• Who are Anderson & Nani?

By Charlie Henderson

Manchester United have moved fast in the transfer market this summer, with Anderson and Nani set to be the latest arrivals at Old Trafford.
    Sir Alex Ferguson's assistant Carlos Queiroz is credited for a big role in securing the services of Porto's Brazilian midfielder Anderson and Sporting flyer Nani, who are tipped for the top.
    "They're both top players and among the top five in Portugal with Simao Sabrosa, Joao Moutinho and Ricardo Quaresma," Portuguese football journalist Miguel Padayda told BBC Sport.
    But what more do we know about them? BBC Sport gives the lowdown on United's latest signings.
    ANDERSON

Full name: Anderson Luis De Abreu Oliveira
    Nationality: Brazilian
    Position Attacking midfielder
    Fee: Reports vary between £15m and £20m
    Still a teenager, the dreadlocked Brazilian has made a huge impact, is already in Brazil's national squad and is considered the heir apparent to Ronaldinho as his country's star player.
    Born in the same town as Barcelona's buck-toothed wonder, Porte Alegre, Anderson also started his career at Gremio where he is held in high regard after scoring the goal that sent them back into the top flight in a brutal match against Nautico in 2005.
    He moved to Europe later that year and made his Porto debut a little over 12 months ago in March 2006, helping the club land the Portuguese double.
    This season his progress has been hampered by a fractured leg in October, but he returned to action to help Porto successfully defend their title.
    BBC Sport columnist and south American football pundit Tim Vickery has described the strong, left-footed midfielder as having the acceleration of the Millennium Falcon.
    And Manchester United have stolen a march on suitors such as Real Madrid and Chelsea to land a player many have already labelled as the long-term replacement for Old Trafford stalwart Paul Scholes.
    Padayda's verdict: "He is very young, very skilled in the pass, very intelligent and very fast. Unfortunately, this season he had an injury that allowed him to play only half of the season, but he was still a very important figure at Porto. He could definitely go straight into the United first XI."
    Anderson says: "I could not imagine I would ever get to work with a manager like Sir Alex Ferguson but it has happened. It is a dream the size of the world."
    They say: "New players will show they deserve a chance to represent Brazil and we'll all see that as it happens. Anderson, like many other Brazilian players, is a valuable player and will get his chance in future for sure."
    Brazil head coach Dunga
    You say: "Anderson has the potential to be something special. When he's worth £30m on his own in two years this deal will look like a bargain."
    EdWindchester on the 606 messageboards 606: Comment, create & debate

Did you know? He was named player of the tournament at the 2005 Under-17 World Cup. Previous winners of the award include Arsenal's Cesc Fabregas and former Liverpool striker Florent Sinama-Pongolle.
    NANI

Full name: Luis Carlos Almeida da Cunha
    Nationality: Portuguese
    Position Attacking midfielder
    Fee: Anything between £11.5m and £17m say the reports
    Nani has long been linked with a move to Manchester United ever since he stated it would be a "dream" to play with Cristiano Ronaldo.
    However, Quieroz needed to move quickly when it became clear Tottenham were also stepping up their interest in the predominantly wide player.
    Born on the Cape Verde Islands off the west coast of Africa, he came through the Sporting Academy, a route previously taken by Ronaldo and Luis Figo, once his family had upped sticks for Lisbon.
    Having made his debut as an 18-year-old, Nani became a part of the first-team squad at the start of the 2005/06 season and soon got his chance to impress.
    Since then the fleet-footed livewire, who celebrates goals with a back flip, has gone from strength to strength with club and country.
    He scored on his first appearance for Portugal against Denmark in September and also caught the eye with a wonderful effort in the Champions League against Spartak Moscow this season.
    Padayda's verdict: "He plays more or less in the same position of the pitch as Ronaldo does but he is not as fast. He had some problems this year at Sporting because he thought he was underpaid and wanted more money, but now he has a big contract. He will have to adapt to the English game and will need to wait a few months until he gets his chance."
    Nani says: "The Premier League is one of the best leagues in the world and it will be a big challenge. I am prepared to go to England because I believe I will progress there."
    They say: "He's one of the most gifted young players in Europe, and what's more, he's stronger than I thought he was."
    Former Bayern Munich manager Felix Magath You say: "Bringing Nani into the team will definitely give us more width across the pitch and in time will be a suitable replacement for Ryan Giggs."
    wolverine001 on the 606 messageboards 606: Comment, create & debate
    Did you know: Everton midfielder Manuel Fernandes is a friend since childhood and the pair used to kick a ball about together on the streets of Lisbon.

and now ...

Man. Utd to sign Hargreaves from Bayern Munich on five-year contract
    English Premier League champions Manchester United finalized a deal on Thursday to sign England midfielder Owen Hargreaves from Bayern Munich on a five-year contract.
    The Canadian-born Hargreaves, who was England fans' player of the year for 2006, has passed a medical examination and agreed to contract terms, the Red Devils said.
    However, the transfer fee was yet disclosed.
    Hargreaves had been linked to United since starring in last year's World Cup. United tried to sign him before last season and Bayern fined him for publicly saying he wanted to move.
    In last year's World Cup in Germany, Hagreaves was not considered a key player, but was one of the few to perform well. He broke his leg in September.
    Hargreaves returned to action in February and missed England training last week.
    Source: Xinhua

Mr. President, who do we have as cover in our backline? I think we need one cover person for right-back and/or central defense. We can get some money fe Ole and Saha (after we get a proven striker).
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Best thing?
        They both want to be there and did not need prodding and begging and Man United did not have to over pay for them

Yes defensive cover will be crucial, especially in the middle

Wes Brown can play CD. Gabi plays the role for Argentina, Fergie need fi work wid him some more.

RB: Wes Brown, John OShea and Pique. As a matter of fact, Pique can play CD too.

LB: Oshea and Gabbi (since Evra is the first choice)

We nuh need no defenders. Tek the money fi Ole, if we naah get Berbatov or the Dutch youth, keep Saha. As a matter of fact, I'd get rid of Ole, Smith and Richardson before thinking of getting rid of Saha. When he is playing the attack is more dynamic.

You know I actually forgot we have Evra on the left...but like you said re Saha- when he is fit

Wes Brown can play CD. Gabi plays the role for Argentina, Fergie need fi work wid him some more.

RB: Wes Brown, John OShea and Pique. As a matter of fact, Pique can play CD too.

LB: Oshea and Gabbi (since Evra is the first choice)

We nuh need no defenders. Tek the money fi Ole, if we naah get Berbatov or the Dutch youth, keep Saha. As a matter of fact, I'd get rid of Ole, Smith and Richardson before thinking of getting rid of Saha. When he is playing the attack is more dynamic.
                Yuh sure we nuh need nuh defenda? Because me about fe draw out the checkbook. What's up with Rossi weh we lend out. Me hear him name a call up big time which part him de. (I forgot which league he's playing in) Why we nuh werk wid him and Eagle?
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

He was at Parma! Word is one of the Portuguese clubs want either Rossi or Pique. Time Rossi get a chance!!