So I saw some article on Benbow recently as signing with Waterhouse after playing in some USA non mls league, I saw where it was mentioned that he is 5'4" and 145 very agile, fast and skillful, anyone have any thoughts on Benbow and potential.
Benbow analysis
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostSo I saw some article on Benbow recently as signing with Waterhouse after playing in some USA non mls league, I saw where it was mentioned that he is 5'4" and 145 very agile, fast and skillful, anyone have any thoughts on Benbow and potential.
What is the point of carrying the ball repeatedly when much greater 'damage' could be done with the good pass? Hey the difference between poor players and good players...between the player with great potential and the wonderful player...players with equal amounts of technical skills - 'the brain'/use of brain!
*Yup! ...Benbow's potential is that evident.
...but then potential is nothing if not realized!!!
In our Jamaica TALENT ABOUNDS!
There was an U-17 team that went nowhere that had 5 or so players (inclusive of Benbow and Omar Holness) with all the goods to be developed into TOP OF THE WORLD players...OK...at least very, very good professional players. Potential gets you nowhere if not developed...NEEDED GOOD TEACHERS!Last edited by Karl; September 5, 2014, 09:35 AM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostSo I saw some article on Benbow recently as signing with Waterhouse after playing in some USA non mls league, I saw where it was mentioned that he is 5'4" and 145 very agile, fast and skillful, anyone have any thoughts on Benbow and potential.
Hard to gauge his potential at the senior level, from what I have seen of him.
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostGeezas...a19 year old "game changer" who washed out of MLS academy and us corner league...you chaps are entertaining to say the least
...I would guess it had nothing to do with technical skills but let us not mince words...at his trials reflex and deliberate acts engaged in because he has absorbed 'nonsense' believing it to be sense and acted on that 'knowledge'.
6 months with a good teacher and he would be a much improved player. ..going to Waterhouse the 'learned nonsense' shall be reinforced."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
6 months? Try 10 to 11 years Karl...I can't fathom the mindset on this forum...strange set a people...we will not produce a decent player with the current football system in Jamaica...I been telling unnuh that for over 15 years...yet unnuh still keep banging unnuh head against a brick wall
I don't need to watch local football...when dem go overseas they are exposed for what they truly are...mediocre...but keep giving these yutes stupid nicknames like "messi" and mek dem feel like dem a big balla...and they will conTinue to fail and drop right back into the sh!thole of local football
Originally posted by Bricktop View Post6 months? Try 10 to 11 years Karl...I can't fathom the mindset on this forum...strange set a people...we will not produce a decent player with the current football system in Jamaica...I been telling unnuh that for over 15 years...yet unnuh still keep banging unnuh head against a brick wall
Let me tell you: TALENT ABOUNDS including that talent of intellectual capacity.
- 1. Young Mr. Benbow is not a fool and therefore would quickly grasp from a 'real teacher' facts on "the way' of TEAM being the best strategy and acting to best achieve goals is the only sensible way to go/act.
- 2. On grasping the TEAM concept he would need that 6 months of say not less than 2 hours per day for 4 days of the week and 1 match experience on an average of a match/per 2 week cycle within which to rid himself of his old habits and to embrace the new TEAM manner of playing such than under pressure there is new reflexive way of acting.
Do you understand that getting rid of a lifetime of accepting stupid instructions as brilliant profound instructions - (such as has been his - perhaps at guess 12 years of being taught the anti-TEAM alpha and omega of JA 'marrers' instructions of on each and every occasion "tek im hone" - is not hard to see it for what it is when faced with properly presented evidence?
...and that 6 months is a reasonable time during which to arrive at a level where he becomes attractive to professional clubs. ...and yes, it shall take more than a few matches for him to not revert to performing like an unthinking Simoes' described seal when under intense match pressure....but as Wilshire has shown one can put in fair performances and pull out the occasional very good match performance. Both Wilshire and Benbow are human and thus have the capacity to over time totally absorb self in good play...such that it becomes reflex action.
Benbow is extremely good prospect. ...if I am to guess he shall amount to 'nothing player'...another with potential that goes to waste. No teachers available among our coaches at the NPL level.
Hey the teachers=coaches results show us that:
- tremendous number of extremely talented youngsters who end up on the scrap heap;
- quality of play in our local leagues 2nd form level;
- Reason our national teams are so poor.
Not the kids fault...it is the poor ignorant teachers=coaches work!!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Tyrone Marshall and Andy Williams gave good accounts of themselves in the MLS,both players were stand outs in school boy football,just like Benbow.I think Benbow would have been intriguing had he went to college here,insomuch that he would hve been gifted entry into the MLS.
Not too sure if not cutting it in some lowly league proves anything definitive,wasn't there a yard player that was judged to be not good enough only to go on to redeem himself in a more coveted league?
Benbow a general.
Tampa Marauders F.C. competes in the National Premier Soccer League (NPSL), which is considered the U.S. 4th division & on the same level as the USL Premier Development League (PDL). Some of the teams that compete in this league are U23 teams from the top 3 leagues (MLS, NASL & USL Pro).
"had he went to college here,insomuch that he would hve been gifted entry into the MLS." - WRONG!!! Playing college ball doesn't guarantee you "gifted entry into the MLS". There have been players who did very good in college but didn't make to the MLS - Romena Bowie was a stand out & rated by the "experts" as a late 1st round to early 2nd round MLS pick, but didn't get selected in the draft & also failed to make Orlando City squad, in the USL Pro.