Jangle, the more I think about it I think LvG

• Jangle, the more I think about it I think LvG

made a mistake in naming Rooney as team captain. I think it should have been DeGea. As captain Rooney expects to start most games? What if he isn't producing?

Yup,someone at the back(full view of his players)but DeGea never took command of his defense,he merely retrieves tge ball from his net.If LvG insists on finding a starting spot for Fletcher,then he should be the captain.

Yuh mad? Which Fletcher?

If he still figures in LvG's starting lineups then why not?
        Fketcher would have been an ideal captain afew seasons ago,the same for former player Park.
        They both have strong work ethics and so would demand that of their teammates.

Who say you can't bench captain?

Rooney deserve it. The man history at Manu said it all. Hopefully it will inspire him for awhile longer. Captain is about on the field motivation, inside the locker room, motivating young and new players etc.

Rocky me seriously wonder about you more times. LVG was faced with a dilemma when he came. All the leaders left the team - Vidic, Ferdinand and Evra. Carrick is like Scholes and shy away from the captaincy so that leaves Rooney, Fletcher and RVP. He certainly couldn't give it to any of the 3 stooges round a back - Smalling, Evans or Jones. You should be flogged for mentioning Mr. Chin (Park) and the word captain in the same sentence.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You can tan deh,you were NOT paying attention,Park and Fletcher were absolutely phenominal,the very essence we are missing today.If Fletcher was, at the very least, half the player today that he was prior to serious medical conditions,he would be my pick.mazing how Rooney is at his best today and RvP is no less the player he was at Arsenal and we can't win a game,the steel Jangle.
              What we should REALLY do is revisit the past,how did we feel when Pogba was sold,was it similar to how we feel about Welbeck being sold?
              England sucks but did Welbeck have a bad WC?

Ok Rockman, let me straighten you out. Thank God that you are not the manager or else we would be playing in League 1. There is no way you can give the captaincy to a player who is a bit part player in the squad. Park was like a headless chicken. His technical abilities were very limited and all he brought to his game was energy and tenacity in his tackles. However, it would have been easier if you asked him to cook a plate of Kimchi rather than ask him to create a goal-scoring opportunity. SAF knew exactly how to use Park and when to bring him into a game.....and Park was comfortable playing his role. Kudos to him.

Fletcher today, is playing better than Fletcher prior to his illness AND during SAF's days. He was never given the role as the anchor midfielder and the leader in our midfield as he's being used now by LVG. There was always Scholes or Carrick and when he played with either one, our midfield was slow and ponderous. Fergie used him all over the field and he was one who also knew his role. Now, I see Fletcher spraying passes all over the field and getting the most touches on the ball. His problem though is that he doesn't have the engine to boss the midfield and loses steam after 30 minutes into the game. If you are going to reminisce about the past, then a bit-part player who could have been a candidate for the captain could have been John O'Shea. However, that would have been difficult back then. The team 5 - 6 years ago was ram-packed with leaders - Neville, Ferdinand, Van dar Saar, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra, Giggs, Carrick. There was absolutely no way Park or Fletcher could ever be considered for captain.

Today, the candidates were very limited. Rooney was the most obvious and logical choice. Welbeck is an upgrade to Park in that he offers a lot of energy upfront that troubles defender, but his finishing is woefully lacking. If he's given the opportunity at Arsenal then he can improve. However, given the depths that we have fallen, we needed to spend big to get us back to the top where we belong as quickly as possible, and Falcoa is a Bugatti to Welbeck the Ford Mustang. We are in this position today because Fergie was too sentimental and used emotions to wring juice out of the dead rocks that were in the team.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Park indeed had Scholes in front of him,his role was to be defensive mid as clearly Scholes wasn't.He has played on the left wing without affecting the fluidity of his team.It was not a shockerr when he scored too,and Rooney did not have to fall bacl filling a void.
                  Fletcher really isn't even half the player..,if he is only good for 30 minutes then that is a far cry from being the tireless warrior.....
                  Forever etched in my mind is that game against Arsenal when Fletcher made all attempts to prevent a ball from going outside,he failed and was obviously disappointed.Pires indicated to Fletcher he is taking things too serious,Pires went on to leave his club whilst Fletcher remained.
                  Both players are unsung heroes,with their teammates benefiting...
                  Oh by the way,we never had a problem when Fletcher was fielded as a right back player,unlike today when tweaking is desired regarding wingbacks,and he never missed a beat wearing the boots of Beckham and Veron.Tall order and he rose to the occasion.Both players figured in a squad of illustrous players,why?

25-man squad list (Home Grown *)

Amos, Benjamin Paul
                    Blind, Daley
                    *Carrick, Michael
                    De Abreu Oliveira, Anderson Luis
                    De Gea Quintana, David
                    Di Maria, Angel Fabian
                    *Evans, Jonathan Grant
                    Fellaini-Bakkioui, Marouane
                    *Fletcher, Darren Barr
                    Garcia Zarate, Radamel Falcao
                    Herrera Aguera, Ander
                    *Jones, Philip Anthony
                    Lindegaard, Anders Rozenkrantz
                    *Lingard, Jesse Ellis
                    Mata Garcia, Juan Manuel
                    *Pereira da Silva, Rafael
                    *Petrucci, Davide
                    Rojo, Faustino Marcos Alberto
                    *Rooney, Wayne Mark
                    *Smalling, Christopher
                    Valencia Mosquera, Luis Antonio
                    Van Persie, Robin
                    *Vermijl, Marnick Danny
                    *Young, Ashley Simon
                    Under-21s list (Contract and Scholars)

Blackett, Tyler Nathan
                    Borthwick-Jackson, Cameron Jake
                    Byrne, Oliver Joseph
                    Castro Pereira, Joel Dinis
                    Croskery, Ruairi
                    Dorrington, George Edward
                    Dunne, James Gerard
                    Evans, Callum Leeroy
                    Fletcher, Ashley Michael
                    Goss, Sean Richard
                    Grimshaw, Liam David
                    Harrop, Josh
                    Henderson, Dean Bradley
                    Henriquez Iturra, Angelo Jose
                    Hoelgebaum Pereira, Andreas Hugo
                    James, Reece
                    Janko, Saidy
                    Januzaj, Adnan
                    Johnson, Travis Conroy
                    Johnstone, Samuel Luke
                    Keane, Michael Vincent
                    Keane, William David
                    Love, Donald Alistair
                    McConnell, Ryan Peter
                    McNair, Patrick James Coleman
                    Mctominay, Scott
                    Mitchell, Demetri Karim
                    O’Hara, Kieran Michael
                    Pearson, Benjamin David
                    Poole, Regan Leslie
                    Powell, Nicholas Edward
                    Rashford, Marcus
                    Redmond, Devonte Vincent
                    Reid, Tyler
                    Riley, Joe
                    Rothwell, Joseph Matthew
                    Scott, Charlie Thomas
                    Shaw, Luke Paul Hoare
                    Thompson, Jordan Andrew
                    Thorpe, Thomas Joseph
                    Tuanzebe, Axel
                    Varela Olivera, Guillermo
                    Weir, James Michael
                    Willock, Matthew
                    Wilson, James Antony
                    Last edited by Jangle; September 4, 2014, 12:28 PM.