Community Shield - Pace?

• Community Shield - Pace?

For all those who doubt the necessity of top pace or have a problem judging same (particularly Jangle on thinking of relative merits of pace Paul Scholes had)...

I hope you have been watching this match.
    - First, My GUNNERS' backline looks stronger without The Big German. We have been able to react and match ManCity's breaks and breaks on counter-attack for the most part.

There was one huge breakdown when the speedy but not fastest of attackers, Dezko, broke through on the right side of our defense and left our covering center-back, Chambers (waaay faster than Mertesacker) for dead. However other covering players came back and covered beautifully.

Second - Jangle: Who do think in a match-up would have the faster first 5 steps...covered the first 10 yards swifter - Paul Scholes or Dzeko?

Still think Scholes a slow-poke? ...or only when compared with the fastest of players?

You ideally wish for your entire squad to be comprised of players with blazing speed...but that is within consideration of all considered top of the world skill set and mental agility factors.

...mmmm???? Now Alexis Sanchez's movement and touches shows he is TOP OF THE WORLD while we recognize that in the just concluded 1st half all his final passes have been, to say the least, not ideal...but using his use of that final pass as example, if a player had all the necessary skill set but his mental ability always produced final passes such as Sanchez's first-half display then blazing speed would be a wasted. - Saying all that to return to the Paul Scholes debate: He was quick enough...he had more than enough pace to live with and most often take care of TOP OF THE WORLD opponents. In assessing Scholes the verdict must be he was not slow. (...and certainly that when compared with players a tad below top of the world pace.

Pace? - Wilshire?

Carries the ball too much! Thinks he is better than he is. ...is in this Community Shield match destroying GUNNERS' attacks much too frequently...but what is new? He always plays that way in matches. Wenger should either sit him for prolonged period until he starts releasing the ball in a timely manner in matches or LET HIM GO!!!!

Where is Bricktop???

Giroud just for a gentleman that goes by the name of Karl Wallace!!

Smdh

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
            Giroud just for a gentleman that goes by the name of Karl Wallace!!
            Got to admit that he caused a 'jaw-dropping moment' for the sheer brilliance of his strike! Clap im

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              Where is Bricktop???
              You don't know sey BT and HL always (X might change them now that him is part of that team) disappear whenever dem team lose?

Relax Marin. The community shield game is a friendly.

It was clear that Arsenal took the game more seriously than City.

City used a 3rd 11 squad.

Dude, relaxxx.

Send come call me next week when the dance begins.

...3rd X1?
                  Now let's list ManCity's starting X1
                  Manchester City starting lineup (4-4-2): Wily Caballero; Aleksandar Kolarov, Dedryck Boyata, Matija Nastasić, Gael Clichy; Jesus Navas, Fernando, Yaya Touré, Samir Nasri; Edin Džeko, Stevan Jovetić.

subbed on: Silva, Richards and Sinclair

If that is Man City's 3rd X1 then we need no matches to decide the season's EPL winner...just hand the trophy to Man City.

...3rd X1?
                    Now let's list ManCity's starting X1
                    Manchester City starting lineup (4-4-2): Wily Caballero; Aleksandar Kolarov, Dedryck Boyata, Matija Nastasić, Gael Clichy; Jesus Navas, Fernando, Yaya Touré, Samir Nasri; Edin Džeko, Stevan Jovetić.

subbed on: Silva, Richards and Sinclair

If that is Man City's 3rd X1 then we need no matches to decide the season's EPL winner...just hand the trophy to Man City.
                    Ozil, Mertersacker, Podolski, Walcott - missing
                    Kompany, Zabaleta, Aguero, - missing

Dem can't fool we, those are probably the only 3 sure starters that were missing for City yesterday.

