Hyde is the kind of quality raw talent we been missing?

Not sure Hyde would be considered one who was "dominating his age group".

I remember when he decided to leave football and concentrate on T&F, I was disappointed and thought perhaps that was a wrong and certainly a premature decision. Several world championship hurdles titles later, I don't feel too badly about his choice.

His becoming a world class balla is not a ridiculous discussion. He's only 17 years old with some football pedigree. But if that were to happen there would have to be foreign intervention right away. He's never going to become what you have in mind by playing football in Jamaica.

Stoni, you are talking potential vs. proven ability. It is clear that on the track this young man could quite likely go to dominate the events that he has won gold medals in for the next decade or longer.

If he were to chose to pursue a football career he'd be taking a much much greater risk of having a lucrative sports career than were he to stick to track.

If he were your son, how would you advise him? notwithstanding his own personal love for one sport over another.

I remember when he decided to leave football and concentrate on T&F, I was disappointed and thought perhaps that was a wrong and certainly a premature decision.
        I remember that well...i also remember chastising you for your foolish stance on the move

When Hyde played Manning Cup games he definitely dominated. He is better at track, but he is one of the elite players in schoolboy football.

Hyde has some serious potential in football.....IF, he can secure an overseas contract. With his speed and discipline, he can become world class. However, his hurdling achievement shows that he is ready to run with the big boys......and he is ONLT 17. He's is obviously a phenomenon ala Usain Bolt. He is so smooth over those hurdles and hasn't been pushed by his peers that his potential optimum is mind-boggling. His 400m hurdling technique is ridiculously easy, and once he cuts out his constant looking around, then the sky is the limit. He is also a very good 400m runner. Jamaica's male 4 x 400 is looking stronger for the future.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I've seen him several times and I agree he's good (for Manning Cup level) and was one of the elite in the competition .... but he was not the best player over the season

But the main point is using performance at schoolboy level to evaluate or predict outcomes at world level ball... now that's ridiculous since school ball is substandard
              Last edited by Don1; August 25, 2014, 11:10 AM.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                When Hyde played Manning Cup games he definitely dominated. He is better at track, but he is one of the elite players in schoolboy football.
                I didn't think so. Anyway...

How many goals did he score last year for Wolmers?

Oh, I understand he does very well academically!

I can only hope he won't be repeating 6 form 3 times to play Manning Cup ball. LOL.

May he will dominate at 18

“I like the hurdles because it demands a lot of focus and I am the sort of person who loves to focus. I just kept going back each year to hurdles training and slowly improved.”

“I guess I saw the light, followed my heart and I went with track and field,” says Hyde, a passionate fan of the English Premier League side Arsenal.
                      Hyde admitted it was a decision which caused “a lot of problems” at home as his father was keen for his son to pursue his football career, but the decision was made and it proved the right one.

http://www.iaaf.org/news/feature/jah...-games-feature

This should put all arguments and speculations to rest. End of story.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

He could change his mind you know... It's been known to happen!

18 goals.

Then I guess no one was dominant in Manning Cup.

On the other hand, where was Karl when Luton Shelton began showing some promise? He could have saved him from an ordinary football career and steered him towards the track!
                              You never know how these things will turn out.
                              Why?

Simple the athlete almost always concentrate on one to the detriment of the other. ...even athletes such as a Bo Jackson if time had been spent on his so called weaker sport was reversed with that of his so called stronger sport...who knows what would have been the outcome.

btw - Hyde currently spends more time on track and field...and only a month or two on football - (My guess would be actual time spent on football - total hours - would be less 3 weeks per year. That would mean there is tremendous upside to maximizing on his potential). So who knows what would be the outcome if he moves to an established world renowned club academy or TEAM setting and he spends just as much time or more time on football? Another Thomas Mueller...a great?

2ndly do not kick puppa lick on or about his current accomplishments and be blinded to it being "a whole different world" when there is transition to motoring over the higher hurdles. If today, he runs the higher 110MH and 400MH in times approaching on or around 13.50 sec. and 51.00 sec. respectively I would say maybe he hits TOP OF THE WORLD!!!!

I have followed too many youth/junior athletes who burn the world at the age-group stage and fail at making the transition to rouse me out of 'low burn' awakening interest. We all, I am sure shall follow young Mr. Hyde with interest.

how many young jamaican footballers have you followed that have gone on to multi-million dollar footballing careers? how man young footballers have you followed on trial then when they get sent home say that they asked to be released because they prefer to play for Waterhouse/Harbour View/insert nondescript npl team here :snicker: