Got to start somewhere and building centers is a massive cost, we don't need that now, we just need application of knowledge in a decent environment, continuity of personnel and program is the key.
Quest -whither Sterling&Aarons if still yard side?
Agreed, behind that a 100 % and the thing is we have the institutions across the Island to implement such.I hear these guys on radio, big heads, talking about the USA model of academy, or academy models, none has yet to suggest a commonsense approach, or look at a C. Rica model of exporting.
The progressives arent in the say in our football.Maybe Schaffer.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Gamma View Postkarl ...... this sounds awful like a call to arms for an academy?!!! when did this happen?
- You are not utilizing to optimum potential the school system - (as the school system is the feeder system to the external academies).
...did you see the connection/consistency with opinion(s) stating we have already in place:
- system whereon there is exposure of our talented youngsters;
- testing...cognitive testing of our kids;
- poor football leaders/administrators...teachers/coaches;
- underutilization or 'non-existent' use of our human and capital resources;
- poor results on graduate students i.e. poor quality players and TEAMs?...etc., etc?
All tied to main theme - No coherent development pattern...or policy...or set of acts by our leaders!
The main site has a number of articles setting out my position - including "schools are our academies". ...and even in that context of "schools are our academies" I have stated there are "no academies" currently on the island as any such named entity is maned by "marrers" (as from to mar)=ignorant teachers/coaches.
...yuh nuh memba mi a use di term "fram Morant Pint tuh Negril Pint" an fram di plains of Vere tuh di hills of Cedar Valley"? ...an ow dat fit innah di consistent cry for ALL-ISLAND development such that not one of our talented is denied access to avenues that lead to upward mobility?
Yuh more suited fi Shady Pines dan mi ...but space deh yah. rope eeenh?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
What you not sure about??? Even if they have them English paper, coach would be begging them to play one more season a manning cup.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Gamma View Postyuh circular yet obtuse reasoning is without doubt beyond measure or compare. yuh mek captain conundrum look like him naw try!!! THAT is what driving mi crazy!
...and also, your resistance to logic and therefore the acceptance that our schools by name and nature are academies...awaiting administrations - specific to each school and within the wider fame-work of fit in education policy - as it relates to academic aim and our targeted sports disciplines - proper use.
Academy - a place of study or training in a special field.
synonyms: educational institution, school, college, university...
So why are you holding to the position that 'best practices' not be applied to teaching kids how to 'do football'...just as it should be applied to say, 'do mathematics'?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
It would be a good start. Not sure how you arrived at the costing which I think would be more than posited for various reasons BUT it would be a good start. I can only see this happening though through private initiative.
My extra curricular football is not the best way to develope our players you need academies for that pure and simple. It is NOT the job of high schools to do so?
that has been my position all along. Simple.
I only see this happening with a conference of the diaspora led by the JFF in a repetitive sense to follow up on its progress.
We are wasting time with this building the academy foolishness.Commonsense progressive initiatives like Stoni just mentioned.I believe it was also mentioned in the past by Karl and others where we would get more out of using local institutions GC foster,Mico etc.
This is more broad based where it would be spread across the Island into the counties , Cornwall , Middlesex and Surrey ,it should be broken down even further to parishes at at disadvantage (special programs).
Its feasible.I hope I am on the same page as Stoni.An export program of youth must also be in place, not every youth is going to be a part of the national set up or a local club.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Gamma View PostMy extra curricular football is not the best way to develope our top quality players you need academies for that pure and simple. It is NOT the job of high schools to do so?
that has been my position all along. Simple.
btw - Happy to see you are reconsidering or vacillating. Your "?"It is NOT the job of high schools to do so?
Cho Gamma man...matters not the discipline, our schools are there to provide 'best' learning environment. It is stupid or acting as frauds to hold selves out as providing quality teaching and deliberately fail to so do.
Some of our teachers are now realizing that engaging in providing less than stellar learning environment is akin to engaging in criminal action or moral decadence...a taking of financial compensation for services not rendered...a failure to honour terms of their contracts. In your profession there is a process whereon redress can be sought.
More is the pity that we were not encouraged...motivated to 'put our all' in
area of endevour. After all as we went along there was the choice on subjects 'to carry' and 'to leave behind'. We should have been surely encouraged to be the best we could be at each discipline up until that time for decision of 'to carry' or 'leave behind'. ...but was it not then as it is now failing teachers? Teachers who failed to/at teaching? Yup! ...got us to form our positions on going to school/our academies to 'play the fool'/put in less than full focus on or attention on some disciplines. We have been well taught by those our teachers. Oooh God, what 'marring of generations through generations'?
Guess that is why in our JA we have so many lawyer scamps - (choose any area - teacher scamps or doctor scamps, accountant scamps, police scamps, etc., etc...they have been taught (by example of their teachers) to 'not try'/give less than full effort...using their teachers' examples, reap the financial returns.
Yuh kno wah mek mi lef dis.Last edited by Karl; September 3, 2014, 02:29 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Thats where the conference comes from(brain storming) , thats a part of the discussion, Diaspora meaning those overseas with intererst in developing Jamaican football, I am sure some marketing GURU is waiting to plug his little knowledge into what can work.
Or someone sees as away to fund and implement said ventures.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!