Question for the yardman dem?

We select them Mo, we select them, a England is creaming off our harvest, Sturridge, Sterling now this youth from Newcastle, Barnes in the past. They are right there in jamaica and we can't see them, is like we looking at some dippy, we looking through them and our player sieve process coming up with the wrong combinations repeatedly. So Mo you know best give us top five skilled and top five fastest and see how deep we have to go to find a match across those two dimensions, probably ottey is first up and he probably won't make it in the most skilled department, probably top fifty in that department.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
      We select them Mo, we select them, a England is creaming off our harvest, Sturridge, Sterling now this youth from Newcastle, Barnes in the past. They are right there in jamaica and we can't see them, is like we looking at some dippy, we looking through them and our player sieve process coming up with the wrong combinations repeatedly. So Mo you know best give us top five skilled and top five fastest and see how deep we have to go to find a match across those two dimensions, probably ottey is first up and he probably won't make it in the most skilled department, probably top fifty in that department.
      hahahaha!!!
      Laff wid mi, Stoni. It is comical to see the Massive duck your question.

My response is simply - The top 10 when compared to those in top leagues, not good enough to be considered 'real footballers'. They just have not had the 'teaching'...or exposure and thus are ignorant on 'the how to play' top quality football.

Can some of them move to professional leagues?
      Yes!
      ...but without a 'crash course' on 'how to play' many shall fail to enjoy 2 or 3 years of 'good' earnings.

As Dunny said, they are behind the 8th ball...20 old years needing to be taught basics on 'how to play the game'.

=Stonigut;490378]I am slowly being turned 'partially' in Don1 direction. We must source 75% of our team from local talent and use diaspora to fill holes and add depth.

Stoni, normally I wouldn't regard being "slow" or "partial" in discerning truth to be particularly significant. However, considering how far behind you were on this matter.... the turnaround is amazing!!

Congrats!!
        Last edited by Don1; August 7, 2014, 02:30 PM.

Maybe true but the US don't have another forward who can hold up the ball up top. That is what he was used for and when he went down they had to play without that player.

Right now you hear Winnie saying he needs a forward who can hold up the ball, something Jamaica is lacking right now. Altidore even when he is not scoring he holds until the ball and bring others in the game.

Most of the time you have to play to the strength of your players. Very rare you have complete players even at the highest level.

Altidore is overrated, slow, overweight, mediocre skill, strong, decent discipline. Not going to be a world beater in that position. Think fast, highly skilled, overachiever we must lift our standard out of the gutter.
              Why do you say he is overrated?

Jozy -
              http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jozy_Altidore

Take out the World's top 100 players?
              Where does he fit? ...and is that position that of a good player?

I think we are blinded by the very best and tend to forget the rest!

I don't mean to focus so squarely on him as he at least looks like a pretty cool guy but the way the media was making such a big deal about his injury in the World Cup I thought was bizarre as he in my mind brought nothing really unique to the table and seemed perfectly and easily replaceable unless they were planning to use his strength for something in particular, problem is that strength without speed needs a lot of help.

You know the massive opportunity we have and we are not looking at is to plough the money into setting up a great farm system, which of course means you need a lot of technical knowledge and human resources with that knowledge as well as some decent money to get that rolling.

That would be cheaper and more sustainable in the long run than a pro league.

Jamaica does not need a pro league as much as we need to get the ten to 18 program to be the best id of talent, best ramp up of talent and best transfer of talent to the best leagues.

Stony, he hold up the ball better than any other US striker. He can play with back to goal, something the rest can't do. It is not that he is exceptional but he adds another dimension to the US team and that is why he is there.

What can I say, this Newcastle youth just break mi back, mi heart, he will play for England and you know what, he should play for England. We supplied the raw material and they have cleaned it polished it and put it in an environment and made him shine, we need to do the same.

It is time now to build the program from the ground up and expose the raw gems that we have sitting idle all over the island.

Really? Stoni, IMO, the players you named happen to be Jamaican by birth and that alone does not mean we "produced" them. Yes, they were born with the potential as many youths are, but I wonder what kind of footballer they would have developed into had they remained in JA?! The environment you grow up in certainly has an influence on what you become...and being immigrant kids, these guys probably fought harder and made a greater effort to achieve than the native born Brit. My amateur inner sociologist at work here

What can I say, this Newcastle youth just break mi back, mi heart, he will play for England and you know what, he should play for England. We supplied the raw material and they have cleaned it polished it and put it in an environment and made him shine, we need to do the same.

It is time now to build the program from the ground up and expose the raw gems that we have sitting idle all over the island.
                          Fi reel general...

Dis juss show dat it neva too late fi exit di Matrix

Fi reel general...

Dis juss show dat it neva too late fi exit di Matrix
                            You mean Stoni serious? A neva joke him wenna mek?

It look like Stoni serious.... but mi nuh know if it temporary

Stoni traveled to West Africa recently?