Hyde is the kind of quality raw talent we been missing?

how many young jamaican footballers have you followed that have gone on to multi-million dollar footballing careers? how man young footballers have you followed on trial then when they get sent home say that they asked to be released because they prefer to play for Waterhouse/Harbour View/insert nondescript npl team here :snicker:
    What has this to do with 'the price of bread'?

18 goals in ten matches that is serious scoring. That sound like domination to me.

This is funny cause some man think ten goal in thirty eight matches is like lighting the world afire.

Where does Hyde rank in Schoolboy football among his peers ?

Where does he rank in Track and Field among...well.. among all pon di planet ?

18 goals in what competition ?

Under 17 World Cup qualifying ?

Ah wheh di ?!

Well, he did score a hattrick against Bermuda.

Rath... is Barca Academy aware of this ??!

Please expect to hear from my lawyer. I am going to sue you for causing me to burn myself with hot coffee!! LOL!!

DWL!

Pepe? Nandi? Come now Karl, that is just ridiculous.
                    What is ridiculous about age and period at which a novice - Pepe? Nandi? ...Yup they had to discard the 'nonsense' taught to them as 'truth' and re-educate self in weeks such that they could 'win' professional contracts. - grasps the fundaments that allows for improvement such that a professional contract could be held for years?

Hyde could be faster learner...and he already has attributes that Nandi or Pepe never had at the heights of their careers - excellent pace across ground...and youth - with possible young malleable mind that 'good teaching/coaching would more rapidly shape than that of the minds of Pepe and Nandi with deep seated 'wrongs' believed 'truths' ...but would bet on it.

Cho man, the comparison is one that asks for thinking on what may be possible. ...amount of talent and quantity of possible potential.

Pepe is a legend when you think about it, he was quite slow and wasn't fundamentally disciplined in a dutiful kind of way, but yes he learned fast maximizing his ball brain and creating a discipline to club which served him well, he clearly had /has an ability to connect some dots relationship wise and football wise which made him indispensable for his club.

Hyde however has a level of discipline and ambition up to this point that we have never really seen before, certainly not in the last fifty years. To attempt the short and long hurdles in one season in two world championships is phenomenal at that level.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                        Pepe is a legend when you think about it, he was quite slow and wasn't fundamentally disciplined in a dutiful kind of way, but yes he learned fast maximizing his ball brain and creating a discipline to club which served him well, he clearly had /has an ability to connect some dots relationship wise and football wise which made him indispensable for his club.

Hyde however has a level of discipline and ambition up to this point that we have never really seen before, certainly not in the last fifty years. To attempt the short and long hurdles in one season in two world championships is phenomenal at that level.
                        YesI=YesI-yah!

What is ridiculous is the suggestion that either of them have earned anywhere close to what the top class hurdlers have earned.

You really think Pepe or Nandi ever came close to US 6 million a year?

What is ridiculous is the suggestion that either of them have earned anywhere close to what the top class hurdlers have earned.

You really think Pepe or Nandi ever came close to US 6 million a year?
                            Is it that U$6 million a year is the benchmark of what a top athlete can reasonable expect to earn?

It would be interesting to have stated criteria on boundaries within which an athlete should fall to be considered a top athlete plying trade in track and field?

To see how many of such athletes would then be considered top athletes?

Earnings of the top 10 of such top athletes?

...and also average earnings of the total athletes considered top athletes within that grouping? Yup! ...would be interesting?

Bolt is in a class by himself...a trailblazer whose success path as athlete it could be argued will not come often. It is mighty interesting to see the level of conviction some have in Jaheel following along similar path. They may be correct. However, Jaheel's expected accomplishments within context of hurdles Bolt had to overcome on his path causes me pause as I think on obstacles to surmount that Jaheel shall have to conquer as he travels his path to either a track or football professional athlete.

U$6,000,000/year earnings as accepted benchmark on whether or not a professional athlete is top of his trade=successful? I think not! Currently it may be that total earnings over the athlete's useful career may be a better 'marker'...? Certainly that U$6,000,000 earned in a year by hurdler Liu Xiang is an outlier...rare feat...even a one of a kind statistic? Right?

Xiang may be something of an outlier, for now, but other hurdlers have earned decent money.Dayron Robles of Cuba was earning a few hundred thousand a year (before Cuba took their share) Lolo Jones had some lucrative endorsement deals.

Also, we all know that one phenom can reset what everyone else earns in an event.

Do we know of any other 400 and 110m hurdler?

Forget what Liu and Robles did. The paradigm has shifted, people!