ i really needed a friday eveling laugh!!!

Snicker

A dat yuh deserve, a aks Karl dem question deh.

Alvas is the most intriguing of the group,he didtinguished himself years ago as a pridigy of sorts.We do not have an encouraging history of grooming defenders.....
                        Benvow reminds me if the late Paul Littlejohn.

how long Karl ... "how long has this been going on" that's the simple question i asked. once again you write a diatribe that does not answer the direct question asked. dang!!!

possible answeres: " i dont know"; "long time"; "x years"
                          The historical evidence suggests from the game was introduced! My personal experiences of that poor teaching of the game runs from I entered high school in January 1958! That is, to my personal experience, for more than 56 years.

Diatribe?
                          I pointed out:
                          - Insufficient school spaces and encouraged you to engage in thinking on %age of our talent being not exposed to teaching of the game of football;

- Drew your attention to the poor quality of our teachers and thus those of our talented who were fortunate enough to enter our schools being misled and under-developed;

...and you think that is, "diatribe"?

Instructions on football in 1958

Play the forward...always!

Kick it long!

If on the wing cross the ball. If on the end of the cross always shoot!

If on the end of the ball in the penalty-area, shoot! ...always!

Tek im hoone=bruk, bruk an bruk agen!!!

Brain under utilized!

---

In the '60s, '70s, '80s and '90s.

Always play the ball forward and long!

Louder clamour - Tek im hoone! (Think Sweetie Smith...Lenny Hyde...Andrew Sinclair, "Blacka" Boyd, etc. - great one on one players but after too often either one bruk too many=loses ball or allows opposition to organise on defense=anti-TEAM=loses ball.)

Brain under utilized!

-----

2000s to present = pace of game too slow, passing under used, movement lousy, tek im hoone overused...brain under utilized...lot of anti-TEAM play!!!

Fact: Rise of the teacher instructing 'falla mi hin-structions' = do not think for self ...as there still continues the tradition of poor teaching=no teaching of concepts as it pertains to the game=inculcation of 'we do not want to teach or have the playing football'.

Results and observed act on the field of play underlines - brain(s) in cold storage.

Technical skill not taught - proper kicking technique.

*The above is not saying there have not been 'one or two' teachers who were outside of the norm. - Coaches: Arthur McKenzie, George Thompson, Winthope "Jackie" Bell, Dennis Zaidie, Bradley Stewart and Mico College Lecturer "Freddie" Green ...and on a lower rung: Deryck Tomlinson of JC and Vere Technical. ...but all these teachers had results that showed the talent at their disposal either never rose anywhere near fullest potential or in Freddie's case got out of teaching as fast they could.

Some of those Mico teachers claimed there was no point...could not spend the energy to 'fight' the system of untrained football teacher who were resistance to change as those teachers had attitude of "nothing more to learn" and "already knew it all". A position that was opposed to the Miconians training and belief that there was and is always more to be learned.
                            Last edited by Karl; September 20, 2014, 12:32 PM.

Wooiiieee!! I hope yuh getting all of this, Gamma!