Cane Cutting is a foul in the US youth league. if you make a slide tackle any atall evening if it is a ball winning tackle it is a fowl. Take me a while to get use to that but I am wondering, is this way to teach kids to stay on their feet and win the ball? or is it just protecting the kids?
I notice in youth Soccer in the US
Encourages using of the 'head' to unearth the many other ways of winning the ball. - One of the greatest is just playing off to a TEAMmate. Sometimes a toe is all that is needed."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Assasin View PostCane Cutting is a foul in the US youth league. if you make a slide tackle any atall evening if it is a ball winning tackle it is a fowl. Take me a while to get use to that but I am wondering, is this way to teach kids to stay on their feet and win the ball? or is it just protecting the kids?
I am split about it because it keeps the youths on their feet and learn to make tackles standing. But I don't see much wrong with a good slide tackle.
Also at least at U9 and under there is no red card. If a player is not playing in the spirit of the game he sis spoken to and his coach is spoken to.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Let the coaches do their job and the officials theirs! Simple. Suppose yuh have a coach that believes in the slide tackle or just like to see a certain amount of aggression from his defenders, why should a referee interfere?!?!
It's not everytime you can make a successful tackle on your feet. Thousands of game-saving tackles are made with slides.
But this instruction is coming from the either the US federation or the GA federation. I have to do some research to find out why this is the case.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostBut this instruction is coming from the either the US federation or the GA federation. I have to do some research to find out why this is the case."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Based on my readings, they think most U9s are not properly balanced enough and therefore it can be dangerous. Most leagues seems to think it is fine at the U12 level.
yeah I am split about it too.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostBased on my readings, they think most U9s are not properly balanced enough and therefore it can be dangerous. Most leagues seems to think it is fine at the U12 level.
yeah I am split about it too."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365