Karl stand down and take your victory with a grain of salt. Mansh!tty used a second team to play the match and even then they looked totally uninterested. The missing players make all the difference. They started to get a stronger foothold of the game in the second half after Silva came on. By then, the game was already lost. This season will see a return of order to the league. Sh!tty will still be the team to beat, with Chel$ki and The Empire battling it out for top spot, then you will have the Gummers, Loserfool, Tottenham and Everton fighting for the last CL spot. The teams that will cause trouble will be Southhampton despite their big name exodus, Stokes, and Newcastle.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Karl stand down and take your victory with a grain of salt. Mansh!tty used a second team to play the match and even then they looked totally uninterested. The missing players make all the difference. They started to get a stronger foothold of the game in the second half after Silva came on. By then, the game was already lost. This season will see a return of order to the league. Sh!tty will still be the team to beat, with Chel$ki and The Empire battling it out for top spot, then you will have the Gummers, Loserfool, Tottenham and Everton fighting for the last CL spot. The teams that will cause trouble will be Southhampton despite their big name exodus, Stokes, and Newcastle.
                        Don't worry...we can hangle weself!! A bear a dis unu ago get when all a unu come ah Anfield.

Hooligans, hooligans stop for a while, change your hooligan style.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z_CP85TTvM
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You are correct on the expected 'big guns' - ManCity, BoyU, Chelsea and Arsenal - btw The law of averages should be on My GUNNERS side. Time to win the EPL. - but please go back to last season and note we lost by 7 points and would have won the EPL...won handily... if we had taken care of all the teams behind us. So keep residing in your fantasy world.

Our TEAM for the Community Shield just played GUNNERS ball. There are some here that keep repeating the nonsense that Mesut Oezil is not very TOP OF THE WORLD class player. Our TEAM is 2 rungs worse when he is not on the field.

Expect Podolski to become one of our new players. He has not had a good run and has been hampered by injury and that limited his chances. If he remains healthy he shall score as his pre-Arsenal record showed and that would be like a new addition to the TEAM.

My only fears are:
                            - Arsene's use of Arteta & Flamini. How on when to drop them and when to rotate one for the other?

- Per Mertesacker? When to play him and when to drop him. He is, as the German's emphasized in the World Cup best left out of the TEAM. ...and particularly when facing TEAMs with pace up front and in the middle of the pack.

When pacy players are around he is 'dead-weight'. His forte is timing=reading of the game, but even when one knows what comes next if it is arriving at the ball second, you are a waste!

...besides the 2 factors above nothing to worry about from any of the EPL TEAMs. My GUNNERS have already refitted on technical ability, tactical acumen (brain power) and additional pace for players replaced.

That player Alexis Sanchez has shown by movement, thinking and pace that he is tremendous addition. He shall get his timing on passes right...then we will not create the usual average of 15 chances per game but closer to 20.

Also - please mark this one down? - Oezil shall score closer to 15 - 20 goals this season and as usual shall make 'bundles' of chances per game.

Very important: If The OX gets rid of his propensity to hold on to the ball too long - as a result too often destroying our attack and gifting the ball to opponents - that will make him another new player. For all the oooohs and aaaahs about him last season for me as a footballer, with his ability, he underperformed by a 'country mile'. A good teacher=Arsene will put him on notice and under instructions to pass (to TEAMmate or into goal=shoot) immediately on beating his man. Sure that shall as he puts it into play cause miss-passes then he shall get 'passing timing' right and he shall be another new player.

Aside: Wilshire? - I expect nothing from him against quality TEAMs. The guy is, like Walcott a dunce. What it is...4 and 5 years these guys have been playing in the EPL with cameos for England and they keep giving away the ball like 'Jayce' down a Retirement Road a gi weh di sinting. They should each be given up until the next transfer window to shape up or be shipped out for real footballers = Sensible players.

So our new additions, 5 new additions (so far) - just in or now playing up to ability - are Metsut Oezil, Podolski, Sanchez, center-back young Callum Chambers and The Ox!

GUNNERS have the makings of a TEAM that could win 30 games. ...and that would be 90points right there!!!
                            Last edited by Karl; August 11, 2014, 01:41 PM.

W'ppen, yuh can give Diaby a game? Dawg nyam unu supper if Giroud pop down. Wegner refuse to spend Arsenal money on a proven goalscorer who can give unuh 15 goals per season.