I notice in youth Soccer in the US

• I notice in youth Soccer in the US

Cane Cutting is a foul in the US youth league. if you make a slide tackle any atall evening if it is a ball winning tackle it is a fowl. Take me a while to get use to that but I am wondering, is this way to teach kids to stay on their feet and win the ball? or is it just protecting the kids?

Encourages using of the 'head' to unearth the many other ways of winning the ball. - One of the greatest is just playing off to a TEAMmate. Sometimes a toe is all that is needed.

Cane Cutting is a foul in the US youth league. if you make a slide tackle any atall evening if it is a ball winning tackle it is a fowl. Take me a while to get use to that but I am wondering, is this way to teach kids to stay on their feet and win the ball? or is it just protecting the kids?
      The officials should call what they see. Slide tackles are a part of the game. Call the illegal ones. Leave it to the coaches to discourage slide tackles and determine the philosophy of their own football.

I am split about it because it keeps the youths on their feet and learn to make tackles standing. But I don't see much wrong with a good slide tackle.

Also at least at U9 and under there is no red card. If a player is not playing in the spirit of the game he sis spoken to and his coach is spoken to.

Let the coaches do their job and the officials theirs! Simple. Suppose yuh have a coach that believes in the slide tackle or just like to see a certain amount of aggression from his defenders, why should a referee interfere?!?!

It's not everytime you can make a successful tackle on your feet. Thousands of game-saving tackles are made with slides.

But this instruction is coming from the either the US federation or the GA federation. I have to do some research to find out why this is the case.

In my opinion, it is a bad idea to discourage them, but rather, teach them how to do it properly...if they are just out there cutting people down, that clearly can't be good. Still, I have no problem with them discouraging them at U10/12 and lower, as it can probably be taught more effectively at later years.

Based on my readings, they think most U9s are not properly balanced enough and therefore it can be dangerous. Most leagues seems to think it is fine at the U12 level.

yeah I am split about it too.

Based on my readings, they think most U9s are not properly balanced enough and therefore it can be dangerous. Most leagues seems to think it is fine at the U12 level.

yeah I am split about it too.
                  I just completed the Florida Youth Soccer Association Youth Module (U6/U8/U10) and one of the things they brought up was that kids upper bodies develop faster than the lower body, so they are top heavy...so maybe there is something in that after all.

I fully understand the reasons behind discouraging it but I strongly believe it is not the referee's place to call it.