Danny Welbeck wasn't good enough....Van Gaal

Danny Welbeck can be prolific at Arsenal, says Alan Shearer

Striker Danny Welbeck can score 25 goals a season for Arsenal, says former England international Alan Shearer.

Welbeck, 23, joined the Gunners from Manchester United for £16m on transfer deadline day, and could make his debut against Manchester City on Saturday.

"I've heard people say he is never going to be a 20 or 25-goals-a-season striker. I disagree," Shearer told BBC Radio 5 live.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/29185107

I am so sorry Dunny, I just don't see it. He is a decent player with good speed, he kind of bumble, stumbles with the ball if he is not using speed to escape, he has one or two momentary escape, avoidance type moves but not enough to escape, separate and create, his escapes are speed escapes with one or two simple moves which create just enough space to use speed. Look at Sturridge or Sterling and you see a lot more control on the ball at varying speeds, multiple moves that make you go, what the hell did he just do!!! And then they have speed and creative ability on top of that. He is a good back up to me, that is what I see.

Maybe he can but boy is he going to have to be fed, Arsenal have the players to feed him, but I don't think it's a good match based on how I see Arsenal play that methodical buildup versus welbeck dink and dunk with speed style, we will see. As I said before I call twelve gpe let's see.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          I am so sorry Dunny, I just don't see it. He is a decent player with good speed, he kind of bumble, stumbles with the ball if he is not using speed to escape, he has one or two momentary escape, avoidance type moves but not enough to escape, separate and create, his escapes are speed escapes with one or two simple moves which create just enough space to use speed. Look at Sturridge or Sterling and you see a lot more control on the ball at varying speeds, multiple moves that make you go, what the hell did he just do!!! And then they have speed and creative ability on top of that. He is a good back up to me, that is what I see.
          He!he!he! we will have another conversation at the end of the season.

Welbeck off the ball movement has caused City keeper to hurry kickouts and even his presuring resulted in the brilliant goal Sanchez scored.He epitomizes(th blueprint) the very things that would make Arsenal truly better if it is collectively embraced by his teammates.
            I really wanted him to score today.

Wenger urges patience over Danny Welbeck

Manager Arsene Wenger says Arsenal "have to be patient" with new signing Danny Welbeck after his miss proved costly in the 2-0 Champions League defeat at Borussia Dortmund.

The 23-year-old England forward, a £16m arrival from Manchester United this month, shot wide when clean through with the Group D game goalless. Dortmund scored either side of half-time to secure victory.

(continue)

Welbeck? Care to revise the following Stoni?

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                  Quite skilled on the ball, is my thinking!
                  ...also creates for self and others.

I missed the game. I am still holding to my call of twelve gpe for him, let's see if he can beat that, that is a good backup kind of production, which I think he is, a good backup for a premier side.

Danny Welbeck hits back

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/29473438

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                        Everybody seems to have convenient amnesia. Irrespective of what position he played he got chances and missed many. How many UCL big games he was started as the point man, only to miss vital chances causing MU to be knocked out?

Lazie every striker miss chances, you have been watching football long enough to know that. You were the first one to bring up stats with goals to games and LVG has compared his stats to Wayne Rooney and RVP. Play RVP and Rooney wide left and then compare the stats!! Welbeck if played as a no9 will score goal for fun.

Dunny, a MU we talking bout. Rooney, Ronaldo, Hazard all play wide and score. To claim Welbeck was played wide is NOT TRUE. In the UCL tie with Bayern Munich, where did he play? Forwards miss that's true .... but go back and watch that game and look .... know what ...

Welbeck missed United's best chance later in the first half when clean through on Bayern keeper Manuel Neuer - a moment of hesitation and indecision that may yet prove to be expensive. (Phil McNultymatch report)

The previous season in the tie with Real Madrid ... yes RvP missed an easy chance as well ..... but since we talking bout Wellbeck.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=deI3MyCUp2E

Dunny, a MU we talking bout. Rooney, Ronaldo, Hazard all play wide and score. To claim Welbeck was played wide is NOT TRUE. In the UCL tie with Bayern Munich, where did he play? Forwards miss that's true .... but go back and watch that game and look .... know what ...

Welbeck missed United's best chance later in the first half when clean through on Bayern keeper Manuel Neuer - a moment of hesitation and indecision that may yet prove to be expensive. (Phil McNultymatch report)

The previous season in the tie with Real Madrid ... yes RvP missed an easy chance as well ..... but since we talking bout Wellbeck.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=deI3MyCUp2E
                              Lazie this is dedicated to you. Joker!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBnQQv0jY3Q

Lazie this is dedicated to you. Joker!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBnQQv0jY3Q
                                What's the purpose of the video? You need to let us know the point you're making bredren. Wellbeck got his chances at MU and his goal/game return was poor. For you and other to try and spin it bout him playing on the wings not gonna stand with those of us who have been watching him for years. Now he is at a smaller club maybe he will thrive.