Hyde is the kind of quality raw talent we been missing?

Karl, every great player in the 80s held the ball too long and were not particularly great about supporting the ball. For someone who watches footage of old matches over and over again, I'm a little surprised you'd be so harsh on Lenny.
    I am not harsh... You said it, you would not wish our present ballas to act on the field as the players of old when it comes to holding the ball too long. That is not harsh that is commonsense. As I said to Sass - I am not blaming Lenny. Just facing the reality of 'time moving on'.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      Jaheel Hyde, as it seems now, has a very bright future as a track and field athlete! Having won gold medals and set records at EVERY global meet that exists, he’s obviously among the most talented junior hurdlers the world has ever seen! In fact, he probably is the greatest junior hurdler ever!

Now, why do you even suggest relegating him to the barren wasteland of Jamaican soccer? Really, why would you want to do this?

Let Hyde continue to develop as a track and field athlete, boss!! Clearly, the Reggae Boyz are going nowhere right now, even if Hyde is added.

Now why would you think I am even considering him remaining in Jamaica. He needs to be given a crash course on playing football and placed in a professional setting. ...and the best for him would be that happening in the next transfer window. Belgium would be good!

...but that would depend on his and his parents willingness to make such a leap if the opportunity arises. If it doesn't there is no decision to make. He remains a track and field athlete if he so wishes.
      Last edited by Karl; August 24, 2014, 11:28 PM.

Then why say, "His Dad at 25 did not know the game!!!", when he was only playing it the way all the greats did at the time?!

What Karl nuh realize is that by 25 Hutchinson of CC pretty much retired and Lennie was playing Recreational ball game.

At 18, Lennie was a top prospect.

Then why say, "His Dad at 25 did not know the game!!!", when he was only playing it the way all the greats did at the time?!
            ...only as it related to the idea of holding the ball too long before passing. Not how he played. He was nowhere near a great player. He was an 'oooh and aaaah' player as it relates to how he could beat an opponent.

Lenny had tremendous potential. ...and lousy teachers!!! Was it his fault his teachers were lousy? The teachers did not know the game! Their students learned from them! ...and thus themselves did not know the game!!! They were on TEAM game taught crap and gobbled it up.

Do you think the (current) quality of footballers we produce is a result of/the result of good teaching/coaching?

What Karl nuh realize is that by 25 Hutchinson of CC pretty much retired and Lennie was playing Recreational ball game.

At 18, Lennie was a top prospect.
              Agreed Lenny and Den-Den had great potential.
              ...but how do you arrive at Lenny as JA player indulging knowingly in playing "Recreational ball"?

Yes, more than young enough and with what he gas done in track, a top club would be more than willing to take a shot.

Speed and endurance separately is off the charts!!!! Combined he stands atop Everest by himself! If he is skilled at all with a good first touch and quick brain body combo he is burning up with potential.

His discipline is also off the charts, you know what it takes to master one technical event not to mention two that literally have no relationship except that you are jumping over a barrier, the two events are literally A to Z, chalk to cheese etc etc.,

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                  Yes, more than young enough and with what he gas done in track, a top club would be more than willing to take a shot.

Speed and endurance separately is off the charts!!!! Combined he stands atop Everest by himself! If he is skilled at all with a good first touch and quick brain body combo he is burning up with potential.

His discipline is also off the charts, you know what it takes to master one technical event not to mention two that literally have no relationship except that you are jumping over a barrier, the two events are literally A to Z, chalk to cheese etc etc.,
                  There is no doubt that several clubs, not just the top ones, would do anything for Jaheel Hyde. It's not like they would have to start from scratch with him.

I disagree that the two events are dissimilar. For some athletes, maybe. In my view, hurdles is all about stride length, esp. at the shorter distance, and technique.

Imagine the possibilities.. it would be almost impossible to slide tackle him..

This thread is straight from the twilight-zone...

Is a damn good thing Usain never show any ball skills early in his career... some would have him playing right-wing for the Reggaeboyz instead of wasting his time running pon track !

Or Yohan Blake for that matter

Yohan would be playing first team cricket....for St Catherine parish!

Twilight Zone for real. Sigh.

On the other hand, where was Karl when Luton Shelton began showing some promise? He could have saved him from an ordinary football career and steered him towards the track!

It's twilight zone to discuss if the most talented track possibility who has jamaican football pedigree should play ball as a primary focus rather than track and field.

That is called an evaluation of basic options, a cost benefit analysis, if we can't do that can we do anything, the case if it is twilight zone should be so lopsided that we shouldn't have the conversation but obviously this is more even that you would like to think.

Usain or Blake never showed the kind of football potential that this guy has shown, not even close and hurdles is not like a straight running contest so it requires much better body dexterity which he clearly has and which football requires, the discipline to actually win events at this level across all comers in a short and long hurdles event shows a level of discipline and commitment which is unusual to say the least. Come on Maudib open you yeyes and see the potential that this kid can bring on the ball side.

Exactly we are comparing a like for another sport for usain and Blake that from a real talent perspective they are marginal versus a youth that has shown he can dominate his age group right now in playing ball, best of the current crop of players with very good results.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                                Hyde is exactly what we have been missing in jamaican ball, clearly we struggle at producing superior skill with superior speed however if Hyde has decent better than average skill and has anything close to what his dad had then with his speed and endurance, strength and discipline it is clear that he could develop into the kind of cornerstone player we need for the Jamaican squad. The potential that he has is unbelievable if he has above average skill.

A beacon that clearly shows advantages that are based on speed, strength and discipline would potentially change the kind of players that get developed in the domestic game.
                                For all the theorizing, Hyde should purse the sport he wants, whether it's track or football

BTW he was not "dominating" Manning Cup as you seem to believe.... he was not even the best player in that relatively low standard recreational competition

However as a junior hurdler his absolutely world class credentials are unquestionable. Do the math Stoni.

I admire your new found love for youth development and wish that you continue the affair... but Hyde playing football would not be a game changer for the RBZ
                                Last edited by Don1; August 25, 2014, 09:19 AM.