Benbow analysis

What college did he go? Just maybe he didn't make it because the scouts were right? Why did he also fail to make Orlando City????

The MLS draft has been good for our players. Romena maybe need to prove them all wrong. At least he was in the shopping window at some point.

If Benbow was in college he would have two more years to make it to the MLS draft and he would be more in a shopping window if he was at a D1 A college.
    Last edited by Assasin; September 5, 2014, 04:22 PM.

I don't need to watch local football...when dem go overseas they are exposed for what they truly are...mediocre...but keep giving these yutes stupid nicknames like "messi" and mek dem feel like dem a big balla...and they will conTinue to fail and drop right back into the sh!thole of local football
      .....B'Top you crack me up!!!

So intelligence is a the center of it all,be it imparting, receiving, retaining,sharing and distributing the ball.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I don't think the USA leagues are mature enough yet to say you can define these divisions you are suggesting. Mls is clearly number one and after that it is wide open. It will probably take five to ten years to really develop into a true graduated type league and maybe not as the way sports works in the USA there is no fluidity, once you are in any top league you have bought a seat for life unless the business itself collapses.

Yeah you know btop I used to think like that, but after watching how just last yearSterling couldn't even get a game on Liverpool first eleven and when he did he looked like anybody could push him off the ball. Nuff people criticized including me, but Rodgers put him at left back and he adopted a different mode which clearly made his position playing better and with some good weight training etc he transformed into a player that could not be just pushed off the ball, then gradually we saw a new Sterling emerge.

Today he is the shiny new English superstar, one year ago he couldn't stand over the ball properly and shield it from a bigger stronger player. We need to figure who really has the talent and continue to work them, strengthen them and stress them at certain tines over and over to get the finished product.

So poor to average pace after five yards, is that lack of leg strength or poor conditioning or just straight up DNA?

The NPSL is a developmental league & pro teams from the MLS, NASL & USL Pro use it as a feeder.

Tyrone Marshall and Andy Williams? Really bro? Where is our Cuadrado or Falcao? Nobody mention MLS to me ever again in a discussion about player development...just don't please

The development of Jamaican youth players is not the job nor the priority of MLS. MLS focus is on developing U.S. youth players, & this young program is so far doing well......The 1 exception to that is Michael Seaton.

Yes, I know, we have quite a few on my side of the world. I haven't gone to see any games of the team nearest my side, but for me the bottom line still remains that the gap between the Nasl, usl and in my mind even the top premier league adult division teams in each city is not absolutely crystal clear to me.

That quickness in those 5 yards...could mean an average runner would not catch him...and a fast runner perhaps at 20 - 30 yards? If so, he would have more than enough time to create serious damage. The problems would be more evident when running starts at balls equi-distant would too often mean coming in 2nd to the faster man...

On attack it may be overlooked often...however, if he has the responsibility to track back on defense and consistently is out-run by the opponent it becomes 'serious problem'...just imagine in match where his TEAM 'must' win he is outrun and that results in goal against and a loss for his TEAM????

For all that his pluses outweighs his minuses...good prospect! Good potential! Quick grasp of his 'duties' and responsibilities to (his) TEAM would tip the scales in his favour.

Sure he needs to be stronger! Must hold his top speed over distance and be able to repeat those 'wind springs' throughout entire game with negligible fall off in quickness - quick mind, quick feet and speed over ground.

Aside: http://www.soccerplayingguide.com/so...d-sprints.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZqEj-Qyg6U

Great stuff, I love the second vid, that is some of the stuff we should be doing early on, a combination of those and also keeping track over the years to see the level of improvements across the youth as they get older.

I think especially a battery of tests including agility, strength, speed and little things to test reaction, patience, endurance, and thinking ability in the heat of battle can quickly identify those with the most potential in those areas and marrying that info with the more physical and football skill will id the best and brightest for the long run and get out of this lobbying by club and connection business, it will take a giant leap to have this kind of transparency in the identification, development and eventually selection process, this is where we must go.

you use the opportunities that you have to develop your players. MLS is one of the opportunities we have. I am sure Americans use other leagues as well to get the best out of their players.

So you want to wait until Jamaican players are eligible to enter MLS (starting in their late teens) to start their development???
                              Please name the American players whose development started in their late teens in a foreign league.

Where did you see me say that?????? Any serious development plan in Jamaica have to somewhat include the MLS and other leagues that can help our players. If you produce young players they have to have somewhere to go. You think Alvas Powell worst off going on a loan to Portland??? or Brian Brown worst off?????

The fact is Jamaican football is better for the MLS link and the MLS is better for the Jamaican link. They get players at decent price to compete in their league. MLS sole purpose is not only to develop American youth, it is much more than that.