The big man even admitted when he made a mistake.

• The big man even admitted when he made a mistake.

The incident in question is in reference to the fallout from the John Terry race row in October 2011, where the Chelsea captain was accused of racially abusing Ferdinand’s younger brother Anton Ferdinand.
    Rio was one of many that felt the anti-racism campaign has not given Anton the right support and backing in his allegation after they refused to attend the court hearing – with Ferdinand choosing not to wear the shirt when every player in the Premier League was to do so on the same weekend.

Ferdinand said: “The Group had refused to come to the court so I was not willing to go through the charade of wearing their shirt, my parents would not have accepted it.
    “When the manager [Ferguson] found it he raged: ‘Who do you f***ing think you are? I have told everybody you would wear it.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/f...o-9736165.html

"Did you asked the boy?"
    Rio wasn't a lad then,and certainly had a name that was known to everyone even those remotely attached to MAN U.
    The term boy has racial connotations, how ironic is it for it to be used on a sensitive issue with racism at the root.I hate when people that can't identify with a situation,claims a sense of authority on the way forward on that issue.In other words,whereas symbolic gestures are enough for Fergie,the victims demands more than that.

nah ... doubt it. i have heard a lot of managers use thatterm to refer to the players. it does connote the relationship though....

True,but wouldn't someone be mindful not to use that in this particular issue?
        It all has to do with just how deeply you are into the fight against racism.

He used that to describe Rooney and many others all the time. It's a cultural thing in England.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Bottom line,she was the difference,albeit she told him nothing new,he heard it from Rio.
            And of course it is an issue in which Rio had vested interest which was challenged by Fergie.
            He repeated verbatim what his wife said,that certainly questions his authority on that particular issue.