Hyde in football, how good is he exactly?

I believe the height was 36". More importantly the distance between the hurdles were perfect for me. I was often told that my technique was perfect and other event competitors would take a break to watch me glide over the Class 3 hurdles.

Class 2 now, is where it got challenging. The hurdles moved up a little in height and I could maintain my stride pattern, but just barely. However, whereas I could do well with just technique in the lower class, I now had to compete with sprinters who also had decent technique. I was not a sprinter! Managed get a silver medal at Western Champs in my first year Class 2 and then wisely gave it up.

Did you say 60s?!?

Wrenk!

Stop the press!!! Western Champs????? All along you had the forum believing that your medal was won at the mecca of Jamaica's Track & Field, the National Stadium. I can bet you were still singing soprano at MunroE when you won your little medal in '55.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yuh clown hat tight pon yuh 'ead?

The Champs silver was in Class 3, claffy! Incidentally, my Western Champs Class 3 record stood for almost 20 years!

I did not qualify for the final in Class 2 at Champs. Hey, yuh have to give others a chance!

Did you say 60s?!?

Wrenk!
            lol

I was often told that my technique was perfect and other event competitors would take a break to watch me glide over the Class 3 hurdles.

mi spleen!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm a genius! I wrote the above post before I saw this:

http://hurdlesfirstbeta.com/free-art...tride-pattern/

They also used the word "ambidextrous"!

I'm good!
                Why do think after seeing the above your previous comments make you a genius?

The writer compares stride lengths and frequency of a number of hurdlers in the chosen races. How would that compare with latter day hurdlers...and most importantly "the why" on the changes in frequency of strides and also length of strides?

The first paragraph of the conclusion says it all -
                Conclusion
                Really, all this analysis of various hurdlers’ stride patterns leads to no definite conclusions, but what it does prove is that all approaches work, but that there is no one approach that works for everybody.
                The final sentence in the conclusion emphasizes that hurdling demands of the athlete importance on "getting it right"...through use of various repetitive exercises and attention to detail on a host of areas -
                everybody has their bread and butter. For some it’s quickness, for some it’s strength, for some it’s endurance, and for some it’s length.
                [B]It also includes the advice:B] As a hurdler, it’s important to figure out what your bread and butter is, and to base your approach to the 400m hurdles on accentuating those qualities before making any major alterations to your race strategy.

In this last paragraph there is the unstated rearing its head - i.e. make the alternations on improvements in each area during practice...being mentally strong during a race coupled with the worked at conditioned reflexes produces 'best' during that race.

The coincidence of the use of the word "ambidextrous" got me all excited. Simply that!

Read again, I said speed with skill not speed without skill or speed with a little skill, Shelton is the latter.

We can actually do much more with good speed and average skill than we can with good skill and average speed.

Speed separates and can create significant space, skill creates marginal space in a short period of time, speed with skill creates massive space, almost like jumping time, actually it is jumping time, you gain significant advantages in time and space with that combination. See Ronaldo, see Messi, see Bale! Speed and skill combination is off the charts. Sterling is on the path, let's see how that develops.

The coincidence of the use of the word "ambidextrous" got me all excited. Simply that!
                      Got yuh!