I would like to discuss technique at

• I would like to discuss technique at

the club level in Ja. How many times is the elastico and vaselina executed in club games? The vaselina when mastered is even more deadly and can decide games at the highest level. Case in point Dempsey could have tied up Belgium had he mastered this trick (not coming down hard on him as I like him as a player.

The Brazilians have mastered both techniques. The Germans and Argentinians have to learn how to master these techniques.

I was dealing with football at the club level in Ja; not football among WC CHAMPIONS. Please read over my post. Thanks.

I may want to speak about passing and passing accurately, also holding the ball for extended periods at the club level in Ja. Feel free to contribute RELEVANT material.

The elastico
          I think it was a part of the bag of tricks these Jamaicans each had - Allan "Skill" Cole - http://www.bob-marley.es/wp-content/...ionato_234.jpg, Lenworth "Teacher" Hyde and Theodore "Tappa" Whitmore?

King J., I am an eternal learner like yourself.

I did not know the terms you introduced, were not attributable to WC champions.

My apologies.

Hope you are doing well.

JAWGE!!! Have you heard the saying - "You need to learn how to walk before you start running"???
              These players are not being effectively/properly taught the BASICS of the game, but you want them to "execute the elastico & the vaselina"???......I'm sure Ronaldinho & others had to master the BASICS before moving on to those "techniques", BUT if you have evidence to prove other wise then please post.

But a weh di...

Why do I feel like I have a mastered a thing or two about at least one of them?!?!

FOOTBALL, Mosiah!!! This is about FOOTBALL.

It can be attributed to world champions but my argument right now centers around local clubs in Ja.

Yes Karl that is nice but I'm talking about present day footballers in Ja.

Well that was the point I was coming towards. If no then the basics would be found lacking. What is the reason for Ja players' inability to pass in tight spaces (also enjoy holding the ball)?

The answer lies in what these players did between six and fourteen years of age. Were these players playing futsal under the supervision of a licensed coach then? No. Futsal accelerates skill in players and it gives them confidence with the ball on the big field. These players always see an opening because to them they have lots of space.

I still stand by my word where the kids from six to fourteen playing futsal in JA should be registered and monitored with the JFF. This way Ja has an insight on their talent way ahead of time. If these players start playing on the big field (except for half of it doing six a side) they should be deemed ineligible for a national call up (because they will only waste time). Ja has to get serious about developing its own talent. This way Ja have a solid core group going into qualifiers.

Athleticism can only take you so far without technique you are doomed against quality teams.

I did ask how often are those techniques used in Ja's league. Well here is a foreign club with a foreign player executing the said technique on Jakan soil.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9zKn6J1W54

Dribbling is not for entertaining it's away for creating space. Space for what? either opening passes for team mates or provide an opening to score. What our local players need to learn is how to use varied techniques in succession and not spend too much touches on the ball.

The DC player after beating the defenders immediately executed the vaselina (decisions). This (decision) I will discuss at length in the development of a player. BTW Ja is wasting time; because of not having an academy. If you are not playing Pro in an established league by 18; it makes sense to start thinking about a career change. It's the truth.

Now often is the Vaselina or elastico used in Ja's local league?

Yes see it here unnuh check this out.

Not eben did know seh dem ting yah did hab assigned name. Yuh nuh really haffi use di Ronaldinho one kah nuff diffran way fi beat defendah. Di chip nuh suh easy fi mastah, dat tek an outstanding playah fi execute dat deh.