Question for the yardman dem?

• Question for the yardman dem?

If I were to ask who are the top ten most skilled players in Jamaica today, in terms of just pure individual ability to carry the ball and pass the ball could we come up with ten names.

Then if I were to ask who are the ten most disciplined players in jamaica, disciplined means always super fit, emotionally under control with leadership type skills, could we name those ten guys.

Then if I were to ask for the ten fastest players, and you all know what that means , just straight up blazing speed, from jump, in stride and response time.

Then when we look at these lists do we even have one guy who makes all three lists, so is there even one person who can make all three lists.

From what I have seen it seems this player does not exist in Jamaica today.

Perhaps. Let's look to the US for such a player.

I am slowly being turned 'partially' in Don1 direction. We must source 75% of our team from local talent and use diaspora to fill holes and add depth.

Problem is we are not picking the right talent when I see Sterling and this Newcastle kid and think we probably have more like that running around here but with no guidance, no local systems in place they are not even coming to the fore. We have no prospect with that lethal combination of speed and skill and with discipline that type of combination you really can build something special.

Have you seen Hyde play, is he a real ball player or is he a decent player with speed.

Stoni, how many countries can give you even 5 players with the requisite amount of skill, speed and discipline? Many going to have 2 out of 3.

For the sake of argument, how many on the German team can give you that and how many from Team USA?

long time me a tell you, Stoni like the COMPLETE player. He doesn't believe in weakness and strength.

Why is it the US couldn't find a replacement for Altidore after injury. No matter how you cut it, and even with glaring weakness, some players are special.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
            I am slowly being turned 'partially' in Don1 direction. We must source 75% of our team from local talent and use diaspora to fill holes and add depth.

Problem is we are not picking the right talent when I see Sterling and this Newcastle kid and think we probably have more like that running around here but with no guidance, no local systems in place they are not even coming to the fore. We have no prospect with that lethal combination of speed and skill and with discipline that type of combination you really can build something special.

Have you seen Hyde play, is he a real ball player or is he a decent player with speed.
            Let us look at players passed over down the years by our 'selectors-scouts'?

a) Peter Morgan (now Rev) - Incidentally a JC boy. Considered a goal rat. Scored tons of goals but overlooked?

What were his qualities? Fastest schoolboy over 20 - 40 yards/meters (incidentally in top 4 100yards at Champs); smart...good balance.

b) Horace Levy (now MD in MI, USA) - Incidentally placed in 100, 200, 400 at Champs - Good popper but not known to pop for no reason...therefore was not credited as good one-on-one. Fast - smart - good passer - good beater of opponents but not flashy in manner of say, an earlier era "Muggy" Graham (who played for JA as schoolboy or just after leaving school but who could not carry Levy's jock-strap') - scorer of goals...for Mannings then XLCR.

...and we could go on and on over the years.

The 'selectors/scouts' could not pick out a youth player with great potential unless there was the 'buk-up' e.g. someone like a "Skill" Cole who had the flair but was also wonderful on distribution and in his young days as schoolboy a wonderful striker of the ball...with tremendous passing range and excellent swift 'first step'.

Our selectors are like a broken clock - stands to reason they are sometimes in tune with a wonderful youth player but it all happens on 'luck'/buk-up. ...and so our football talents 'go to waste by the bushels'.

Karl, I am sure you missed this part of Stoni's post:
              If I were to ask who are the top ten most skilled players in Jamaica today
              Can you keep the discussion in a time-frame which mos of us will recognize and can therefore participate?

Thanks
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Karl, I am sure you missed this part of Stoni's post: Can you keep the discussion in a time-frame which mos of us will recognize and can therefore participate?

Thanks
                Tilla yuh haffi see wid him. At fi him age, 50 years ago seems like yesterday. Low me bredrin alone.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Karl, I am sure you missed this part of Stoni's post: Can you keep the discussion in a time-frame which mos of us will recognize and can therefore participate?

Thanks
                  Never missed it.
                  ...but you are on the money I should also have given later examples as newbie's would not have seen those players in their youth.

And who don't like complete players?!?! But Stoni putting too much pressure on our players when that combination may not exist too many places in the entire world!

Thanks
                      Thank yuh, Tilla! Sheez!

It is very tough to be top notch in all three, but the best players are just that. Ronaldo is fast, super skilled and very disciplined, Messi is not quite as fast but supremely skilled and highly disciplined, those are easy, Robben best player on the Dutch team, he is the fastest, most skilled and highly disciplined. Ok Ribery from France, fast, very skilled not quite as disciplined.
                        Best jamaican players of last twenty years gardener and fuller, gardener fast, good skill and very disciplined, fuller fast, very skilled not such good discipline.

USA best player Dempsey. Most skilled player on the team, not so fast but extremely well disciplined, he works at his game and the nuances of the game like no other on the Usmnt.

England, Sterling, very fast, very skilled, very disciplined, Sturridge the same, very skilled, pretty fast and good discipline with what I see as a slight sulking tendency when things don't go his way.

Ok Germany, Ozil, highly skilled on the dribble and passing ability unbelievable, speed, very fast, fastest on German team and good discipline, he just need some meat on that body and he would be the best player in the world. Lahm, very fast, very skilled, very disciplined.

Is that enough for you Mosiah, we must have at least two of three with the third not being an outright liability, it must still be good doesnt have to be the best.

Back to Jamaica so can we think of one player who is fast, well skilled with ok discipline. I suspect our issue is we can't find fast players with superior skill because we are not developing that, we are looking for cool skill with strength and a good dash of indiscipline.

Altidore is overrated, slow, overweight, mediocre skill, strong, decent discipline. Not going to be a world beater in that position. Think fast, highly skilled, overachiever we must lift our standard out of the gutter.

You named the ten (whatever number) best players in the world, even as some of them were not fully qualified (not so fast?). Really, Stoni?!?

I'm wondering where yuh going with this.

What I am saying it will be hard to find players in the world who satisfy all the requirements. Certainly it should be the goal of all of them.

So, how do we get them to aspire to be all the above? Can we train them to be all the above?

His head (headers) is his best asset. Otherwise, terribly overrated!