The next signings will define Liverpool's season...

• The next signings will define Liverpool's season...

Peter, Stoni, Mo - I am sure you were all equally unimpressed and concerned with the Reds performance at HOME yesterday against Southampton. There were several concerns, but suffice to say, we eeked out a win when the game should have been put away early. Overall, the players did a good job, except for imo Johnson, but the glaring issue for me was that the tempo was far too slow for my liking. I give the coach credit for bringing on Lambert, as it actually created the space Sturridge needed to move and secure the win. However, the team's performance made it CLEAR that we need another top class striker, and Lambert at his age ain't it. We also need a playmaker, as Gerrard has clearly lost pace, a turtle could beat him in a sprint these days and he was not effective playing off Lucas as an attacker - he was better as a defender.

Anyway, we all have heard the rumours about Cavani, Falcao, Reus coming to Anfield. To me, if the manager can 1) increase the tempo the team plays at and 2) engineer Reus and any one of the other two before the close of the window, Liverpool will have a *spectacular* silver-ware winning season. If not, I hold my breath and hope the boys step up. To ask them to fill the 31 goal void left by Suarez is a big ask, but we are better defensively and we are also a far deeper team than last year, less the goal scoring output (major goal scoring output) of one Luis Suarez. This will be a defining season for Rodgers and it weighs heavily on his remaining transfer business. What do you think?

================================================== ===
    And X, shaddup! No badda shub u mout eena fi wi bizniz. Tek the 2-0 unu get wey wid at Newcastle and siddung. Me sorry fi you next week - you probably ago wear a purple shirt (mix of blue and red)! LOL!!! Traitor. Fifth Columnsh!t. Me see sey you put Napoli as one of your teams in the Fantasy League...LOL!!!! You are too funny. Why you leave off City? LOL!!!

Liverpool are in for a rude awakening!!

Easy wid im heart....it weak ..hehe.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Liverpool is in a decent spot. They can finish goals. You have at least 3 or 4 players who can finish. Look for a good amount of penalties as Sturridge and Sterling going to give defenders problem. Again the weakest place I see is Johnson at the back. Lucas need to make this a defining season. Remember you still have some injuries working with. Joe Allen hasn't improved one bit.

Southampton look like a good team.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
          Liverpool are in for a rude awakening!!
          That's what unu did seh before the 5-0 wi tump unu wid las' year at Anfield. Still, a rude awakening implies we are asleep...that, I can assure you...is not the case.

AAhhh Sass , yuh see the weak link ...Joe Allen di foolishness im play this sunday , but I see some in the english media ave im as possible MOM, midfield position of Gerrad, Henderson Allen & Lucas in the middle has alot of tweaking to do ,Allen to me is a no no , but hey youth coach love him.

Can and Lazaric, Lallana could be the difference.

Let’s look at the other midfielders in Liverpool’s first team:
            Defensive midfielders Lucas Leiva, 27, mastered the role a few years ago, but injuries have thrown his Liverpool career off track, and he no longer is an automatic starter. But Lucas has an important role to play, and he should be included in most game-day squads. That is, unless Lucas’ form dips, he suffers an injury or another player overtakes him in Rodgers’ pecking order. Emre Can, 20, is such a player. Can, a £10 million ($16.7 million) summer signing from German club Bayer Leverkusen, plays a number of positions, but his preferred spot is a deep one in central midfield. If Can lives up to his billing as “one of the biggest talents in German football,” he could displace a number of players in a number of positions.

Central midfielders These players are expected to do much of the running in Rodgers’ system, and energy and quality are at a premium. Jordan Henderson, 24, fits the mold perfectly. Henderson’s boundless energy and continued improvement compelled Rodgers to play him every minute in every game in all but five of Liverpool’s Premier League contests last season (he was suspended for two of them). Henderson’s spot is secure, and he will feature heavily in 2014-15. Can and Joe Allen, 24, will vie for the other central midfield position. Allen currently might be ahead of Can because of his familiarity with Rodgers’ system and experience in England’s top flight. That could change once Can adapts to his new club’s style of play.

Attacking midfielders Phillippe Coutinho, 22, and Raheem Sterling, 19, headline this group. Liverpool probably won’t play with a midfield diamond too often, so Coutinho and Sterling might be the only ones to see action in a central attacking midfield role. Coutinho will be expected to unlock defenses with his vision and passing ability. The Brazilian also can play one of the central (box-to-box) midfield roles, but he is more valuable further forward. Sterling showed a versatility that belies his age when he excelled in this role in the final weeks of last season’s campaign. After exiting the 2014 World Cup with his credibility intact and starring in a number of Liverpool’s preseason games, Sterling is carrying great expectations. The budding star looks like he’s ready to meet them and bear more responsibility in 2014-15. New signings Adam Lallana, 26, and Lazar Markovic, 20, also can play in this role, but they are more likely to feature as forwards or wingers, so we’ll take a closer look at them when we assess Liverpool’s attacking options.

