Where are our local Aaron's and Sterlings?

• Where are our local Aaron's and Sterlings?

They do not exist because we are not identifying and developing talent from the grassroots, our players are the tufts of grass left standing on the fringes of the worst fields, the survivors, what's left after 365 days of sun hot and drought, no fertilizer and Nuff trodding by man and beast with the only fertilizer and moisture coming literally from pure random chance and nature. They are strong and tough but the skill and speed combination is missing in action.

We have to get out of this ad hoc, random talent, survival business, Don1 is right for sure on this issue.

How is it possible that from 1970 to 2010 out of less than 150,000 actual emigrants from Ja to the uk and in terms of age group a much smaller number, that it is possible that the uk can unearth Jamaican born talent like Sterling And Aaron's skillfull and speedy add to that Barnes who migrated in the mid 70's yes he is in that 150k number, that is a remarkable production rate.

unnuh come een like a broken record...the UK has an academy system...just like every other top footballing nation in the world...not rocket science...unlees yuh name Karl or Don2

Valid question !...migrating or wasting away.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

obviously both...but it would skew more towards withering away...we don't know how to teach football in jamaica...remembering Carl Brown doing sand work before a game to "keep the muscles tight"

Absolutely nothing wrong with sand training. If Pellegrini did it, it would be considered smart and revolutionary, but is just because a Carl Brown.

Time for the self-hate to stop!

You must stop chat nonsense! No one does that and if pelligrini did it he too would be a fool as the effects would show. In fact if pelligrini waited until now to do it it he would be a bigger fool wheras if he was doing that before he would never make it to where he is

I wonder about Mosiah sometimes.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

You must stop chat nonsense! No one does that and if pelligrini did it he too would be a fool as the effects would show. In fact if pelligrini waited until now to do it it he would be a bigger fool wheras if he was doing that before he would never make it to where he is
                I stand by my opinion on sand training.

But we are all entitled to our own, even if it's grounded in ignorance.

Medical: Messi has been ‘training’ on the beach

Posted at: 14:30 on Tuesday, December 15, 2009 Category: News Written by: buj
                  Medical: Messi has been ‘training’ on the beach

FC Barcelona’s injured striker Lionel Messi was seen today exercising, under the supervision of physiotherapist Juanjo Brau, on the beach in front of the Shangri-La hotel where the team is staying during the tournament. The Argentine with a bandage on his right ankle was doing rehabilitation exercises, at times with a beach volleyball, on the sand for an hour to strengthen the muscles of the affected area. The player is expected to train with the team this afternoon.

Messi’s training at the beach, with its soft and uneven surface, has been used as a way to assess the stability of his ankle and to further strengthen the injured joints, and is called ‘Proprioception exercises’.

N.B. Pain caused by sprained ankles and a variety of other injuries common to highly trained athletes often have nothing to do with strength, joints flexibility or physical endurance. More often than not, sprains and strains have to do with balance. ‘Proprioception exercises’ or balance exercises can help the injury recover more quickly and should be performed as part of a prevention program. Poor balance is a good predictor of future ankle sprains.

Read more: http://www.totalbarca.com/2009/news/...#ixzz3AgqKPeaF

I think sand training is good but in offseason, not before games.

You think?!?! This is science bredren. Is not a think thing.

There may be some method to the perceived madness!!
                        http://www.sciencedirect.com/science...40244012001648

unnuh come een like a broken record...the UK has an academy system...just like every other top footballing nation in the world...not rocket science...unlees yuh name Karl or Don2
                          Bwoy?
                          Yuh luv major innah di minor eeenh?

It is not the name - UK Academy - but the teaching=coaching!
                          TALENT ABOUNDS! ...but it must be subjected to learning environment that nurtures, challenges and assists in development of the TALENTs to full potential. You could throw up "ACADEMIES" until you are blue in the face...if they do not provide good teachers/coaches (majority of) the TALENTs, as has been happening from our 'football's birth' go to the trash heap!!!

We need GOOD TEACHERS/COACHES!!!

Wow!

...remembering Carl Brown doing sand work before a game to "keep the muscles tight"
                            - Bricktop (ignorant, silly Bricktop)

In addition, sprinting on sand potentially entails a limited stretch of the involved muscles.
                            - Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport

Gamma and Tilla, there is no statute of limitations on apologies. Take your time!

Completely different scenario Mosiah and you know it!!! Beach training has long been a part of the pre season preparation even in track and field but never immediately before a game and you know it!

Stop being disingenuous!!!