Hyde is the kind of quality raw talent we been missing?

• Hyde is the kind of quality raw talent we been missing?

Hyde is exactly what we have been missing in jamaican ball, clearly we struggle at producing superior skill with superior speed however if Hyde has decent better than average skill and has anything close to what his dad had then with his speed and endurance, strength and discipline it is clear that he could develop into the kind of cornerstone player we need for the Jamaican squad. The potential that he has is unbelievable if he has above average skill.

A beacon that clearly shows advantages that are based on speed, strength and discipline would potentially change the kind of players that get developed in the domestic game.

going to develop him at 18 years old? you fellows have lost the plot...

..his Dad's skill but smarter player/more educated player?

More educated 'knows the game'.

His Dad at 25 did not know the game!!! Great bruker and scorer of some spectacular goals...but never had the coaching -(granted he played for Chungie at Clarendon College but Chungie now is a different coach from Chungie then) - whereon his knowledge of the game allowed for the playing of FOOTBALL...real football. Too often held the ball too long! Never knew or never often made intelligent support runs both on attack and defense! Never maximized his talent on adding to TEAM performance. ...granted that within context of poor TEAM playing mates. ...but I would not wish on young Hyde the lack of knowledge of 'how the game should be played' that was his father's lot.

young? he is 18...not 8

How old was "Bibi" when played at a professional club? ...how old was "Willy Boo"?

I think they went on to make muli-millions of pounds?

...and btw - How old was '"Nandi" when he went to a professional club? ...and what Division was that? ...and how much he made?

...and "Pepe"?

I would bet my bottom dollar that over period as professional footballer they all made more than any hurdler made as hurdler plus any associated sum the hurdler made e.g. from use of image and in ads?

Karl did you see CC play? They had some of the best ball movement for schoolboys. There as some good combination playing there. Lennie adult era was one where nothing much was going on for Jamaican football and it didn't help that some of his team mates were involved in either petty burglary if my memory serve me right.

Forget It !!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              Hyde is exactly what we have been missing in jamaican ball, clearly we struggle at producing superior skill with superior speed however if Hyde has decent better than average skill and has anything close to what his dad had then with his speed and endurance, strength and discipline it is clear that he could develop into the kind of cornerstone player we need for the Jamaican squad. The potential that he has is unbelievable if he has above average skill.

A beacon that clearly shows advantages that are based on speed, strength and discipline would potentially change the kind of players that get developed in the domestic game.
              Jaheel Hyde, as it seems now, has a very bright future as a track and field athlete! Having won gold medals and set records at EVERY global meet that exists, he’s obviously among the most talented junior hurdlers the world has ever seen! In fact, he probably is the greatest junior hurdler ever!

Now, why do you even suggest relegating him to the barren wasteland of Jamaican soccer? Really, why would you want to do this?

Let Hyde continue to develop as a track and field athlete, boss!! Clearly, the Reggae Boyz are going nowhere right now, even if Hyde is added.

Karl did you see CC play? They had some of the best ball movement for schoolboys. There as some good combination playing there. Lennie adult era was one where nothing much was going on for Jamaican football and it didn't help that some of his team mates were involved in either petty burglary if my memory serve me right.
                Sass: I followed that team along with others during that 1977 season. Was on the line at Clarendon College during the Olivier Shield final - Clarence Cook was in the middle and Winston "Dirks" Campbell was on the other line (26 Nov. 1977). So I had a front row seat at that very important match.

I also did a two-ref controlled match with my good friend, the late Stan Strachan at Dinthill (Dinthill v Clarendon College - 20 Oct. 1977).

Also watched and ref 'a lot' of KSAFA's Major League and The JFF's Premier League football. I watched a lot of football in JA when Lennie played for BT....and refereed quite a few in which he was involved....but you must understand I am not blaming Lennie but his teachers/coaches. Lennie, I think, had the goods to be a good professional footballer.
                Last edited by Karl; August 24, 2014, 07:27 PM.

More educated 'knows the game'.

His Dad at 25 did not know the game!!! Great bruker and scorer of some spectacular goals...but never had the coaching -(granted he played for Chungie at Clarendon College but Chungie now is a different coach from Chungie then) - whereon his knowledge of the game allowed for the playing of FOOTBALL...real football. Too often held the ball too long! Never knew or never often made intelligent support runs both on attack and defense! Never maximized his talent on adding to TEAM performance. ...granted that within context of poor TEAM playing mates. ...but I would not wish on young Hyde the lack of knowledge of 'how the game should be played' that was his father's lot.
                  Karl, every great player in the 80s held the ball too long and were not particularly great about supporting the ball. For someone who watches footage of old matches over and over again, I'm a little surprised you'd be so harsh on Lenny.

I would bet my bottom dollar that over period as professional footballer they all made more than any hurdler made as hurdler plus any associated sum the hurdler made e.g. from use of image and in ads?
                    yuh related to Don2? this not "any" hurdler...let us compare him to liu xiang let's say...and he only did one event...need i say anymore oh clueless Karl?

http://english.people.com.cn/102774/8081724.html

Hyde can potentially make many times more. Do we realise we are looking at an absolute phenom?!

There was no pathway at all. teacha Hyde was brilliant on the ball, perfect control between brain and body, if his son have a lot of that plus what he already have in terms of speed, strength and discipline he could be a real game changer for Jamaican ball.

I would love to see what kind of success he could find with his combination of talents. I think if he was to succeed there would be great change just in terms of the selection process and putting more eggs and resources into finding the best athletes with best aptitude for discipline and brain to body control, all things that can be easily identified with a little pen and paper and repetition, consistency in measuring these things over time.

Pity he wasn't born in Brazil. But we wouldn't have then.

Pepe? Nandi? Come now Karl, that is just ridiculous.

i think "we" do...is just Karl & Stonigut caught up in some whimsical fairy tale...