Read more at: http://nesn.com/2014/08/liverpool-sq...idfield-corps/

Striker in or not, top 4 should be a possibility , plus a trophy.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Liverpool is in a decent spot. They can finish goals. You have at least 3 or 4 players who can finish. Look for a good amount of penalties as Sturridge and Sterling going to give defenders problem. Again the weakest place I see is Johnson at the back. Lucas need to make this a defining season. Remember you still have some injuries working with. Joe Allen hasn't improved one bit.

The biggest thing is that we have a bench this year. So to me, get Reus and Falcao (or Cavani) and we would be a GREAT position. But the striker dem cost £50m and Reus £20m, so it really would be a statement of intent to spend £70m after dropping £115m (net -£39m). If he got Reus and Cavani/Falcao, (assuming he didn't sell Agger, Toure, etc.), he would be at a whopping £114m on a net spend basis. Ouch! Him betta bring home silver ware fi dat!!

Allen is not my choice and I would personally sell him, but he did a good job when he came on yesterday for Lucas. He put pressure on the Saints defense without dropping his own defensive support duties. Still, look at our bench this year compared to last year, there is NO COMPARISON. Our problem is the front man role - we need someone for Sturridge to play off of, and Lambert aint it against the top level teams.

Enjoy unuh one season of champions league football and get back to mediocrity.
                  As for the 5-0, accidents do happen!!

Allen gave away ever pass yesterday , Lambert had more of an influence than he did.
                    Last edited by Sir X; August 18, 2014, 11:44 AM.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                      Enjoy unuh one season of champions league football and get back to mediocrity.
                      As for the 5-0, accidents do happen!!
                      Accidents do happen? Is that what you would have said after the World Trade Center collapsed? LOL!!! You are beginning to sound like X now. Let's wait till May.

Easy wid im heart....it weak ..hehe.
                        He he he...weak? Okay - so if I did run go a City, would it be strong then?
                        LOL!!!

What Rodgers did was the right thing, even though X talking. Suarez played in almost every game last year when he was not suspended. You didn't have a bench. You think you can play Champions league, EPL and other leagues with such a thin squad like last year. Having squad numbers in critical to wining when you are in these competition. Don't really like Allen but him a "coach bwoy" and every team have one.

Who is the coach bwoy at Manu? LOL!!! Probably RVP. And at Chelsea? Oscar? City? Gummers? LOL!! Mi like da one deh. Of course Rodgers did the right thing, by now you don't know seh heX nuh know nuttin' bout ball? KMT.

Peter, Stoni, Mo - I am sure you were all equally unimpressed and concerned with the Reds performance at HOME yesterday against Southampton. There were several concerns, but suffice to say, we eeked out a win when the game should have been put away early. Overall, the players did a good job, except for imo Johnson, but the glaring issue for me was that the tempo was far too slow for my liking. I give the coach credit for bringing on Lambert, as it actually created the space Sturridge needed to move and secure the win. However, the team's performance made it CLEAR that we need another top class striker, and Lambert at his age ain't it. We also need a playmaker, as Gerrard has clearly lost pace, a turtle could beat him in a sprint these days and he was not effective playing off Lucas as an attacker - he was better as a defender.

Anyway, we all have heard the rumours about Cavani, Falcao, Reus coming to Anfield. To me, if the manager can 1) increase the tempo the team plays at and 2) engineer Reus and any one of the other two before the close of the window, Liverpool will have a *spectacular* silver-ware winning season. If not, I hold my breath and hope the boys step up. To ask them to fill the 31 goal void left by Suarez is a big ask, but we are better defensively and we are also a far deeper team than last year, less the goal scoring output (major goal scoring output) of one Luis Suarez. This will be a defining season for Rodgers and it weighs heavily on his remaining transfer business. What do you think?

================================================== ===
                              And X, shaddup! No badda shub u mout eena fi wi bizniz. Tek the 2-0 unu get wey wid at Newcastle and siddung. Me sorry fi you next week - you probably ago wear a purple shirt (mix of blue and red)! LOL!!! Traitor. Fifth Columnsh!t. Me see sey you put Napoli as one of your teams in the Fantasy League...LOL!!!! You are too funny. Why you leave off City? LOL!!!
                              Spot on with your analysis.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015