Beats watching American Ninja Warrior?
DC United vs Waterhouse FC (CONCACAF Champions League)
here is a page full of quality archived games i can watch...waste a time ting dat
http://livefootballvideo.com/fullmatch
I didn't remember that the game was on and caught the last 5 minutes. In those 5 minutes I saw Waterhouse taking up residence in DC's half. The plays were nothing to right home about but I saw a Waterhouse player taking a good free-kick. The ball was struck well but didn't give the goalkeeper any trouble. That's all she wrote.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Mosiah, I watched. Totally forgot about it until about the middle of the first half and by the time I started watching, DC United had already scored.
It was the same-o-same-o. We seem to lack the rudiments of the game. As Karl would say, "pass and move, move and pass" among other simple things like being able to pass a ball accurately to a man 10 to 15ft from you. The tendency to take shots which consistently off the frame of the goal that it does not even bother the goalkeeper is another concern.
Let me just say it plain and simple. I was disappointed at how the team played."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Strange!
Most people in the stadium I talked to thought that Waterhouse was the better of the two teams and were unfortunate not to have taken anything from the match.
I saw a lot of positives, the main one being the they looked like they belonged on the same field as their opponents. Waterhouse did not play scared and took the game to them on several occasions.
Vincent Earle was a general on the field and others showed that, with good coaching and a willingness to learn, they could start on any MLS team.
Hopefully, Waterhouse won't allow DC or Tauro to beat them at home and go on to qualify for the next stage of the CONCACAF Champions League.
I really did not think DC United played well either and I may be hard on Waterhouse because I wanted to see them do well. My frustration got the better of me when I saw them ignore simple passes and go for those in which they turn over the ball, as well as taking shots from way outside the box and seldom forcing a save out of the gk etc.
Hey, maybe I am a bit negative and not force myself to see the positives. I guess the opinions are formed by our various perspective on the game. As you know, I don't know ball."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I understand the DC United used their reserve team.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostStrange!
Most people in the stadium I talked to thought that Waterhouse was the better of the two teams and were unfortunate not to have taken anything from the match.
I saw a lot of positives, the main one being the they looked like they belonged on the same field as their opponents. Waterhouse did not play scared and took the game to them on several occasions.
Vincent Earle was a general on the field and others showed that, with good coaching and a willingness to learn, they could start on any MLS team.
Hopefully, Waterhouse won't allow DC or Tauro to beat them at home and go on to qualify for the next stage of the CONCACAF Champions League.
Could it be the football played by both squads - These are not TEAMs - was horrible? Just asking!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I'm not passing any judgments boss. I did not see enough of the game to form an opinion.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
They both didn't play great football, but in the past we have lost to very ordinary American teams in embarrassing fashion.
What would be the reason for DC United's ordinary showing? They are coming down to the wire in their season. Second stringers would be trying to impress and fitness could not have been a problem. Maybe it was the speed and overall hard running that unsettled them? I don't know, but I won't allow that to detract from the things Waterhouse did well.